Sanity Is Wasted On The Sane


All that stuff about heavy metal and hard rock, I don’t subscribe to any of that. It’s all just music. I mean, the heavy metal from the Seventies sounds nothing like the stuff from the Eighties, and that sounds nothing like the stuff from the Nineties. Who’s to say what is and isn’t a certain type of music?

John M. (Ozzy) Osbourne
________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Great song, Sabbath from Volume 4, Under the Sun(every day comes and goes) .  The riff that begins at the 4 minute mark, and the accompanying solo may well be the first riff I ever tried to learn to play on guitar. This song is beautiful for that reason, among others.   Enjoy

_______________________________

I put in the above viddy for a reason.  Because yesterday, for the first time since 1985 or so, I got to listen to this again.  I got volume 4 from my wife yesterday.  Warmed my heart to see that album cover when I pulled the wrapping paper off.  Listened to it before I did anything else.   Felt good to hear the old evil again.  Hurt back and all, I gritted my teeth and thrashed my way through Cornucopia, fully lunged for the acoustic when Laguna sunrise came on.  Felt good to play that along with Tony and Geezer again.  Hadn’t done that in a dogs age.  Nice.

One of the best albums ever. I love that wife of mine, ya know?

_______________________________

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!  Man it is bad out there. For those who don’t know, New York City is getting absolutely SOCKED with snow the day after Christmas 2010.  Looks like about a foot or so has fallen here on Staten Island, and the NWS is calling for nearly 20 inches here on the island.  The snow is falling sideways, the winds are whipping something fierce, steady winds blowing over 20 mph with gusts over 50.

I am going to do something crazy tomorrow.  With nearly 2 feet of snow on the ground, I am going to see what I can do about running a few miles in it.  Snow doesn’t frighten me.  2 feet of snow will slow me down to a crawl, but I don’t friggin care.  I’m a man, dammit, and I’m not gonna let a few trillion snowflakes stop me from being able to say I ran in the biggest storm of the year.  Crazy? Yes!  But so what?

But I like crazy.  I’ve seen sane, it’s a waste of time. Sanity is wasted on the sane. 🙂

_______________________________

Got a few other goodies besides what I mentioned above. I won’t mention them, not because they aren’t nice, but because I am forty three. I have to pretend to some semblance of impulse control.  No need to yak about everything, ya know?  Plus, who really needs to know?  My wife knows.  The people who gave to me know.  Is that not enough?

I had to say something about Volume 4, though.  That album is a piece of my life that I love and want to share with the world.

______________________________

Nothing political today.  No need.   I am so completely not thinking about politics right now.  Priorities:  1)  Make my wife smile  2) Look for a job  3)  …

Is there really anything else?  Not really

______________________________

I’ll write  to you tomorrow, America.  Go to sleep.

Leave a Reply

