Bankruptcy And Work


As I sit here in front of my computer, with the fading light of the sun shining dully through the shades and curtain behind me, my mind is racing with thoughts of the events of the last few hours, and worries about both present and future work.

I finished part of a journey today, the long laborious journey known as bankruptcy. It started with, and continues to be defined by job loss, debt, and severe stress. It became a long slough of a battle with being unemployed, battling not just not being able to find work, but the resultant anger and disillusionment that lack of employment brought about. It became a fight with creditors who demanded of me money I did not have, and a fight for every cent I could get my grubby little mitts on.

I am not done with bankruptcy, not yet. I still have to wait until I get the official say so from my trustee that all is finished, and that will probably be a while. But it is good to know that part of the fight, this painful stressful fight, is blissfully, thankfully over.

___________________________

A man wants to earn money in order to be happy, and his whole effort and the best of a life are devoted to the earning of that money. Happiness is forgotten; the means are taken for the end.

Albert Camus

___________________________

On the way out of the house today, I made a mistake. I had every single document I needed for the bankruptcy. I brought reading material, should I have to wait long, which I did, I was dressed for the occasion. What I forgot was my phone. I left in a rush and as a consequence I left my phone at home. Silly me.

This action had an unexpected consequence. I was not expecting any calls though, so no worries… or so I thought. I ended up getting a phone call from my on-call part time job asking me if I could come into work at 2:15 pm.

I received the message when I got home, 3 hours after that. I called them as soon as I got it, but there was no longer anyone there. I really really hope I am not in trouble with them. I would have called them sooner had I been able to. I would hate losing this job because I was rushing to get to my court hearing, even though it is only a very, very, very, part time job.

____________________________________

Viddy of the day: Test your awareness:  Do the test

____________________________________

I have a job interview tomorrow morning at 10:00am, and this is for a full time job, though I expect that it is a lower paying job than the one I have now. I would prefer a lower paying full time job to a higher paying part time job that doesn’t get me work, and more importantly money, when I actually need it.

The job is probably going to begin right away, from what I have heard these people need someone NOW, not later, not next week, they need some one right away.

I can handle that. One issue is that it will be a temp position, probably only lasting a few months.

It’s always something, isn’t it?

____________________________________

As for the Bankruptcy proceeding with the trustee itself, it was actually very simple and easy.  Took all of 5 minutes.  I had everything down pat, and knew what was going to happen.  Surprisingly there were people there with lawyers, unlike me, who seemed less prepared than I.  There were people who didn’t bring all their documents, who didn’t bring the deeds to property they owned, who didn’t, when speaking with the trustee, use the same numbers they put down on the bankruptcy paperwork.

And then there were the people who were just plain shysters, who tried to hide money, or moved and acted it in such a way as to make it look like that.  Seriously.  One person, trying to file chapter seven thought he could get away with, among other things, taking 25% of his money, throw it into his 401k, and not draw the attention of the trustee.  He would fail the means test regardless of what happened, according to the trustee and his assistant.  They told him he could simply cut the amount he is putting into his 401k and pay his creditors, and pulled him aside and told him he’d have to come back when his papers and his money were in order.

That person, the first one on the docket, had me on the edge of my chair.  I wanted to see what it would be like, and the trustee showed with his first action that he wasn’t going to take any crap, and that he was going to be tough but fair.  That any attempt to bullshit the man would not be tolerated.

I liked that.  A lot.

When he finally got to me, he did not have my 2010 tax return.  This surprised me, as I had brought that to the paralegal I worked with.  So after looking around for a minute for it, I found it, showed it too him, and he gave it the once over, which took not very long.  After that we went through my numbers, and my documents.  We spoke on my current job, and I told him I had worked 3 days this month. He asked about my unemployment, about how much I had made last month and this month on it, and I told him, and he was OK with that.

That was about it.  Short, sweet, and to the point.  Made my day.

_______________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

