December 2010 Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the December 2010 Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

_________________________________________

Wed., December 1st:  Ran 9 miles in 1:12:06, an 8:00.66 m/m pace.  57 degrees, heavy rain, very windy.  This run was a tough one.  Fourth nine miler in a row, and the rain was coming down in buckets and the wind was ferocious.  20+mph, gusting to near 50 mph.  Made the run a hair difficult in spots.  Nothing strong enough to stop me though.  I ran 9 miles in the gale after all.  Good run.

Thur., December 2nd:  Ran 9.78 miles in 1:17:18, a 7:54.23 m/m pace.  39 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Went hill running today, home to Franklin and Prospect ave., via Manor road, Bement, the terrace and back.  Added a lil bit to the end, ran a few extra blocks in the neighborhood, about 3/4 of a mile extra.  4.89 miles each way total.  Beautiful day for a run through the old neighborhood.  That hill on franklin is a killer, second time I’ve done it in as many weeks, and DAMN it was nice! Hamstrings barked at me a bit running that hill, beyond that this one was pain-free.  XLNT.

Fri., December 3rd:  Ran 10.6 miles in 1:25:24, an 8:03.39 m/m pace.  38 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Hill running again today.  Slight alteration to the Royal oak to Clove & Martling hill run, added .46 miles to the end of it on clove, to the Bement intersection.  Did that 3 times, + the run from home to royal oak. Feet are sore, calves are a might bit sore, but i’ve been running a lot this week.  No worries.  Hamstrings were kinda sore today, not too bad though. 

Sat., December 4th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:11:35, a 7:57.22 m/m pace.  35 degrees, cloudy, windy.  I didn’t have much today, but a sub 8 m/m pace felt good.  I tried to pick up the pace on the last lap, but the best I could manage was a 7:50 m/m pace.  Not surprised though, this has been the longest run week of my life, a distance PR.  I ran 65.38 miles this week, which beats my previous best by 7 miles or so.  I’m tired.  I’m taking a well deserved day off from running tomorrow. Back to it Monday.

Mon., December 6th:  Ran 10.5 miles in 1:25:05, an 8:06.19 m/m pace.  34 degrees, cloudy, windy, snow flurries.  New route, click here to see it.  Just past the  ½ way point, felt a sharp stabbing pain in my right Achilles.  Stopped, stretched, let the pain subside.  When I started up again it stayed sore, but got no worse. It’s still not 100%, I’ll keep an eye on it. The first half of this out and back I ran in 7:55.8, second half 8:16.6.  Part of that was the fact that the second half is uphill. 

Thur., December 9th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 46:25.01, an 8:08.59 m/m pace.  27 degrees, sunny, windy.  Cold and wind kept all of the runners out of the park today…except me.  Went short to test the right Achilles, which I rested for 72 hours after injuring it on Monday.  It is sore now, but not too bad, it was sore during the run as well.  We’ll see tomorrow if it’s well enough to go again, and if it is, I’m running no further than I ran today.  Not going to push distance until I know it is safe to do so.  Minimum of 3 short distance runs before I undertake the longer runs again.

Fri., December 10th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 45:44.51, an 8:01.49 m/m pace.  30 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  My right Achilles seems better, it was sore after yesterday’s run, but not now.  It bothered me during yesterday’s run, but not today’s.  I pushed, pretty hard actually, on the last ½ of the third park lap today.  Felt pretty damn good, no pain on the push at the end.  Nice.  One more 5 miler before I start the longer runs. Good run.

Mon., December 13th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:13:00, an 8:06.66 m/m pace.  36 degrees, cloudy, windy.  No pain in my right Achilles, the left one got a twinge just as I started, but that went away after about a minute. Pain free otherwise.  Beautiful.  No speed, felt no need for it, at all.  After 2 days off, and 5 in the last week, I didn’t think it’d be wise to push for speed, even if it were possible.  It’s time to again start pushing to see of I can get to 1500 miles for the year.  I hope I can do it, gonna give it everything I got. 

Tues., December 14th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:12:28, an 8:03.11 m/m pace.  24 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Wind chill at 7 degrees.  12 degrees colder than yesterday, winds at 20 mph gusting to over 30. And I was faster today than I was yesterday.  Nice.  Ran into the teeth of that wind for much of the run, made for hard going.  Head felt like an ice cube.  Couldn’t feel my nose, or my lips, cheeks, or forehead.   No pain, though my hamstrings were sore.  Nice.

Wed., December 15th:  Ran 9.86 miles in 1:20:42, an 8:11.07 m/m pace.  24 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Ran the Royal oak and Victory to Clove and Martling hill run today, 4 times plus the run to royal and back home again.  Wind was just as strong today as it was yesterday, and I was on hills, and I ran longer than yesterday.  Nice.  Didn’t push, didn’t want to.  Had a sore point on the bottom outside of my left foot.  Turns out it’s just a callous that needs to be filed down.  No worries.

