Objectivity? Oh HELL No!


I read the news, and some stories are worth a second read.  Some aren’t, obviously.  Despite being a lefty, I have no real need to read left wing news.  I don’t want spin with my news, I want news with my news. It’s why I read pages like Media matters, political correction, and Daily Kos only sporadically.  So when I started reading news about James O’Keefe, the fake pimp from the fake stories about Acorn, who was indicted for improperly being in the offices  of then Sen. Landrieu or some such, the last thing I wanted to do was read the spin news.

So I searched for news about him and his meeting with the former NPR fundraiser, news without spin.  It was tough.  A story as politically motivated as this one, finding a story without spin was about as easy as bench pressing a thousand pounds with broken arms.  I couldn’t find one story that was a simple tale of what happened.

I don’t expect fair and balanced, that’s a fools game, looking for that.  That isn’t what reporting and news is about.  But I did expect more than just commentary.  Dammit, that’s MY job!

_______________________________

My favorite thing about the Internet is that you get to go into the private world of real creeps without having to smell them.

Penn Jillette

_______________________________

Viddy of the day:  Edward Bernays   Propaganda = Public Relations

_______________________________

I haven’t seen the video, not the whole thing anyway.  Saw parts of it.  Honestly, I had no problem with what I saw.  I wouldn’t bat an eye at someone saying stupid crap if I barely knew them, let’em talk and sure as hell wouldn’t sneeze at someone offering $5,000,000 for an organization that depends as heavily for it’s money and livelihood as NPR does on donations, regardless of where the money came from.  It’s called capitalism, you get your money from wherever you can.  If the offer was illegal it would never have gotten past the offer stage.

I didn’t hear the bit where he trashes the tea party.  I trash the tea party.  I trash the tea party in front of tea partiers.  Fuck those Un-American asshats.  Good on you brother, and other such statements.

I say this guy is good people, this NPR guy, whatshisname… Schiller.  You tried to get money for the company you work for, and talked trash about your political opponents.  Brings a tear to my eye, such is the positive power here,  this man is more American than that Kenyan bastard O’Keefe.

What’s that? O’Queef isn’t a Kenyan?  Hey, the right calls my President a Kenyan with no evidence, I can do the same to who the hell ever I like, fuck’em if they can’t take a joke, the bastards.

This Kid, O’Keefe though?  I like him. He’s got moxie, even if he’s a bit of a jerk in his political affiliations.  Spoiled brat with a video camera, nothing wrong with that.  Kid can’t hurt anyone with that.  All he’ll ever do is preach to his people, and since his people aren’t anything more than an Anti-American splinter group, I’m not all that concerned.

____________________________

That’s it for me, America.  Later

2 thoughts on “Objectivity? Oh HELL No!

  1. Don’t give up! That’s all I can tell you. I was unemployed for almost 2 years-except for a few days of temping here and there. Oddly enough, I was qualified in a few fields-that should have brought some kind of job offer, but didn’t. I felt like “employment poison”.

    This is what happened. After all unemplyment had run out, and my husband (once again) wasn’t talking to me, I asked my self if I had really REALLY done everything I could to find work. At first I thought I had, I don’t know if you believe in God, but I did not understand why all my praying hadn’t brought me a job.Then, I had to admit that there were certain level to which I felt I could not go. (Discount retail.)
    So I applied. Within 72 hourse I recieved a response. Ten days later I was working.

  2. I think you meant to put this comment on the post “Looking back on a bad day” I’ll leave it here for now, and if I can manage it, I’ll put it there.

    Thanks much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

