Civil Political Discourse


This day has been a fun one.  

I’ve been doing what only can be called defending proper behavior.  I’ve been out and about on a few websites, listening to people say things like   “Liberals, arent you tired being wrong all the time when there is a shooting that takes place?”  Found it curious because this guy then went on to point to half a dozen shootings and other crimes and said all the criminals were in some way liberals.  Then wastes some more space by saying the shooter in Arizona, Jared Loughner, is a liberal, because it’s been proven that the Communist manifesto is his favorite book, and he smoked pot, therefore he’s a liberal.  

Brother was angry, and let it show.  I did my best to be civil. 

Let’s state it properly, and simply. 

A) Making his point he was doing nothing but politicizing murder. 

B)  He implies that all  liberals are pure evil, that psychotic behavior is somehow liberal in nature (Isn’t psychosis apolitical?) and conservatives are all good, when we all know that simply isn’t true.  No one group of people is all good, or all evil, and anyone who says as much, or implies as much, is playing children’s games in an adult world.

C) He was merely playing to his own crowd, trying to legitimize his own beliefs so he can feel better about himself. 

D) Somehow because the kid Loughner read the Communist manifesto, the shooter was a liberal.  They don’t mention the right wing titles he also owned, namely his Ayn Rand and Adolf Hitler titles.  That doesn’t make him a conservative either.  It makes him interested in political writing from the fringe.

I didn’t point out any of that.  I did not let the low level of civility he showed disuade me from making my points in a civil fashion.  What I did do was simply point out the factual inaccuracies he pointed out as true.  I made certain he understood he was wrong,  and in such a way as not to inflame the situation.   I’m not sure he liked it, but don’t know for certain though, because he has yet to respond back.

Ordinary people are trying to politicize the shooting of Gabrielle Giffords and the other innocents, by making Jared Loughner and his reading materials and some here-say put out about him the focus, rather than the fact that some one tried to assassinate a member of congress, and killed a judge, a 9 year old girl, and some other very brave people trying to do it.

Somehow, the average man and woman on the right has decided that the communist manifesto is more important in this story than the victims in this crime.  

_________________________________

Viddy of the day: Tips for civil political discourse.  apropos and germane to today’s subject.

_________________________________

It’s because we’re so trapped in our culture, in the being of being human on this planet with the brains we have, and the same two arms and legs everybody has. We’re so trapped that any way we could imagine to escape would be just another part of the trap. Anything we want, we’re trained to want.

Chuck Palahniuk

________________________________

Later I ran into some guy on Youtube, screenname of InvictusX100, who, responding to my talking to some other person about civility in public discourse, indiscriminately decided to tell me I was a c*nt.  He said “A THREAT TO ONE DEMOCRATICALLY ELECTED OFFICIAL IS A THREAT TO ALL.”  as if I had made some point different than that, when I never have, and wouldn’t. 

He said “I should be shot to”.  See the wonderful people I run into?  Just friggin beautiful!

The level of political discourse in this country is just ethereal isn’t it? 🙂 I wasn’t even talking to him, and I actually agree with his point, the one that all threats to elected officials are wrong, and he loses his mind in my direction.  It’s stupid, and it’s crazy, but I’m not concerned, really.  Not like dumbass can reach through the screen and shoot me.  Kids with big mouths really do not impress me. The problem is that he’s so willing, literally at the drop of a hat to threaten complete strangers over comments made to others that we actually agree on. It is just plain odd.

I don’t know that I understand in any realistic fashion the anger from these right wingers.  But then again emotions aren’t there to be understood, they are there to be felt.  But just because you have an emotion, doesn’t mean it is right for you to express it indiscriminately. 

I don’t feel their emotions though, and a lot of other people don’t either.  It seems that they feel the way they do because they are defensive. Someone who has some level of similiarity to them did something horrifically evil, and they simply cannot deal with it. There can be no other explanation for the actions I’ve run into, at least none that I can think of.

This nut with a gun struck a deep nerve in America’s right wing, and they are reeling as a result, and they don’t like it.  So deep is the nerve struck that they are forgetting about the death of a federal judge, a 9 year old girl, and the attempted assassination of a member of congress.

_______________________________

That’s it from here, America.  Be good, I’ll write to you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

