That Was F****** Painful


Before I begin, a hale and hearty thank you to my METAL Sister, Rachel Maddow, for this completely gnikcuF awesome link. And much love to my wife for noticing the METAL before I did.  Go Hon!

_____________________________

I could sit here and write some rant about the President being off his meds for allowing the Tax cuts for the rich to continue, which I personally think he is, I also think he painted himself into a corner.  I could sit here and say a big thank you to the same man in the same breath for getting an additional 13 months of unemployment for millions of Americans who desperately need it.  Or ask if the price he paid for it was too damn high.

Dammit.  More on this over the next few days.

______________________________

Viddy of the day:  President Obama on Tax Cuts and Unemployment extensions.

______________________________

We should stop going around babbling about how we’re the greatest democracy on earth, when we’re not even a democracy. We are a sort of militarised republic. The founding fathers hated two things, one was monarchy and the other was democracy, they gave us a constitution that saw to it we will have neither. I don’t know how wise they were.

Gore Vidal

______________________________

My head is elsewhere for the moment. 

I went running today.  No news there, I do that an awful lot.  I went running long, and hit the hills.  Again, if that’s news, you don’t know me.  10.5 miles out and about.  Cold weather, windy, snow flurries.  My kind of run weather.  In the park this would be great, I’d have the place to myself.  But I take a run down to my old neighborhood, like I’ve been doing the last few weeks.

About a minute after getting past the ½ way point turnaround point, about as far from home as I get on these runs, I felt a slight stabbing pain in my right Achilles, kind of like a really hard pinprick for lack of a better term.  Then I felt it start to move, like fabric ripping slowly moving down my leg, except this was my leg . 

This got my attention. 

I stopped as soon as I could.  Stretched it, but not hard and not long, not wanting to do damage stretching it. This is after all my Achilles, the last thing I want to do is blow it up even though I am literally 100 yards from a hospital.  So I am careful. After a minute I am thinking it feels better, but I am just as much feeling the urge to finish the run, and wanting to get away from the people who are walking in all directions.  I prefer the park in the cold weather, much more solitude. 

So I get going.  The pain gets no worse, but no better.  Sore, like a strained muscle, a very strained muscle, but no worse.  I’m thinking I am past the worst of it.  I negotiate the hills home, going slow, making sure to not aggravate it.  Manage to get home, and only go a few seconds per mile slower than I had on the way out.  Wasn’t pushing hard, no need for that.

I get in the door.  I am fine on the stairs getting in.  Feeling better, I go write about my run in the running commentary section. 

I go to get up, and the thing has stiffened so badly I can barely walk on it.  Ankle doesn’t want to bend, I have trouble putting weight on it, hurts like hell.  Limping around my house like someone shot me, twice.  Needless to say, I am mildly unhappy about this.  I used some strong language, fiddlesticks or golly gee willikers or some such dark angry words . 

Or some such.

Next step:  Hot water in the tub, epsom salt, which I always keep handy, and Ibuprofen, which I also keep handy.  Soak for an hour, allow painkillers to kick in.  It feels better, but damn it is sore, like I just got hit with a bat.  Still limping around, better than before. Been icing the damn thing, keeping it wrapped and elevated. 

Now I say all that to say this. I have had worse, and I have had better, obviously. Sometimes these things heal within 24 hours and turn out fine.  I have also had crap that lingered for months.  It’ll be fine, in time.  I’ll be fine.  It won’t stop me from going where I have to go and doing what I have to do. I’ll just walk a bit funny getting there. 

And like I said to a friend about their own injuries earlier today, no day is complete without painkillers.

Been a full day.  Gonna go listen to more metal, thanks to Wife and Sister Rachel.

________________________________

I’ll write to you about matters of true import tomorrow or perhaps another installment of 12 notes, America, not this fiddling po’ po’ me horsecrap. Have a g’night.

Leave a Reply

