February 2011 Random Thoughts


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the content from February’s 2011 Random Thoughts.  Enjoy!

_______________________________

It seems that Cairo’s Tahrir square, the scene of Anti-Mubarak riots over the past week, has turned into a giant mosh pit, with rocks thrown, knives and the like used, and molotov cocktails thrown.  Seems that the interior ministry people/Police/pro-Mubarak citizenry have decided to stand together to try and beat the crap out of the anti-Mubarak forces.  Can’t tell if the military is moving in quite yet, but one presumes if things get too hairy they will. (2/2)

___________________________________

Anagram:  Hosni Mubarak/ Ask a Bum, Rhino/ Oh, I Snub Karma/ Has Run Akimbo/ Ambush Our Mink/ Honk As I Rumba/ Hunk Ambrosia (2/2)

___________________________________

Staten Island Chuck, the New York groundhog, predicts that winter will end early, according to Mayor Bloomberg.  I predict winter will end when Spring begins, and not a moment sooner.  Snow and ice every week in New York until then. 🙂  (2/2)

__________________________________

I begin training at the part time job tomorrow.  $15 an hour to do actual work, when I’ve been sitting on my ass since mid november sounds pretty good to me.  Wondering whether this is the right thing to do though, part time work I mean, but I’ll find out soon enough if that is the right way to go.  Not to mention how well I handle working printers and machines for the first time in nearly 2 years, when I walked away from it, and was happy to leave all the crap it dealt me for 2 decades.  Wish me luck! (2/2)

_________________________________

Awake at 5:40 am, after having a few months of staying awake until 3 am.  Went to sleep early last night, didn’t sleep all that well.  Still feel good though, I go to earn money today, and it’ll be more than Unemployment would make me.  THAT feels good, THAT makes it worth it.  (2/3)

_________________________________

If I knew what I was going to write, I would not have written this.  But I knew I was going to write this at some point, so even though I didn’t know I was going to write this, I knew I was going to write this.  (2/4)

_________________________________

Anagram: Super Bowl Forty Five/ Overpower By Fistful/ Few Bury Profits, Love…/… Or Buy Twelve Ripoffs/ Low Poverty Is Buffer/ Liberty Offers Up Vow (2/5)

_________________________________

I sent out a number of resumes yesterday, about 7 or 8.  I went to work today, I was there from 8 til 4:30.  Kinda slow today at the office, so on my new phone, I went through some job listings there.  If they’re gonna work me part time once I finish training , I’m gonna use free time there looking for work elsewhere.  I’m not going to sit on my ass and do nothing for myself, and I’m not going to be obvious and make it easy for them to get rid of me by looking for work on their computers.  This is me being subtle.  Nice.  (2/7)

________________________________

I’m looking at taking some free writing courses.  Not sure which ones to take, and which ones are the best, and which are absolute crap.  If ya know any good ones, clue me in, drop me a line, let me know. (2/7)

________________________________

I looked behind me.  And smiled.  It’s February 8th, and my Christmas tree is still up!  Nice!  Gotta take it down soon though, the damned thing takes up space that could be used for other purposes, like, oh… I dunno… furniture.  Novel concept.    (2/8)

________________________________

The New York Rangers lost their fifth in a row.  Guess it’s that time of year, the Rangers Annual February Swoon is underway.  Henrik Lundqvist lost three games in a row, no blowouts, tight losses, and John Tortorella, genius that he is, not realizing the storm that is blowing in, decided to bench one of the best goalies in the league, with the team suffering from a lack of scoring (which is what causes the annual swoon)  and guess what?  Two more losses with the backup Biron starting! NEVER SAW THAT ONE COMING, DID WE, JOHNNY ROCKET?  The man is a Jackass. He made the swoon worse by putting the #2 in where the #1 would have gotten at least 1 victory, and probably two.  Moron.  (2/8)

________________________________

I got enough sleep, I have coffee in my system, so why do I feel like I’m not ready to go today?  Today’s no different from any other day, but it feels like it is for some reason.  Dammit.  Probably has to do with me being a lethargic non working out, non runner.  That I am hoping to fix soon.  (2/9)

________________________________

Joe Scarborough is an idiot.  (2/10)

________________________________

Sitting here drinking coffee at 7:45 in the morning, getting ready to go food shopping and then do laundry. Feh.  I went out last night, had a few beers with one of the guys from 814.  I was hoping to get some kind of update on the e-mail I sent to a union recruiter (who I wont name because he doesn’t know I’m writing about him here) but he wasn’t there.  So I hung out, drank beer, caught up with the one guy (who goes unnamed as well for the same reason as given before) on the things that are going on at Sotheby’s.  Had fun.  (2/12)

_______________________________

Last nights beer was also the reason I didn’t write last night.  Even though I only had a few, it would have affected the writing, negatively, and I don’t want that.  I can write shitty on my own, without the help of any alcohol.    (2/12)

_______________________________

 Tits, Tits, Tits, Tits,Tits . (2/13)

______________________________

It’s valentines day, and I have that damn bankruptcy thing running through my skull.  Came back from there a while ago, and found out that I need still more stuff, pay stubs from my last job, and 6 months of my wifes earnings, for the means test.  The woman I am working with on this says I can’t file if I don’t have them. 

