Beauty In The Dissonance


The poetry that comes from squaring off between,
And the Circling is worth it. 
Finding beauty in the dissonance…

Tool, Schism

________________________________

Viddy of the day:  LiveLeak.com The full video of RAW FOOTAGE of praying protesters being attacked on Mubarak’s orders Egypt. The sound is dodgy on this, but the viddy speaks for itself.

________________________________

A few words about the Events in Egypt.

I am all for the popular uprising in Egypt, don’t know anyone who isn’t.  But then again I haven’t spoken to too many people about this, to be honest. 

Kill’em all sounds like the right way to go when faced with the combination of crushing poverty, joblessness, and general futurelessness of the lowest caste of Egyptian society. When I hear that 40% of egypt is out of work, I say hell ya, kick’em all out.   When I hear that the police regularly torture suspects, and hold people without warrant or anything else that would be necessary to hold someone in a civil society, I think Yes, fight, fight til death if that’s what it takes. 

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

It started out, for me, a bit jumbled, and I wasn’t really on top of this from the get go.  Let me run the timeline by you, at least what I heard and when I heard it. 

I read in a blog somewhere that it started with some “Police day” thing that the people were just not having.  That was Tuesday, maybe I read it wrong, wouldn’t be the first time.

Next, I heard it was all started with some mess of an attack at a Coptic church that was more or less ignored by the police, and the “Police day” thing disappeared.  That was Wednesday.

Then it has to do with following the “Jasmine Revolution” happening in Tunisia, and the Coptic church attack story gets dropped.  That story has been around the entire time, but has been partially or completely written off in a variety of places, depending on who you listen to. 

Then the Jasmine Revolution story line gets dropped in favor of simple discontent, and the Islamic Brotherhood is brought into the picture. 

I am at this point waiting for them to forget the Islamic Brotherhood, and the media’s next line of attack to explain the discontent of disaffected unemployed millions who can barely feed themselves, when the reason it is happening is discontent of disaffected unemployed millions who can barely feed themselves, and a cruel unforgiving government that just doesn’t care.

I don’t know how it started.  I wasn’t there to see it.  We can only watch to see how it finishes.  One wonders how much blame America has in this.  We after all have armed this nation to the teeth over the length of Mubarak’s reign, and looked the other way at all the abuses this nation has heaped upon it’s people.  We did not pull any triggers here, but we have some level of blame to accept when we give the dictator the weapons he uses on his people. 

______________________________

That’s it from here, America.  More tomorrow, when I get a chance.

One thought on “Beauty In The Dissonance

  1. I simply want to mention I am just newbie to blogging and honestly loved your web site. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You amazingly have great writings. Kudos for revealing your website page.

Leave a Reply

