Doing What I Can


This morning, I sent in a number of resumes to several different offices looking at several different types of work. That’s not really news, but I tell this for a reason.  I had taken time (initially I wrote “a day” where the word time is now.  I need an editor, dammit) off from looking the last 2 days.  Decided to ratchet it back up and get cracking again, for a simple reason.  I was hired to work part time, with the possibility of the job going full time last week.  I’ve told a bunch of people about it, parents, friends and the like.  I was the happiest man on earth. I’ve since heard crickets. 

They told me there might be weeks when there weren’t work, and there would be weeks when the work would be minimal, but I presumed they would at least try to get me in the door to start training  and get acquainted with the personnel and the place in something of a timely fashion.  Call me pushy, but I want to get in the door if I’m supposedly meant to be working there at some point and I’m told they’ll call me.

I haven’t called them.  Why not? They said they would call me this week.    They said they would call me this week, so this week I wait for them.  Next week I deal with them on my terms.

_________________________________

Viddy of the Day:  BEST EGYPTIAN RIOT FOOTAGE

_________________________________

My own opinion is enough for me, and I claim the right to have it defended against any consensus, any majority, anywhere, any place, any time. And anyone who disagrees with this can pick a number, get in line and kiss my ass.

Christopher Hitchens

_________________________________

Been dealing with a headache all day.  It’s made it hard to concentrate, difficult to do much of anything for an extended period of time.  Like I said, I looked for work, but I had to do it in short bursts. 

Tried reading part of the financial crisis inquiry commission report, and only got a page or two in when it became too much of an issue, and I had to stop.  I got as far as the ten major causes of the crisis, as explained by those who dissented the decision of the actual report, (most notably former CBO head under Dubya and top economic advisor to John McCain’s 2008 presidential campaign, Douglas Holtz-Eagin) none of which were unknown and was, to be honest, an easy read, but I just couldn’t finish it.

I was reading about the strife in Egypt, and only got a little way through the story search when pain made it so difficult to read that I had to stop. There is supposed to be a major day of protest tomorrow. This is the story to watch for the next 24 hours. I’m gonna be watching twitter and a few other sites to watch things live, or as close to it as I can get.  

I was reading a story about Sarah Palin and how she pulled another stupid move, this time talking about the President’s “Sputnik moment” speech, and she apparently completely misunderstood (purposefully, perhaps?) it, calling it a WTF moment, then got things completely wrong, including claiming that Sputnik and the space race bankrupted the U.S.S.R. and brought about it’s demise or some such, which is completely wrong.  I read the whole story, but then again that story was only a 1 minute viddy and a few paragraphs, which is about as much as I was able to handle.

I ate pain killers like they were m & m’s, and it did nothing for me. Only now, after 15 hours, has the pain dropped enough for me to bang out a few paragraphs.

______________________________

That’s it from here, America.  A fresh 12 notes tomorrow, perhaps.

Leave a Reply