I don’t have them.  Dammit.

I’ll find them, I just hope it doesn’t take too long.  (2/14)

_____________________________

I’m not gonna let it get me down though, not on Valentine’s day.  Love my wife, love her very much, and i’m not going to let this crap get me down, don’t want this raining on our parade.  Oh HELL no.  We gonna have us some FUN tonight!    (2/14)

_____________________________

6:15 am: Been listening to Joe Scarborough for the last 10 minute pontificate on a subject of which he knows nothing, aka the budget.  I tried to focus very hard on playing games on the computer before I go to work, but the stupid worked its way to my ears.  I’ll keep saying it until it stops being true; Joe Scarborough is an idiot.  (2/16)

_____________________________

8:50 pm:  I’m currently listening to Bach’s’ Brandenburg concerto #1, mostly for the joy of the music itself, but with headphones on, it allows me to drown out the crap on the TV that my wife is watching behind me.  Some stupid crap with unhealthy looking people cursing at each other.  Something about things being repossessed.  The epitome of crap tv, and my wife loves it… argh!  (2/16)

_____________________________

Loving the left right war going on in Wisconsin.  Best bit?  The right has to bus people in to make their arguments.  Not enough locals on the right to make their voice heard.  One wonders where all the people who voted for that union busting prick Walker went.  One wonders. (2/19)

___________________________

Took my wife to the hospital a little while ago.  She’s thought something was wrong, but it seems she’s OK.  That’s all I’m saying, and I’m happy to say it as well. (2/19)

__________________________

Sore.  Tired.  Beat. Right ankle stiff, right elbow stiff, left calf sore.  One of my toenails wants to fall the hell off.  All this and I just woke up.  Ooof is a good way to put that.  Sleep 7 hours and wake up feeling like you got hit by a train.  Lucky for me I was sleeping, had I been doing anything else, that shit might have killed me!   (2/20)

_____________________________

Mind you the ankle, elbow, and toenail thing are ongoing issues… but C’mon.  This is why drugs were invented.  Maybe I need to go do some. (2/20)

____________________________

Anagram:  President’s Day/ Sparsity Ended/ Sidestep Randy/ Daisy Pretends/ Ed’s Tardy Penis/ Sainted Red Spy/ Pay Deist Nerds/  I’d Pet Nerdy Ass/ Yep, Sadist Nerd (2/21)

____________________________

Been playing games a lot with the spare time I’ve had over the last two days.  On-line games.  Pogo games, facebook games.  Ya know, bullshit.   (2/25)

____________________________

Woke up too damn early today, but I have coffee in me now, so I’m ready and …tired as hell.  I was going to say raring to go, but I couldn’t be that full of shit at this point in my day.  Not yet, anyway…  OK, I could, but I choose not to be.  We’ll that is a bunch of bullshit to, guess I could’ve just lied to begin with and saved myself the trouble.    (2/25)

___________________________

Gotta pay some bills and hope I have enough in the bank to pay the rent afterwards.  Love the dread that accompanies that. 

THIS is a reason some poor people question capitalism, not because they are philosophically opposed to it or anything, it just sucks for the people on the short end of the stick, and they look elsewhere for relief.  The people on the other end of the stick, not seeing a reason to complain, come up with handy-dandy rationales to explain away the issues those who aren’t doing well, like they don’t work hard enough, or they complain too much, or are on drugs, or some such idiocy.

And thus are created social rifts that cannot be breached.  Maybe if the rich idiots tried to help rather than talk while we work in vain to meet our goals, we’d all get someplace better.  Rich people can be such pretentious assholes.  (2/26)

__________________________

Anagram:  Baseball Season/ Label As Ass Bone/ Asses Blab Alone/ Babes All Season/ No Saleable Bass/ Anal Babe Losses (2/27)

__________________________

I haven’t spoken to the people over at the place where I’m part-time working at since Wednesday.  So I am back to the full-time job search.  I am using a slightly different method this time. 

First; look at jobs I do on Careerbuilder.com. 

Second;  pick one job, apply.  After that it gives a list of similar jobs, and offers you the chance to quick apply to them. 

Third; apply to just about everything on that list.  I used to be picky, or pickier anyway.  Using this method, in the last 2 days doing this, I have applied for 68 jobs. 

What the hell, why not?

Next step is to go to craigslist and look there.  That is where I found the part-time gig after all, maybe they have something permanent for me.  After that I’m going to hit Hotjobs, and USAjobs. Then I’ll cross my fingers and hope I get a callback, and begin the search anew tomorrow.  (2/28)

Leave a Reply

