12:30 AM Christmas Thoughts


It is Christmas morning.  MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!  I hope everyone has a healthy, happy, and safe Christmas.

Christmas this year is driving me a bit nuts.  For a very simple reason.  I have nothing.  I spent what few dollars I had, mostly on my wife.  A few other dollars here, a few there, mostly small things for a few people.  But not nearly everyone who I wanted to go shopping for got something.  A lot of deserving people will, at least on my personal list, go without.   Not because I dislike them or think little of them, but because I have nothing to give.  So i give them prayers, thoughts, and time, when I see them.  They deserve something, and what more can I give than my time if I have no money to buy presents?

Now, to be fair, I am a crappy gift giver.  I have always been horrible at it.  Tried my damnedest to get people what they wanted or I thought they would like, but I never was able to get better stuff for anyone than they got me.  Always kind of left me feeling a little in their debt.  They always were better than I, but I always tried.  People like me kind of HAVE to be philosophical about it. 

Or maybe have people drop better hints my way.  🙂 

My wife, my better half, the woman I love, is wrapping gifts in the other room.  Some of them mine.  Dammit.  I hope she didn’t get me anything big.  I have no real needs, save her company. With that said, I can hear her wrapping gifts, just barely audible above the sound of the music playing behind the video of the yule log that is playing on the television.  Some Ventures  version of a Christmas song was playing a minute ago.  Now an orchestra is playing  “Hark, The herald Angels sing”. 

She says she is no good at gift wrapping, but does that really matter?  The gift even is secondary, mostly.  It is the gesture, the giving itself, the symbolic giving a piece of yourself, that something of yours that the other person wants. 

The real gift is time, and company.  No matter the money spent, no matter the amount of time wrapping, it really is the thought that counts. 

I must away.  I have one gift to wrap. One.  Better than none.  I am having a better Christmas than many.  I have a roof over my head, heat, hot water, food, a wife that loves me.  Peace and serenity and warmth at 12:30 Christmas morning, what more could a person ask for?

Merry Christmas, America!  Merry Christmas, World!

Leave a Reply

