April 2011 Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the April 2011 Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

__________________________________

Fri., April 1st:  Ran 5.2 miles in  41:11.60, a 7:55.30 m/m pace.   41 degrees, cloudy, drizzle.  The left knee is still not 100%, it still burns when I run, but it’s getting steadily better.  Pushed hard where I felt I was able to, and by the end of the run I was all but spent.  Could have been faster, I guess, but I pushed hard here.  Maybe age is catching up with me.  Who knows?  200 knuckle push ups/ 200 crunches.  Light workout to start the month, did do it quickly, call it 23 – 25 minutes.

Sat., April 2nd:  Ran 5.62 miles, un-timed.  47 degrees, breezy.  Un-timed night run.  Felt fast and strong out there tonight.   Pushed as hard and as fast as I could, and I opened up my stride as much as I could.  Had fun running the Royal Oak/ Slosson/ Clove road hill run.  No foot traffic, no worries, just me and the hills tonight.  Well, there was car traffic… doesn’t matter though.  Good run.  No exercise tonight.

Sun., April 3rd:  Ran 5.2 miles in 40:22.78, a 7:45.91 m/m pace.  48 degrees, sunny, windy.  I felt slower than yesterday out there this morning, more because my hamstrings were sore than anything.  I pushed pretty hard out there, but not 100%.  The left knee is still sore, but it has been worse.  Nice morning for running.  200 knuckle push up burpees, done rapid fire. I did this in 18 minutes 57 seconds, busted my ASS doing this.  Also did 150 knuckle push ups after that.  It was a nice cool down after a killer burpee run.

Mon., April 4th: Ran 5.62 miles in 45:43.91, an 8:08.24 m/m pace.  43 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Pre-dawn hill run.  I didn’t push as hard as I did Saturday, but I didn’t slack either.  This is the first time in recent memory that my left knee didn’t bother me at all during a run.  That alone makes this the best run I’ve had since… November?  December? Something like that. Might exercise after I get home from work, might not, I’ll see.

Tues., April 5th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 46:06.69, an 8:12.29 m/m pace.  60 degrees, cloudy, windy.  One stop.  Knee acted up the whole damn way today, almost stopped and just walked home on several occasions.  It felt like it popped out of place on the uphill on clove road and just stayed out of joint the entire rest of the run.  It made the wind, which was harsh out there, seem like a non issue.  Might take a day off running.  Not sure at this point.  Exercise if possible after work.

Wed., March 6th.  NO RUN, NO WORKOUT.

Thur., April  7th:  Ran 5.62 miles, un-timed.  42 degrees, cloudy.  Knee bothered me a bit out there, but not nearly as much as it did Tuesday morning.  The damn thing is a nuisance, but one which i’ll have to tolerate.  If I can walk I can run, and I walk just fine.  Getting used to pre-dawn and dawn hill running again.  Haven’t worked out since Sunday, gonna have to do something about that.

Fri., March 8th.  NO RUN, NO WORKOUT.

Sat., April 9th: Ran 7.1 miles, un-timed.  44 degrees, sunny.  Nice day for a run, especially because my knee was pain-free out there today.  Nice! I didn’t slack out there, but I left a little something out effort wise, I could have run faster out there, if I had wanted to.  I didn’t push my stride pace as much as I could have, but part of that was just enjoying not having my left knee feel like it was on fire, just enjoying that. Good Run.  100 burpees, 100 knuckle push-ups, 50 knuckle push-up/ceiling kick burpees. Might not seem like much, exercise-wise, but it’s my first workout in a week.  I’m happy with it .

Sun., April 10th:  Ran 10.9 miles, un-timed. 51 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Pushed hard in spots, but not many, and never for long, in large part because this is the longest run of the year so far. I didn’t want to overdo it and hurt myself.  Knee pain bothered me a bit, but was similar to my pushing hard, in that the pain didn’t happen often, or last long when it did.  First 10+ miler, nice, that felt good, especially since I wasn’t sure I could do it.  75 burpees, 75 knuckle push-ups, 75 crunches, 25 chin-ups.  Not the hardest workout, but I broke a sweat.

