Easily Distracted


I do not know what I may appear to the world, but to myself I seem to have been only like a boy playing on the sea-shore, and diverting myself in now and then finding a smoother pebble or a prettier shell than ordinary, whilst the great ocean of truth lay all undiscovered before me.

Isaac Newton

________________________________

I am easily distracted some days.  I have been telling myself that I was going to start writing as soon as I got home.  Didn’t happen.  I told myself last week that I would begin working out daily again so I would not get fat just sitting on my ass, not running, and working at a job that requires only minimal use of physical strength.  Didn’t happen. 

I had been thinking about finding something to write, to no avail. For the better part of 45 minutes I racked my brain, trying to work out something to write about.  Then I thought why not just blurb it?  One or two paragraphs per subject, kinda like my random thoughts page, just a few short pieces, instead of one longer article.  Works for me!

___________________________________

How about the stock market?  it’s doing well, amazingly well for all that people are now, and have been saying since before Barack Obama became President how much of a mess the economy is.  Well, with the DJIA over 12000 points,things are looking up.  Even with the market fretting over the events in Egypt, there has been nary a hiccup in the upward climb of the markets.  The rich are still getting richer, which is nice for them, but the poor are still poor, and the rich, whose tax cuts, it was claimed, help spur job growth, even though all evidence points to that as being incorrect, still don’t seem to be hiring many people, even though that tax rate has been in effect for a looooooooooong time.   The economy is really looking up… except for that.  9.0% unemployment, and yes I know it fell .4% last month, but the amount of people hired was a not exactly whopping  36,000.  Numbers are still bad, and will continue to be for a while as far as that is concerned.

And I still need a full time job.  If you have any leads, drop me a line.

___________________________________

How about Keith Olbermann?  He signed a deal to work over at Current TV. I don’t know the details, the money and length of contract, i’m sure they’ll leak out soon enough, that kinda thing always does.  This is actually very good news for current TV.  I am one of the few people who can say they actually watch Current TV semi regularly.  It is a pretty damn good network, lots of hard hitting, first person documentary type of television, but not the kind of thing that is normally made by big tv stations, but with a much more personal feel, made by interested citizen journalists with webcams and the like.  Along with a fair bit of personal interest stories put together in the same manner.

Something bothers me though.   Is the man pigeon-holing himself here going on this unknown a network?  This is a small network, even if it is owned by Al Gore, and the network runs on 25% or so sets of TV sets in the U.S. of A.,they don’t get huge market share.   If he brings 10% of the audience with him from MSNBC, he will probably increase that stations ratings by 500% for that time slot.  I read somewhere that they average about 23,000 viewers a day.  That’s gonna change, tell you that.   But will it do anything for positive for Keith? For his (and my) political agenda?  Will he be able to do for Current what he did for MSNBC? It would be nice.  Time will tell.

One other thing.  HEY KEITH!  I NEED A JOB!  I’M A WRITER!  DO YA NEED ANY HELP BRO?  DROP ME A LINE, I NEED THE WORK!  I WORK CHEAP!  

Caps lock, boldface and italics are all wonderful things when used in moderation.  Luckily for me, I’m not in moderation 😛

___________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Bush-era act of war on terror to stay in force for US fear factory. This story came out before the Patriot act was voted down today. 

___________________________________

How about the… wait…a portion of the Patriot act got voted down?  Wait…  I have to read about this.  This sounds good, but I’m not 100% up on this, this is worthy of a full article if it is what I think it is.  3 provisions of the Patriot act which were up for extension in the house of representatives today under suspension of the rules, which means a 2/3rd’s majority to pass the bill, and it came up 7 votes short. 

So, what I think this is, if I’m reading this right, and I may not be, is an end, at least temporarily, of roving wiretaps, and the records seizure with no probable cause.  That is good news, very good news for those of us who are deeply interested in civil liberties.

I’m not going to weigh in on this fully until I have all the facts straightened out, like I said, I only heard about this a few minutes ago.

__________________________________

That’s it from here, America.  I’ll write to you tomorrow.

One thought on “Easily Distracted

Leave a Reply

