The Wearing O’ The Blue


I hope all you drunk people had a good St. Patrick’s day.  You rookies are out and about, I am sure, enjoying the wearing o’ the green, drinking o’ the green beer, reinforcing o’ the drunken Irish stereotypes.  I wish you well in your travels.  Party tonight, get home safe, enjoy the well-earned hangover.   I’ve done that crap before, when I was young and evil.  Now that I’m old and eviler, I understand that alcohol and Irishness have nothing to do with one another.  I understand that because I’m Irish and I am sober, and there are millions of other Irishmen and women just like me, all over the world.

One thing though, do me a favor. DON’T pretend that yer irish and use this as an excuse to be an asshole, or the Son of endless generations of Irishmen typing this will find you and kick you in the asshole.   

And just an FYI, The color originally meant to represent St. Patrick wasn’t green.  It was Blue.  So all that green wearing might be nice, but if you want to celebrate the original spirit of the man by wearing a particular color, blue is better than green. 

Gluais faicilleach le cupan làn.

________________________________

I cannot keep silent, nor would it be proper, so many favours and graces has the Lord deigned to bestow on me in the land of my captivity. For after chastisement from God, and recognizing him, our way to repay him is to exalt him and confess his wonders before every nation under heaven.

Saint Patrick, The Confession

________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Meet the Real St. Patrick

________________________________

Happy and proud am I to be an Irishman’s son, the son of a hard working man, who in his turn became a hard working man.  We’ve both had a hard time with work during our lives, but we’re both strong, he got through his hard times, as I will get through mine.  Irishmen are a tough lot, made of sterner stuff than whatever times we live in, and we are always capable of greatness. 

________________________________

That’s it from me, America.  Bíodh oíche mhaith agat, labhróidh mé leat amárach.

Leave a Reply

