The World Sucks Sometimes :)


I try my best to do what I can to get ahead in the world, do something that will make enough money for my wife and I to live on.  It’s been a helluva ride of late, I can tell ya that. It really hasn’t worked, at all.  Trying to think of ways to change up what I’m doing to get ahead.

I contacted one of the people I used to temp with, at the best place I have ever worked, thanks to the union guys I worked with at Sotheby’s, just to gauge how things are there.  Things look less than great, short-term, perhaps better long-term.

I have sent in resumes to tons of companies, every day.  That won’t change until I get permanent full-time employment. I am taking this one final temp gig, this one lasting between 3 and 4 weeks, helping people at a textile company pack up their fabrics safely and carefully (some of them are several hundred years old, as I recall.)

I have to stop taking these temp assignments, they never go anywhere, it’s not a way to make an honest living. Temp jobs use people the way people use paper towels.  Clean up a mess, then toss them away without thinking about them.

People are not just things to be used and then tossed when a specific job is complete.  I am a man, not a thing.

But if that’s all that’s out there, then all I can ever be, is that thing. And needing money I really have very little choice.

Sucks being on the wrong end of the stick, especially the way business wields that stick today.

Business doesn’t care about people anymore, and here’s an example.

________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Robert Rubin on Reducing Unemployment

________________________________

I spoke to NYS unemployment again today, got an examiner, someone who can actually expedite matters on the line this time.  Felt good about that.  I didn’t feel good about what happened when I spoke to him, though.  I told him what happened at my last temp job, how I ended up on the outside looking in.  I felt like I was going through the crap with them again, and I am sure it showed.  I spoke in what could only be called a broken, stilted way. I felt like I had done something wrong as I was talking to the man, and I think it showed. I know I shouldn’t have, I did nothing wrong from my perspective.

I tried to be as cool, calm, and collected as I could be and told him what happened, but I don’t think that helped.  I hope I did not endanger my ability to get the money from those earlier weeks from unemployment with my damnable yammering.  We shall soon find out.  I was unhappy about it afterwards, I hope that was just from feeling like I was going through the crap with my former employer again.

Emotions are sometimes beautiful, but other times they can be unruly things that weaken us, and make us fools at their behest if we aren’t careful.

Or is that just me?

________________________________

No other technique for the conduct of life attaches the individual so firmly to reality as laying emphasis on work; for his work at least gives him a secure place in a portion of reality, in the human community.

Sigmund Freud

________________________________

Being unemployed leaves you with a lot of spare time on your hands.  One thing you can do is ruminate on your economic woes.  If you’ve read this far in, you know I’ve walked down that street once or 32,845 times.  Another thing you can do is look for work, try to remedy your situation.  Despite what you may think, I do NOT spend all damned day ruminating about this crap.  I am prone to extremes of behavior, but nothing that crazy.

And I think I’ve sent in a few thousand resumes over the last 2 plus years.  I’ve sent resumes to work on oil rigs,as a  day laborer, an art handler, a freight handler, doorman, flight attendant, copy operator (ewwwww) construction worker, various jobs at the U.S. Forestry Service, Homeland Security, Government Printing Office, at Staples, Ricoh, Canon, Xerox, CBS Radio, Bloomberg tv , The International Financial Times, and about 40 different agencies when sending to these companies did not pan out.

Keeps ya busy.

Another way to while away the hours is to sweat.  Workout. Exercise.  Run.  Strengthen the body.  For all that my wallet is in frightful shape, I am about in as good a physical condition as I have been in.  Ever.  I ran before I got canned, but not nearly as much as I do now.  I exercise now, when I get a spare minute, and I don’t know that I have ever been stronger. Wwwwwwwwwhich really doesn’t mean much.  I am, after all, somewhere between 163 and 165 pounds (around 74.8 kg or 11 3/4 stone for those not in America.)

Not exactly Olympic heavy weight weightlifter sized.  Unlike Albert Pujols, I don’t use roids.

When I finally get a full time job (or the world ends, which ever comes first) I’ll miss all the exercise and running.  Buuuuuut I think I’ll make due with having actual money I can spend.  Can’t walk into a store, run a few miles, and get groceries for those miles.

The world sucks sometimes.  🙂

______________________________

People used to ask me what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I wanted to be a paleontologist.  I loved me some dinosaurs when I was a child.   Now I’m grown up and they won’t let me do anything. Dunno why.

______________________________

That’s it from here, America. G’night.

Leave a Reply

