Spending Money Like Its Going Out Of Style


A good book is the precious lifeblood of a master spirit, embalmed and treasured up on purpose to a life beyond life.

John Milton, Areopagitica

___________________________

It was a lot of money for me to spend. 

Rare is it for me to spend money on myself, especially on things I do not need. 

But I did it today.

I spent $9.56. 

That may sound like a ridiculously small amount of money to you, but for a man who is loath to spend even a single dollar, who went 3 weeks earlier this year with nothing but a single dollar bill in my pocket, and did not spend it in all that time, $9.56 is a TON of money to spend.

But it was worth it for me.  I was at Borders on 57th street and Park, and the store is closing on Saturday, so everything is on sale.  Everything including the bookshelves, and the sound system, and the equipment in the coffee-house, all of it. 

___________________________

H.L. Mencken Speaks

__________________________

Everything is on sale, and the signs all said everything in the store was $2.99 or lower. 

The DVD’s all sucked, at least for Kurosawa loving me.  The CD’s were no great shakes, crap, crap, and more crap.  The books, for me anyway, were great.

The politics/sociology books that I go for were about one of two or three categories that still had a sizeable amount of material left.  The other bits were reference books and Spanish language books. 

Initially I was only going to buy one book.  That was before I saw the $2.99 sign, then I said… OK, maybe two.  The first few books I grabbed I put back down, because I wasn’t 100% sure I wanted them.  I don’t remember the titles offhand.  The I saw “Threshold” by Thom Hartmann, that was a gimme.  Had to have it.  I like Thom.

______________________________

Where freedom is real, equality is the passion of the masses. Where equality is real, freedom is the passion of a small minority.

Eric Hoffer, The True Believer

______________________________

Walked around with that for a minute, looking at titles, saw some I liked, Pitchforks and torches by Keith Olbermann, Something or other by Michael Moore.  Then I saw it, hidden by another book.  Eric Hoffer’s “The True Believer”.  I’ve read some small snippets of his stuff on line, but have never seen any of his books on a bookshelf. I had to have it.

And a few seconds later, I saw another book that caught my eye.  H.L. Mencken’s “Notes on Democracy”.  Jumped on it immediately.  He is in similar stead to Hoffer, read him on line somewhat, never saw any of his stuff on bookshelves where I could buy it. 

The lines were long, there were a TON of people around, even in the normally empty politics section of the store, but I still managed to come away with some really, really good stuff. 

Spent money and I LIKED it.  A rare enough event.

_____________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

