2010: Stuff That Did Not Suck


At each stage I reach a balance, a conclusion. At the next sitting, if I find that there is a weakness in the whole, I make my way back into the picture by means of the weakness — I re-enter through the breach — and I reconceive the whole. Thus everything becomes fluid again.

Henri Matisse

__________________________________

2010 wasn’t just Republicans, big business making tons of money and then not hiring anyone, high prices, low standards, smelly bastards and pushy bitches on the 6 train, and my inability to run 1500 miles during a very mild year with lots of time to myself pissing me off.  It was also a pretty damn good year, for a number of reasons.

First up on the political front, it wasn’t just a good year for the Republicans.  The strong left wing of America passed some very potent positive legislation that will help a great many people.  Credit card reform, Health care reform, the repeal of DADT, Tobacco regulation, the hate crime prevention act, and, of course, Wall street reform.  This president got a lot done, a lot of good done, and even though he will probably have a helluva worse time with Boehner the complainer running the House of Representatives, and a smaller majority in the Senate, if his victories late in the year are any indication, he really does know how to work across the aisle and get things done.  Looking forward to the next year’s legislative activity.  Should be interesting.

In other political news, We got to have fun with America’s newest idiot carnival, the Tea party candidates.  Now, there was one real winner for them, Rand Paul, can’t name another to be honest, but stupid the kid, AKA  Christine O’Donnell was just a blast to watch.  She is a former marketing exec., and that ought to tell you everything you need to know about the ex-witch.  That witch line was precious, it was a beaut.  The whole investigation into her campaign fund usage promises to make 2011 an interesting one for everyone. 

She’s an entertaining idiot. But not the only one. 

Sharron Angle was almost as interesting, with her second amendment remedies and hatred of… well… everyone.  Sharron wanted to disband the dept. of Education, wanted Soc. Sec. transitioned out, wants the U.S out of the U.N., proudly stated that she had tried to, as a state legislator, remove the legal mandate that insurance companies cover mammograms and colonoscopies, and then said she never did it after Harry Reid pointed out her statements, and claimed that Sharia law had taken hold in Dearborn friggin Michigan and some one horse town in Texas.

Now what do you get if you take Sharron Angle and add a penis and some shit stained boots? You get Ken “dumb fuck” Buck, that’s what!!  He even did Sharron one better, wanting to privatize the VA.   Man.  That lost him the election… that and the fact that he talked shit about the tea party when he thought no one was looking, and was shown to be entirely unethical when he was the Weld county D.A.

It does suck that we by and large don’t have these dime store putzes to kick around anymore.  Luckily for us though, there is a presidential election coming up in a mere 22 months.  The loons will be crawling out of the woodwork to entertain us soon enough.  

______________________________________

Viddy of the day Part I:  Ken Buck tried his best to sell Colorado some kinda crap.  They didn’t buy it.  Smart people.  Here is an ad showing his views, in his words. 

______________________________________

Viddy of the day, Part II:  Metallica, secret show.  Metallica put out an Album this year.  You may not have heard of it.  I have.  It was from a live show they did in a bar in Nashville 2 years.  This is a viddy from it.  Not the best quality, but so fucking what?  Harvester of Sorrow/Frayed ends of Sanity/fucking around, from Live at Grimey’s.

You’re welcome.

______________________________________

On the work front, while I still don’t have a full time regular job, I did perhaps the hardest and most satisfying work of my life at Sotheby’s.  I got the first real sniff of what a union is like, temping there.  Man, I tell ya, a guy could get used to that kinda work.  Absolutely busted my ass, and had a ball doing it.  From mid March to mid November, I went to the upper westside of Manhattan and did a great deal of stinking, sweating, and throwing my weight around.  I’d never had a job where I could really do that.  It was fun.  I hope they call me back and make me permanent.  That would be the top moment of 2011, I tell you that.

On the sweat front, I really busted my ass this year.  I did not reach my goal of 1500 miles on the year, because of the snowstorm on the 26th, but I ran more this year than any other, and I pushed farther and was fast much of the way.   Hurt myself in a few places, but nothing earth shattering.  I ran perhaps the race of my life on Memorial day.  I hadn’t been running fast before that race, and still managed to pull a sub 7 minute mile average for the race.  After running the first mile in 8:30.  THAT was the 2nd biggest running event of my year.  The first?  From Thanksgiving to Christmas I ran nearly 200 miles, most of those runs being long. I averaged 8 miles per run during that span.  That is around 2 miles more per run than I had run for any significant amount of time.  Ever.

That felt good.

_______________________________________

That’s it from here America.  I’ll write y’all tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

