But Is It The Right One?


I got a job, I Got a Job, I GOT A JOB!  WOOOOHOOOOOO… But is it the right one? Hmmm…

It is a part time job, it’s an on call job, meaning that If they call, I come in, and if they don’t, I don’t.  Which means that this may well be a good second job, but as a main source of income, it may be a little lacking.  They’ll call me next week to let me know when to come in to begin training, and sign off on paperwork. 

The person who just called me and gave me the good news, said that there may be weeks where there is no work, and there may be weeks where I only work one or two days a week.  That is entirely unacceptable for someone who needs to pay the rent, and on time.

The job is copy centerish, there is printing involved, there are also other machines I’ve never worked on before, giant form feeders I’ve never worked on, there is large scale bindery they might have me work on, large scale mail sorters.  I’ll need some training learn how to use  some of these machines, nothing I can’t handle though.

_________________________________

Viddy of the day.  Jason Fried: Why work doesn’t happen at work. Interesting viddy here.

_________________________________

It has become an article of the creed of modern morality that all labor is good in itself — a convenient belief to those who live on the labor of others. But as to those on whom they live, I recommend them not to take it on trust, but to look into the matter a little deeper.

William Morris, Useful Work vs Useless Toil

___________________________________

Money and time are an issue though. The money, per hour, is better than what I was making at Sotheby’s, and the commute is shorter, which is nice.  The time though bothers me, and is why I ask myself the question “But is it the right one?”  I will be unable to pay the rent and the bills if there are so many as two weeks in a row where there are only one or two days of work those weeks, and I can’t pay my bills if I don’t work at all on some weeks like they said might happen.

I am going to take it, obviously.  I need the work, and it’ll look good on my resume as I continue to seek full time permanent gainful employment.  Just because I have this, doesn’t mean i’m going to stop looking for full time work.  I’ll be on night shift, but training will begin on the day shift, hopefully they keep me on days, because night shift is a temp job.

Dammit it feels good to say that I’m employed again though, regardless of the questions that surround it.

Wish me luck!

_________________________________

That’s it for now, America.  More writing later, methinks.

One thought on “But Is It The Right One?

Leave a Reply

