March 2011 Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the March 2011 Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

__________________________________

Tues, March 1st:  Ran 5.2 miles in 41:06.29, a 7:54.28 m/m pace.  43 degrees, sunny.  First timed run in over a week, had to hold the broken remnants of the watch while I ran, felt odd, but I’m happy that I brought it along.  Pushed hard out there, not 100% obviously, not with that time, but I gave as much as I could at this point in my day.  200 beginner burpees.  20 sets of 10, done slow.  Short, light workout to begin the month.

Wed., March 2nd:  Ran 5.2 miles in 41:30.66, a 7:58.97 m/m pace.  46 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Left knee locked up on me a bit, stopped at the 18:03 mark for about a minute to see if it would help.  It did. Right ankle was sore for almost the entire run.  It’s been better, it’s been worse. Had fun out there regardless.  Great run weather today.  Can’t argue with this nice weather, makes running a lot easier, even with soreness and stiffness.  Good run.  200 beginner burpees.  8 sets of 25, done rapid fire. More difficult than yesterday’s sets.  Took less than 20 minutes to finish, busted my ass, and it felt good.

Thur., March 3rd: Ran 5.2 miles in 40:26.87, a 7:46.70 m/m pace.  28 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Damn near stopped almost as soon as I started, due to my right ankle. Felt fine all morning, but when I started my run, a sharp stabbing pain hit me from there, almost stopped me in my tracks.  Stuck with it, and the pain went away after about 2 minutes.  The ankle was fine after that.  Nice.  Pushed hard after that, as fast as I could.  Busted it in the park.  Good run.  200 beginner burpees, 8 sets of 25, done rapid fire. Same as yesterday, nice.

Fri., March 4th:  NO RUN.  A day of rest for the right ankle.  200 beginner burpees, 8 sets of 25.  Unlike the last 2 days, not done rapid fire.  I was at work when I did it, so I can be excused for not going rapid fire and getting this done uber quick.

Sat., March 5th:  Ran 7.3 miles in 56:55.12, a 7:47.82 m/m pace.  56 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Took a roundabout course around the neighborhood.  Hilly course, moreso than usual.  I felt pretty quick out there today, especially on the second half of the run.  Pretty happy that I ran a 27 second negative split today.  28:41 out, 28:14 back.  Nice.  Opened my stride up a bit, where I could.  That felt good.  Feet are sore after hitting the hills as hard as I did today.    250 beginner burpees, 5 sets of 50.  Tired, tried to move as quick as possible, but i didn’t have it speed wise.  But doing multiple sets of 50 tells me I’m ready to get beyond the beginner stuff .

Sun., March 6th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 41:27.95, a 7:58.45 m/m pace.  53 degrees, cloudy, rain.  For the first 3/4 of a mile or so, this was less a run and more like a fast hobble, thanks to right ankle pain, soreness, and stiffness.  Only after I got to the park did it loosen up enough for me to actually run.  Once I did, I ran pretty well.  Hit the half way point at an 8:03 pace, and managed a 26 second negative split, quickening the pace by 5 seconds per mile. Rain was only a minor issue. Despite the pain early, this was a good run. 250 beginner burpees, 10 sets of 25, semi-rapid fire. Might seem a step back after yesterday, but 250 in 25 minutes kicked my ass, and it felt good too

Mon., March 7th:  NO RUN.   I tried.  I really did.  The right ankle  was sore as hell, and I got hit with that pain, plus the burning pain in my left knee that is(I think) runners knee.  It just hurt too much.  45 seconds in, I turned around and walked back to the apartment.  No workout either, I need a break, this day off plus a good nights sleep should make tomorrow a better day.

Tues., March 8th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 40:24.71, a 7:46.29 m/m pace.  43 degrees, cloudy, breezy. Soreness kicked in after about 10 steps, thought about stopping, decided to tough it out and see if I could do it.  I did.  Nice. Soreness went away after about ½ a mile, and I was able to move with some speed after that.  Opened up my stride a bit in spots, really tried to lengthen it as best I could. Felt good to stretch like that, after starting out hurting like I did. 300 beginner burpees, 10 sets of 30, rapid fire.  Lung-busting, ass-kicking, Headache inducing intensity for this workout.  Nice

Wed., March 9th: NO RUN, NO WORKOUT.  Ankle was far too sore to do anything.  Had issues walking to a store 3 blocks away, so that killed today’s sweat.  We’ll see what happens tomorrow.  Fingers crossed.

