Just An Ordinary Day


I spent a busy day today, but got little done. This is because I am at last becoming perfect in the art of seeming busy, even when very little is going on in my head or under my hands. This is an art which every man learns, if he does not intend to work himself to death.

Robertson Davies

______________________________

The sound behind me, though not loud, is all I can concentrate on. The sound is not beautiful sonorous music that could take my mind away to hitherto unknown heights of beauty.  The sound is not the sound of  the boys of summer, men happily playing a child’s game.  The sound is not the sound of news happening.  It is the sound of Rachel Maddow talking about the world.  I agree with what she says when she speaks most of the time.  Not all, most.  She is doing her usual thing, lighting a fire under the strong left wing of this nation by showing what the right wing is doing.

Something about Dick Armey and his army of dicks trying to get the CEO of Duke energy fired. 

Dunno why, don’t care to be honest.  I’ve seen Dick Armey at work, and he is utterly untrustable. 

______________________________

Pic of the day:  Cyprus trees and Landscape, Amadeo Modigliani

_____________________________

Perhaps the other reason I can’t concentrate is that I have a headache that won’t quit.  The entirety of my skull is one gigantic throbbing mess.  I’ve taken painkillers, and they simply seem to not be working.  Perhaps it is, in part, due to the fact that I haven’t been getting enough sleep because I have been working full time, and have been getting up uber early the last few days. 

I woke up before 5 am so I could get a 5 ½ mile run in before work on Monday, and today I woke up at the same time, but had to leave early enough where I couldn’t even do that. I was going to run at night tonight, but an aching cranium made that impossible. 

______________________________

That Job I mentioned above?  Not a bad gig, but that’s because things are slow there.  It’s a temp gig, and I don’t mind working there. The place is nice enough, the people are nice enough.  I have been doing training at the site, and things seem to be going well.   But then again it’s only two days in.  And tomorrow I am going to be going in late, so we’ll see what happens, see what they think after I get in late tomorrow.

I work for Océ.  Nice enough place. The pay is short of acceptable, but in this day and age, that isn’t a surprise.  Because of that and the fact that I don’t have medical insurance, I’m less than enamored of it. 

_____________________________

The reason I am going to be late tomorrow?  I have to bring a document to the clerk of the court for my bankruptcy tomorrow. One document, a single page, and since I don’t know whether I can just mail it in, or whether I have enough time to do so, I have to bring it in in person.  And since the people at NYCBAP who assisted me so ably in putting my bankruptcy together say it has to be in by the end of this week, I bring it in tomorrow.

The document to my eyes says otherwise, but who am I to question the person who got my bankruptcy correct?  My eyes could well be wrong, so I will follow the instructions given me.

_____________________________

That is about it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

