Such Is Life


The money is running out, might come up short for rent this month.  The last of the funds for this round of unemployment just cleared and is in the bank.  I have 2 big bills to pay on top of rent, and food shopping to do to boot, and I don’t have enough in the bank to cover just rent at this point. 

My wife and I got our tax refund, and even that can’t help.  That money was spent the moment it showed up.  Wife had medical bills, and regular bills. Bought one necessary item, admittedly expensive. I had need to grab some of that money, as I ran short of cash last month as well, and some went to just getting her and I back and forth to the hospital 3 times last month. 

But there is good news, even with all that.

The unemployment, should I need to avail myself of it, may still be there.  The money in it ran out, but getting more cash to fill it may be as simple as either simply re-filing the claim, or even just continuing to claim.  I read on the site that if money runs out, they contact the person whose money has run out, and will let them know how to proceed.  I am waiting for that contact to occur, it has not, as yet, happened.

That doesn’t help me presently though.  At this point I am just hoping to not be forced to move out of here due to inability to pay the rent. 

But there is goodness, money-wise, on the horizon.

I have a job Interview tomorrow morning, 9:30 am.  It is for an assistant manager position.  Wish me luck, I need it.

____________________________

This alone is what I wish for you: knowledge.
To understand each desire has an edge,
to know we are responsible for the lives
we change. No faith comes without cost,
no one believes without dying.
Now for the first time
I see clearly the trail you planted,
what ground opened to waste,
though you dreamed a wealth
of flowers.

               There are no curses – only mirrors
held up to the souls of gods and mortals.
And so I give up this fate, too.
Believe in yourself,
go ahead – see where it gets you.

Rita Dove, Demeter’s Prayer to Hades

____________________________

Viddy of the Day:  How to survive unemployment.  from Howcast.

____________________________

As I type this, pain that is several days old crawls slowly down my back, looking for a place to settle.  Finding none that is satisfactory, it moves from place to place, first moving down my legs to my knees and ankles, then up to my shoulders, then back to my back.  That’s just the way it goes.  Pain is part of life, and when you push your body like I do mine, you pay a price. 

I don’t mind paying though. 

The pain is temporary, it will in time subside.  It always does.  Someone who is as active as I am, between running and exercise and work and just living, expects some pain.  And the amount I have, while never fun, is usually equal to the amount of work I do.  And I have to tell you I’ve been working very hard the last few weeks to get myself into some kind of shape. 

Such is life.

_____________________________

That’s all from here, America.  I have to go get ready for one more day of work this week, on top of the 1½ days so far this week, and the 2½ for the entire month so far. See you later.

Leave a Reply