_______________________________________

It is Sunday the 13th. I have not run since the 8th.  My right ankle is finally feeling better.  I have taken all this time off to let the ankle heal, and it seemingly has. I am scheduling a run for tomorrow, barring any unforseen issues with the ankle. 

__________________________________

Tues., March 15th:  Ran 3.8 miles, un-timed.  41 degrees, sunny, windy. One stop.  Didn’t want to go longer than this, to avoid doing anything to the right ankle.  Slow and short and no hills is the right way to go, until I am sure it can handle the stresses of longer runs.  Changed footwear to older sneakers to see if that has a positive effect on it. 50 knuckle push up chin up ceiling kick burpees, 75 push ups, 75 standard burpees. That first exercise is as hard as it sounds, couldn’t do more than 5 at a time, fat, weak, slow, old fuck that I am.

Wed., March 16th:  Ran 3.8 miles, un-timed.  49 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  No stop.  The middle of my lower back was sore prior to today’s run, probably a combination of sitting too much and yesterday’s run + workout after a week off.  No worries.  The back pain disappeared the moment I started running.  Nice.  No ankle pain or issues.  Double nice.  Good run.   75 knuckle push up chin up ceiling kick burpees, 75 knuckle push up burpees7 sets of 10 on the ass kick burpees, 1 set of 5, in the middle of the workout.  3 sets of 25 on the KPU’s.  Whipped .

Thur., March 17th:  Ran 5.7 miles, un-timed.  60 degrees, clear, slight breeze.  No stops.  Beautiful day for a run.  Didn’t push super hard, but pushed hard enough where I am happy with the effort.  Lots of people out and about today, cluttering up the paths, but it wasn’t too bad for a St. Patrick’s day afternoon.  Right ankle was a bit sore, and I babied the thing on the way there, seemed OK during the run, didn’t notice it. 100 standard burpees, 100 knuckle push ups, 40 chin ups. Light workout today, just felt like giving myself a break, still broke a sweat tho. Nice. Might do more later, might not, we’ll see .

Fri., March 18th:  Ran 5.7 miles, un-timed. 75 degrees, partly cloudy, breezy.  Very warm, almost too warm, but almost too warm is preferable to not warm enough, and it is only one day, back to 40′s and 50′s tomorrow.  Wore two thin shirts today, stopped a little more than ½ way through to take one off.  Right ankle was a non issue, today.  I felt like a runner again, and that makes this, regardless of whatever else, a great run day.  250 beginner burpees, done rapid fireTook almost no breaks between sets here, just to increase the difficulty. Busted my ass.

Sat., March 19th:  Ran 5.2 miles, un-timed.  44 degrees, sunny, windy.  Strong effort today into the teeth of the wind.  Gave about as much as I had out there.  Happy to be able to do it without pain in the ankle.  The change in footwear seems to have made the difference, went back to old sneakers, and the pain went away.  The New Balance trail shoes were the cause of the difficulty.  Problem solved, I can now get back to being a runner.  Nice.  100 knuckle push up chin up ceiling kick burpees. 20 sets of 5Must be pushing harder than I thought, waking up sore every day.  Day off?  No, just work until the body gets used to it, create a new normal for my body to handle.

Sun., March 20th:  Ran 5.2 miles, un-timed.  38 degrees, sunny, breezy.  I was beat before my feet hit the street today.  Really felt like a hard slough today. Tired as hell, but I was still able to push pretty hard.  All that said, a pain free run is a truly happy thing, and today’s run was a truly happy thing.  I’ll begin timing my runs again tomorrow or tuesday. Had fun out there, despite being tired.  Good run.  Tried something out, 25 push-ups every 15 minutes for four hours.  Didn’t think it would be hard. It was.  By the time I got to about push-up 270 or so, near the end of the 11th set, the last few push-ups had me cramping up.  That happened near the end of each set, barely got push up #400 out

Mon., March 21st:  Ran 7.1 miles, un-timed.  42 degrees, cloudy, drizzle, wind.  Wet, windy run on the first day of spring.  I didn’t push all out anywhere here, but I didn’t take it easy, either.  Hamstrings got a bit tight as the run went along, expected to be truthful, but they aren’t sore now, and the exercises I do stretch them out plenty, so no worries. 200 knuckle push up burpees.  I like these exercises because of how quickly they get me winded, about the only exercises that are as taxing that way as running, and it hits the upper body hard to boot.  Nice.

