Commuting Sucks


If you have a fun commute, go f*ck yourself.

_________________________

How I handle (if you can call it that) the commute in Manhattan.

Concentrate.

Focus.

Furrow my brow, extend my jaw, frown, snarl, and begin to sing.  Growl really, I don’t have much of a singing voice, and most of the music I listen to tends towards either screaming or growling anyway. The headphones are on the entire trip, and I try to keep the noise level high enough to avoid hearing other humans.  People are generally a nuisance when trying to get from one place to another, because most humans are busy being preoccupied with their crap, and most are mind numbingly slow, and I try to avoid them whenever possible, but in a city of 8 million, on a planet of 7 billion, that is zarking difficult.

Remind me to move to Greenland.

Anyway….

Headphones keeps me from having to accept the presence of people I cannot tolerate, makes it easier to shut them out, pretend they simply aren’t there on some level.  Sounds stupid, but it isn’t, not when the alternative is unacceptable and unnecessary intrusion by people whose existence I would much rather not tolerate.

Man, I am a hate filled bastard, ain’t I?  🙂

_____________________________

Viddy of the day:  Slayer New Faith (Live).  I have the studio version of this song on heavy rotation for the commute.  Fun, Fun, Fun!

_____________________________

Whether I’m on a bus, a subway or the Staten Island ferry, I find my seat, and yes I have a seat that I generally try to get to.  Most people do, human beings are territorial animals, and I am no different.  When I get to my seat, I reach for a book usually, and read a few paragraphs and half sleep.  I’ve been reading Eric Hoffer’s “The True Believer” for the better part of three weeks this way.  I’m 80 pages in.  Maybe 6 pages a day with some light snoozing mixed in.

Don’t ask for a book report, unless you want to be disappointed.

I am a really anti-social when I commute.  I have seen people I know, known for years.  I generally try to avoid them.  Not because I hate them or anything, I am, despite the impression I give, a friendly person.  I just don’t want to be bothered by having to make small talk with people, I’ve never really been very good at it, for the the most excellent reason that… well.. I can be selfish with my time as much if not more than I am stingy with my money.

And plus, If I know you “Hi! what’s new? Not much.  You? Not much! Kewl!  Catch ya later!  Gotta go snooze in a corner before I go deal with assholes for not nearly enough money!  Later!” is about as much as I can do at 6:45 am.  And if I don’t know you, you don’t get to the third letter in that italicized statement.

Ya know…

I’m happy with who I am.  I think it shows here. I could be wrong tho.  🙂

________________________________

Pic of the day: Detail from the Sistine Madonna, Cherubs, by Raphael (Sanzio)

_______________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.


Leave a Reply

