Come Hang With Das Rhino Tomorrow


Tomorrow there is going to be a concerted effort on the part of moveon.org to get the democractic troops motivated.  They are having something called an “Invest in America speak out” in response to Republicans campaigning to cut funding for health care, science and education programs.  They say, and I believe they are correct, that these cuts will not only do nothing to help the economy, but will harm the most vulnerable and poorest in our society.

Planned Parenthood, which has been defunded by Rep. Mike Pence in a house vote last week, will end up, among other things, cutting cancer treatment, and aids treatment to the poorest in this nation, thus doing direct visceral harm to women and the poor.  The republicans claim that planned parenthood aggressively pushes abortion, despite the fact that 97% of Planned Parenthoods money goes towards non-abortion activities, including birth control and treatemtn of STD’s. 

A cut to NIH funding, a billion dollars worth, is the first such cut at the NIH in a over a decade.  Yet there are those that thinks these cuts, which damage Americas ability to compete on an even footing in technology, innovation, science and research, are essential to reigning in government spending.  They do this, despite the fact that every dollar invested in the NIH by the government sees a $3 return to the pharmacutical industry.  The NIH helps business make money. 

You would think the republicans would like that.  Many republicans have voted for increases in NIH funding, and were a driving force over the years to increase funding which helped business, and it is frankly perplexing to see this happening on their watch.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

So when I hear that there is going to be a meet-up, to speak about these subjects and others, at exactly the same place as the very first tea party meeting on Staten Island, that stands against these bastards, and for the common man on the street, I say oh HELL YES I am going.  It’ll prolly be smaller than that tea party meeting, but we’ll make up for that with vigor, methinks. It’s 4:00pm tomorrow.  New Dorp Lane on Staten Island.  I’ll be taping, if that’s possible.  

Come hang out with me.  I won’t be hard to spot.  Look for the ugly guy with the crew cut, headbanging, and singing evil music badly.

___________________________________

For undemocratic reasons and for motives not of State,
They arrive at their conclusions—largely inarticulate.
Being void of self-expression they confide their views to none:
But sometimes in a smoking-room, one learns why things were done.

Rudyard Kipling,  The Puzzler

___________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Representative Dold and Lynch Stand with Planned Parenthood

___________________________________

The world calls me away.  I may write again tonight, but I am, for now, done.  I may write again because I am finished with my work training, and they don’t need me for the rest of the week, so I have time off, for now anyway.  I think I’ll bust out a new 12 notes at somepoint in the next 48 hours.  I really have to get to that.  The last one I wrote, is to my mind, the worst one I’ve written, ever, and it’s been sitting there for a month at least, being a piece of shit at people. Dammit.  Thinking of taking it in a slightly different direction. We’ll see how that goes. 

G’night America.

Leave a Reply