Mon.,  April 11th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 43:34.34, 77 degrees, mostly sunny, breezy. Got home a little early, so I got to run with the sun up for the whole run.  This job has me up too early to run mornings, so it’ll be post work runs from here on out.  Knee was burning for a bit, but it didn’t affect my speed.  I’m pretty happy with the speed numbers on the 5½ mile hill run.  Nice.  125 push-ups, 125 crunches, 25 chin-ups.

Tues., April 12th:  Ran 4.72 miles, un-timed.  48 degrees, heavy rain.  This was a giggly funny run.  My sweats were soaked after about one minute, and the string that keeps them up was missing.  What happened after that was just hilarious, the sweats kept falling down, and I kept pulling them up while I was running, without stopping.  Which meant I was doing the chicken dance for the entire 4 3/4 mile run.  It was just funny.  Soaked to the bone, and had fun to boot.  Nice!  150 beginner burpees, 30 chin-ups.

Wed., April 13th:  Ran 5.2 miles, un-timed.  50 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  I pushed pretty hard tonight, stretched my stride and had the stride rate high the whole way.  Felt good running wide open like that.  My right knee bothered me a little bit, but was at best an afterthought.  Had fun out there tonight.

Thur., April 14th: NO RUN, NO WORKOUT.

Fri., April  15th:  Ran 5.2 miles, un-timed.  41 degrees, cloudy, windy.  I did something to my left pinky toe, no idea what but it hurt like hell, on fire.  It was fine a minute later, but for a minute there was a fire in my left shoe.  I was able to get past that and I ran pretty fast, I opened up my stride and went for it.  I should have timed this one, I haven’t felt this fast in a long time.  It was nice.

Sat.,  April 16th:  Ran 7.1 miles, un-timed.  41 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Ran yesterday at 7:00 pm, and felt quick.  Ran today at 7:00 am, and felt slower.  Some days you just don’t have it, and today was one of those days.  Un-timed because I didn’t feel like carrying the watch with me while running.  No pain, except for a very short, sharp pain in my knee about 20 minutes in.

Sun., April 17th:  Ran 9.46 miles, un-timed.  52 degrees, clear, windy.  Busted my butt in the wind today, 20+ mph winds gusting over 40 on the hills made this one tougher than normal.  9½ on the hills isn’t easy regardless, but the wind added some extra effort for me.  My left knee burned for a few seconds a little past mile 8, but was not an issue otherwise.  I didn’t take the watch to time, just didn’t want to carry it for the 75 or so minutes I was expecting to be out there.

Mon., April 18th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:01.21, a 7:30.23 m/m pace.  49 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  I busted my ass out there, pushed hard out there, then got to about the 2 mile marker and opened up my stride full speed, and kept my stride fast and long the rest of the way.  I don’t think I ‘have run that hard and fast since November.  Nice.  50’s workout.  50 knuckle push ups, 50 crunches, 50 ceiling kick burpees, 50 very deep knee bends.

Tues., April 19th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:29.32, a 7:35.63 m/m pace.  48 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Pushed just as hard today, but a host of minor issues kept me a hair slower today.  Sore hammies, sore right quad, left knee pain, left pinky toe was on fire.  Worst was my right ankle, tho.  I tweaked it today during my lunch hour, slipped on something or other in the street, and wrenched it.  It isn’t 100% but it’s OK to run on.  Good enough for my second consecutive sub forty minute 5.2 miler.  Nice.  Exercise info to come, if I do any.

Wed., April 20th:  Ran 4.54 miles in 32:35.72, a 7:10.77 m/m pace.  61 degrees, partly cloudy.  The conditions were ideal for a fast run,  Perfect temperature, almost no wind, feeling good physically, and I wanted to test myself, see what I had.  The last 2 runs were faster than I had been for a long time, and I wanted to see if I could duplicate that kind of time while adding some hill work.  Beat my best time of the year by 20 seconds a mile.  THAT is impressive.  Nice. This was a GREAT run.  150 beginner burpees, 3 sets of 50 It’s as much as I could fit in the time I had left before I had to go back to sleep.

Thur., April 21st:  NO RUN, NO WORKOUT.

Fri., April 22nd:  Ran 5.2 miles in 40:16.81, a 7:44.77 m/m pace.  42 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Pushed about as hard as I could.  Not as fast as I have been the past few runs, but not too bad.  A headache and stomach issues were the main reason, but my left knee acted up a bit out there. My feet were fast, and my stride felt long and strong.  40 ceiling kick burpees, 50 push-ups.  I didn’t have it in me, I’m just tired, gave up after the little bit I did here.  Dammit.

