Handle With Care


Casts a long shadow, doesn't it?

I find myself reading about a potential deal with the Republicans on extending the Bush tax cuts for 1 or 2 years.  Republicans say they want to cut the deficit, but they want the upper class tax cuts extended as well.  Ben Bernanke says the deal the Republicans are trying to make will cost an average of $400,000,000,000 a year on top of everything else going on in government spending. And dammit it looks like they are going to get it. 

Which sounds horrible and insane.  The Republicans are holding the American people hostage for their billionaire comrades, and it looks like the hostage takers will get away with it… again.

How conservatives can ask for what they are asking for, and at the same time call themselves fiscally responsible is beyond me.  Yes, the President has spent a lot of money.  Money that needs to be spent, and even with all the spending, a great deal of it, the most prominent parts of his economic plans, the Health care bill cost much less than people think.  The health care bill will cut governmental costs.  The bailouts have surprisingly worked out for we the people.  Cost much less than was initially projected.  Hell, we might even make a profit before all is said and done.

But all the money the President has spent has done good for the American people, in one way or another.  Keeping the financial sector solvent?  Good thing.  Bringing health care costs down while making it easier and cheaper to get?  Good thing.  I cannot name one good thing that keeping taxes  on millionaire athletes and Billionaire businessmen who wont hire anyone a few percent lower would do.

If they aren’t hiring now, keeping the taxes where they are will somehow rejuvenate their capacity to hire?  Are you serious?  I call Bullshit on that one.

Yes, the deficit is large.  Too large.  Arguing that keeping tax cuts that will only add to it, in the name of lessening the deficit is insane.  Cut military spending.  Cut wasteful spending. Don’t cut taxes on the rich when the government needs money to pay it’s debts, and the rich are the biggest source of that income, that is the textbook definition of insanity.

______________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Part I of III of an interview with Erich Fromm by Mike Wallace on 1958 on his show ” The Mike Wallace Interview”

______________________________________

We consume, as we produce, without any concrete relatedness to the objects with which we deal; We live in a world of things, and our only connection with them is that we know how to manipulate or to consume them.

Erich Fromm, The Sane Society

______________________________________

Use with care

I could have been harder on the Republicans, much harder.  The words are there, but I won’t use them all.  Not now. A few words about word choice

There are always words.  Hundreds, thousands, tens of thousands of words that crowd in and try to burrow their way out of my skull and to the outside world.  The words themselves are at times born of my political leanings, at times due to my personal leanings, but always move at the behest of my screaming heart. 

A great many of those words do not make it here, or in fact anywhere.  Sometimes I do not let out what I most want to let out.  Sometimes it seems like those words would be too heated, too tense, too intense, too strong.  My heart holds within it a great many demons, a lot of anger, tons of negative energy, much of which I would much rather not release. 

My crazy heart, my unbridled emotional core, the thunder in my head, the lightning in my veins, is not always something I want to show the world. 

But I love that it is always there. 

____________________________________

Have a g’night, America.  I have to go look for work, so I can make more money, so I can pay my bills and stand on my own two feet, and need no other assistance.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

