Driven To Distraction


Say all you have to say in the fewest possible words, or your reader will be sure to skip them; and in the plainest possible words or he will certainly misunderstand them.

John Ruskin

_____________________________

I don’t ever suffer from writer’s block.  I do on occasion suffer from massive brain lock.  There is a difference.  It’s not writing, the creative act, that I have issues with, what I do have a problem with is just being so completely distracted by the world around me, that I lose focus completely.

I was going to write on some financial news, but I got lost in the pain in my ankles, and that killed that concept.

I was going to write about census news, about the whitening of Chicago and the move back south by the black population of the United States, but I was listening to tech news in the background,  and feeling the pain in my ankles, and that killed that concept.

I was going to write about the St. Louis Cardinals offering Albert (Roids) Pujols $200,000,000 over 8 years, but decided that that wasn’t really worth writing about.  It is Albert Pujols, after all.  If I wanted to write about someone on roids making tons of money, I’d write about A-Rod.

I was going to write a big piece about the compter Watson beating humans at Jeopardy, but why toss a lot of words out where a few will do?  Is it surprising that a computer, with perfect memory,no human emotions, no possibility of stage fright, or distraction, or capacity for memory failure, would be better than a human at fact based knowledge? Seriously, if this surprises you, you are dumber than YOUR computer, and your computer isn’t Watson.

I’d tell you what else I was going to write about, but my memory fails me

________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Nassim Nicholas Taleb – What is a “Black Swan?”  from 2008.

_______________________________

Since I haven’t given you much to read today, watch the viddy, click the links, surf and enjoy. 

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