Thurs., December 16th:  Ran 9.2 miles in 1:15:10, an 8:10.21 m/m pace.  25 degrees, cloudy, brisk.  Almost the same route I ran Dec. 2nd.  After 2 days with 20 to 30 mph winds, today felt kinda nice out there.  Home to Franklin and Prospect via The terrace, Bard, Forest and Manor, and back.  Left Achilles/Soleus is a bit sore at this point, fine otherwise.  Took my time out there today, though there is no need to stress too much over my time when distance and health are the real goals. 

Fri., December 17th:  Ran .78 miles in 6:07, a 7:50.51 pace.  27 degrees, sunny, windy.  Short run, huh? The sore calf that was a minor issue became a major one, and tightened up so bad, I had to stop. Tried to restart, couldn’t.  Had to walk home.  Dammit. 

Tues., December 21st:  Ran 7.1 miles in 58:16.58, an 8:12.47 m/m pace.  37 degrees, partly cloudy, windy.  Good to be back out after a few days off due to injury.  Took my time out there today, just wanted to get the path under my feet again.  I gotta tell ya, it felt good to be back out and about again.  No sign of the injuries that laid me up either of the last two weeks.  Calves are fine, I did feel the hamstrings tighten up just a little, nothing beyond that.  Good run.

Wed., December 22nd:  Ran 7.1 miles in  57:05.52, an 8:02.46 m/m pace.  35 degrees, sunny, breezy.  2 days back, no sign of the calf injuries that sat me down for 5 days in the last two weeks.  Nice.  Weather wasn’t too bad, less wind than any run in the last 2 weeks.  Double nice.  Didn’t push, and I still managed to take 10 seconds per mile off of my time.  Triple nice.  Had fun out there today.  Didn’t push, didn’t look at the watch, didn’t think about stride, or pace, just ran.   Quadruple nice.

Thurs., December 23rd:  Ran 7.84 miles in 1:02:39, a 7:59.46 m/m pace.  32 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Ran the Royal oak to Clove & Martling hill run, 3 laps + to Royal and Victory and back.  Winds were pretty ferocious out there today.  Didn’t feel pain, soreness or stiffness in my calves today.  Nice.  Barely sub 8 time on the hill was a surprise, the wind made this one difficult, pushed hard into the wind, took the foot off of the gas with the wind at my back.  I didn’t think I was making much headway in that wind or moving faster than the previous few runs.  Wind aided, I guess.

Fri., December 24th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 57:11.38, an 8:03.29 m/m pace.  35 degrees, sunny, breezy.  I felt like I was pushing hard today, I really thought I was moving faster than this today. Not a big deal offhand, some days you got it, some days you don’t, and today I didn’t.  No pain or further issues with either calf today, which is a plus.  I think moving 4 days at the shorter distance without pain proves that it was the additional mileage and extra long hills that was giving me hell. 

Sat., December 25th: Ran 7.1 miles in 57:36.83, an 8:06.87 m/m pace.  27 degrees, cloudy, windy.  MERRY CHRISTMAS!  No pain, just a fun run in the park.  Good run.  Nuff Said.

Sun., December 26th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 56:26.4, a 7:56.95 m/m pace.  22 degrees, cloudy, breezy, snow flurries.  The snow, which started just before the beginning of lap 3 in the park, is the start of a major storm which is supposed to dump over a foot of snow on the area.  No pain or soreness in the calf.  Nice.  Surprisingly fast today, wasn’t expecting sub 8.  Double nice. 

Fri., December 31st:  Ran 3.8 miles in 31:05.18, an 8:10.83 m/m pace.  41 degrees, sunny, nice.  That predicted one foot of snow turned into 2 feet. Made running impossible for several days.  The run paths in the park were still a mess 5 days later, some weren’t plowed at all, merely trampled under foot.  Made it very slippery.  Other bits were plowed, but what got plowed wasn’t the asphalt paths but the dirt next to it.  At 41 degrees, with snow melt occurring, it made those bits like running through soup.  I ran the park thinking it would be better than running on the streets.  It wasn’t.  Cut the run short as a consequence.  Still, any run is a good run.  

_______________________________________

This month: 145.26 miles.  Longest run: 10.6 miles(Dec. 3rd)    Shortest run: .78 miles(Dec. 17th)  19 runs in 31 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 7.645 miles

Year to date:  1476.8 miles  Longest so far 15.2 miles (August 24th), Shortest .78 miles (Dec. 17th). 223 runs for the entire year.  Average run distance:  6.622 miles 

________________________________________

23.2 miles short of my goal distance for the year.  I would blame the miss on the snowstorm, I could blame it on injury and illness earlier in the year, I could blame my inability to run longer early in the year, but that would be missing the point.  This is my best run year ever!  I absolutely kicked ass out there!  So I missed my goal, Ya that sucks, but I still ran further than I did any other year!  That is a major achievement, an accomplishment well worth celebrating!

With that said, the goal was within grasp until 2 feet of snow made a mess of things.  I would not have bet even money on that being the case when October ended.  But I gave it my all, ran nearly 8 miles per run over a 2 month span, and gave myself a fighting chance to make it. 

I am a happy man.  Good running.

Leave a Reply

