Good Enough


I still haven’t had a moment of clarity of thought about Osama Bin Laden’s death.  I still haven’t jumped for joy, and dammit, I should have by now.  I’m happy about his death.   Don’t get me wrong, he’s dead and I am pleased, but something seems missing.

Not the picture of his body. Not seeing a picture of him doesn’t effect how dead he is.  He’s dead and I am happy.  Showing his corpse to the world would only give his followers something to build on, and the last thing we need to do is give them something they want.  Screw them.

Not a triumphant parade or party or something.  People had that Sunday night, when I was sleeping, getting ready for work.  I hate that I miss all the good parties, but…  I will, when next I consume mass quantities, toast his death, “fuck him” and all that must be said of that nature.

______________________________

“Crom, I have never prayed to you before, I have no tongue for it. No one, not even you, will remember if we were good men or bad, why we fought or how we died. No, all that matters, is that few stood against many. That’s what’s important. Valor pleases you, Crom, so grant me one request: grant me revenge! And if you do not listen, then to hell with you!”

Conan, Conan the Barbarian (1982)

______________________________

Ya know… I just had that moment of clarity.  I know what’s missing.

I wanted, still want, a piece of this bastard.  A small piece would do.

I look at the skyline when I go to work in the morning, and there should be towers there.  There aren’t. There should be thousands more people around, alive, there for us to talk to, live with, enjoy.  They are dead, and the dead cannot be brought back to life.   Bin Laden has caused pain and suffering to people I love, and myself as well, though not as much to me as those around me, everyone I knew, knew more who were hurt and died that day than I did.  He toyed with our peace and serenity, and for that he paid.  But I wanted a piece of him for myself, and I have lost that.  I am sure that I, along with a great many people, want that same thing.

Personal vengeance is what I want. Wanted, I should say. I can imagine being there, squeezing that trigger.  No smile, no words, just dispatch him to his fate, to use euphemism, to make him worm food, no cutesie movie type “hasta la vista, baybee” words spoken to him.  Just do the job, and walk away.

But that has been taken from me.  Not that I ever had a chance of getting what I wanted in that vein, but the thought danced through my evil skull once or a thousand times.  I’m silly like that.

He’s dead, and that will have to do.  That is good enough.

A hearty thanks to the men who did the deed, you did what we all wanted to do, insanely dangerous though it was.  God has truly blessed America, because he gave us men like you.  A fine job indeed, gentlemen.

_________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Obama: No Photo Coming of Bin Laden Corpse.

_________________________________

Pic of the day: President Obama, lookin’ all pissed off.  From wikimedia commons.

______________________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