Sat., April 23rd:  Ran 7.1 miles in 56:22.14, a 7:56.35 m/m pace.  44 degrees, rainy, windy.  I did not push for speed like I had the previous few days, though I did not take it easy.  I never really do.  It was bad out there and got worse as the run wore on, though there was good news.  The left knee didn’t bother me at all.  That made the crap weather a little easier to handle.  Easy exercise today.  300 push-ups, 300 crunches, done 25 at a time, one set every 15 minutes.  Just a slow burn today.

Sun., April 24th:  Ran 12.8 miles, un-timed.  69 degrees, partly cloudy.  Longest run of the year, so far, I didn’t push at all, wanting to finish the long run with something left in the tank for a final push uphill.  Knee burned a bit, and my feet were sore by run’s end, but it was worth it.  The park was not as packed as I thought it would be, which was really nice.  Good run.

Mon., April 25th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 42:25.21, a 7:32.88 m/m pace.  57 degrees, foggy, breezy.  I pushed hard on the hills today, starting at about the 3 minute mark.  Had a headache early, but it went away when I pushed as fast as I could go to avoid having to stop at a red light.  Left knee was an issue, but it was only like that fer a minute.  I wasn’t sure I wanted to do hills, but it felt good after I started up.

Tues., April 26th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:51.92, a 7:16.90 m/m pace.  70 degrees, mostly sunny.  Pushed hard out the gate, and kept it that way as much as I could.  I did have 2 short slowdowns during the run, but neither was long.  My stride was really fast, and I felt good out there.  Crowded on the paths, made for more difficult running, but it wasn’t too bad.  Can’t blame anyone for being out there, it’s really nice out.  Good run. 150 push-ups, 150 crunches, 30 chin-ups.

Wed., April 27th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:47.36, a 7:16.03 m/m pace.  70 degrees, clear.  Out of the chute, I went for it.  Picked up my stride rate early, and I kept it fast the whole way.  I was kind of surprised that I was able to duplicate yesterday’s speed, felt good to push this fast two days in a row.    Left knee had a momentary burn, but it wasn’t too bad.  Fast, fun run today.

Thur., April 28th:  NO RUN, NO WORKOUT.

Fri., April 29th:  Ran 5.2 miles, un-timed.  56 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Not too bad an evening for a run. I didn’t go at it too fast tonight, but I kept the stride rate high enough for my own liking.  Left knee wasn’t too bad, burned for a minute, but that’s about it. My left anterior compartment (shin muscle) was sore the whole run, that kicked my butt out there.  Night off from exercising.

Sat., April 30th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 55:46.54, a 7:51.34 m/m pace.  48 degrees, cloudy breezy.  My left knee was burning out there more than usual, but I was able to handle it.  More pleased that my left shin was not an issue out there like it was last night.  It was relaxed out there today, just wanted some happy miles, and I got them.  Not a lot of people out at 7 am on a Saturday, that made this run easy to do.  Kept the stride rate as high as possible, but I didn’t really bust my ass.  200 knuckle push-ups, 40 chin-ups. Only the third workout this week, taking it too easy on myself, that’s no damn good.

_____________________________________

This month:  156.54  miles.  Longest run: 12.8 miles (April 24th) Shortest run: 4.54 miles (April 20th)  25 runs in 30 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 6.261miles

Year to date: 426.97 miles  Longest so far 12.8 miles (April 24th) Shortest 1.7 miles (January 24th, injury shortened). 74 runs on the year.  Average run distance:  5.769 miles 

_____________________________________

Healthiest and best run month since December.  I ran pretty fast in spots this month, and went long a few times.  I’m pretty happy about that. Seeing how this year started, I am pleased just to be able to say that I absolutely nailed it this month.  Went further than I thought I would go, and faster than I should have been able to go, given all the issues that have crept up in the last several months, from my ankle earlier in the year to my left knee more recently. 

I think the more frequent exercise on top of the running has something to do with both the better speed and longer mileage.  I’m lighter and stronger for all the work I have put in, and light and strong is where I need to be, to be a better runner.  I never thought that push-ups, chin-ups, and burpees would make me a better runner, but they have.  Nice. 

_____________________________________

More later, America.  Time to run!

Leave a Reply