Tues., March 22nd:  Ran 7.1 miles, un-timed.  47 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Drier and a mite bit warmer today, nice running weather. I could have gone longer, but decided against.  Too much too soon has done me in too often, I won’t do it to myself again.  And 2 days of 7+ miles, one week after barely being able to do 4 is enough of a strain.  I will begin timing my runs again soon.  Had fun out there.  108 knuckle push up chin up ceiling kick burpees.  18 sets of 6.  Short breaks in between, finished fairly quickly, and was spent when I finished.  Nice .

Wed., March 23rd:  Ran 5.2 miles, un-timed.  32 degrees, snow.  Light snow, which actually started as rain.  The elements neither helped nor hurt today’s run.  Twas pretty, and the run paths were clear, which is nice.  I didn’t push for speed today, except on the uphill coming home,  just wanted to get miles under my belt before going to work.  No exercise.

Thur., March 24rd: NO RUN, NO WORKOUT.  Busy with other things this day.  Back to it tomorrow, if possible.  Tomorrow looks to be busier than today though, i’ll see what I can do.

Sun., March 27th:  Ran 5.2 miles, un-timed.  35 degrees, sunny, breezy.  One stop, left knee issue.  Otherwise the run was fine.  Thursday and Friday were busy days for me, and yesterday was as well, but for a different reason.  Felt OK out there, not great, but OK.  My knee felt loose and was an issue the entire run.  That happens though on occasion though, no worries.  Otherwise fine.  200 knuckle push ups, 200 crunches.  Light exercising for today, didn’t feel like really going nuts today

Mon., March 28th:  Ran 5.2 miles, un-timed.  29 degrees, sunny, windy.  No stops, though the left knee was bothering me the entire run.  Otherwise fine.  I did not push hard today, in part because of the knee, and in part because it was just too cold for a serious push for speed.  Too much on my mind for other commentary.  100 beginner KPU burpees.  100 Knuckle Push Up beginners done in 2 sets of 50 before heading out, took all of 8 minutes, might do more after I get back, we’ll see.

Tues., March 29th:  Ran 5.2 miles, un-timed.  44 degrees, sunny, windy.  My left knee was an issue today, but less so than the previous two days.  Pushed hard into the wind on this one, tried to go as fast as I could, but with it un-timed, I can’t be sure how well I did.  Gonna start timing again, dammit.  I’m sick of not having times to post.  No workout, no time.  Maybe later if possible25 push ups every 15 minutes for 3 hours while working.  Better than nothing .

Wed., March 30th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 40:13.68, a 7:44.17 m/m pace.  47 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Left knee was a hassle, burning stabbing pain is never welcome, and I thought of stopping early on, but I ran through the pain, and it got better.  I was faster on the second half of this run than the first, because of the knee, but not by much, 2 and 3/4 seconds per mile difference.  Nice day for a run, enjoyed it despite the pain. 250 beginner KPU burpees, 10 sets of 25, done rapid fire.  10 sets in 23:12. Drenched in sweat, knuckles sore, mouth agape, eyes glazed at the effort.  Nice . 

Thur., March 31st:  Ran 7.1 miles in 57:05.68, an 8:02.49 m/m pace,  41 degrees, cloudy.  Left knee was a minor issue only, and only bothered for about 2 minutes, ’twas fine otherwise.  I really thought I was moving faster than this, it felt like I was pushing hard out there.  Sometimes you have speed, sometimes you don’t, and today was a “don’t got it” day.  It happens, I’ll be faster tomorrow or the day after, no worries.  200 KPU burpees, 8 sets of 25.  Took a little while longer today.  I was watching Yankee baseball and took longer breaks as a result.  Still busted it

____________________________

This month:  110  miles.  Longest run: 7.3 miles (March 5th)    Shortest run: 3.8 miles(March 15th &16th)  20 runs in 31 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 5.500 miles

Year to date: 270.43 miles  Longest so far 7.6 miles (January 11th), Shortest 1.7 miles (January 24th). 49 runs on the year.  Average run distance:  5.518 miles 

___________________________

Ran 2 of every 3 days this month, not too bad considering the injury bug had a hold of me part of the month.  This is the month I was hoping to have, distance wise, in January.  I was hoping for more than this for March.  Again the injury bug was the issue, but since I seem to be over that I can get on with the business of being a better runner in April.  The exercises were fun, I enjoyed beating the hell out of myself that way. Even if the average person could do a ton more of it than I can, I’m still happy with what exercises I did.

I start a new job next week, so I am going to be going back to those 5:00 am runs that I was doing when I was working at Sotheby’s last year.  Not a problem, but I think the distance numbers are going to suffer as a consequence.  Speed should pick up, due to daily hill running though. Should be fun.  Good run month!

Leave a Reply

