No Particular Hurry


Sometime Saturday there is going to be a vote on tax cuts.  It would be wrong to give the rich a break they don’t particularly need.  We gave them a break in the 80’s under Reagan, and it damaged the economy and the nation as a whole.  It was called trickle down economics. It didn’t work.  Prosperity never made it down from the  upper classes.  Reagan had to raise taxes a total of 4 times on everyone else to pay for the tax breaks he gave his rich friends.  The working and middle classes never got a break, never got anything from trickle down.  It  might be a bit of an oversimplification, but tax breaks back then produced a greater disparity between the upper and middle & working classes, made the poor poorer and the rich richer.

If we keep the upper class tax breaks, like the Republicans want, we will be doing the same thing over again.  Hurting America when America can least afford it.  The economy is finally getting back into gear, thanks to the actions of Democrats working to do the right thing, and against the obstructionist tendencies of Grand Old Party.  Allowing the rich man tax cuts to stay intact would be to let trickle down poverty to once again grip the land. 

Keep the tax cuts for the working and middle classes.  Absolutely.  Lose the rich mans tax cut, though.  If he doesn’t give and pay for what we all need, no one else will.  If they aren’t willing to help, they aren’t doing their best for America and are working against the wants and needs of “We The People”.   If they want to be Unamerican like that, that’s on them. 

After all, it’s a free country.

______________________________________

For the first time in the history of our country the majority of our people believe that the next five years will be worse than the past five years. 

Jimmy Carter, in 1979

______________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Fun from 2008 at the expense of Ronald Reagan and the Republicans.  Enjoy.

______________________________________

I am in no particular hurry at all. Normally I would have started this article up earlier than this, it being around 11:30 pm right now, but not today.  I’ve been running myself ragged the last few days, running, but also looking for work, doing the day in day out stuff that has to be done,cleaning,  food shopping, paying bills.  But mostly the running.  Been beating the hell out of the paths like never before.  Last few weeks I have been averaging about 28 miles a week or so.  Not great but not bad.  The last 6 days I’ve run over 56 miles, a lot for me.  Minimum of 9 miles a day.  My quadriceps are fried, my calves are sensitive as hell, my feet are sore. 

It’s great.  I know, that sounds sick, or at least odd weird, funny, something like that, but it’s the runner thing.  Pushing the envelope, seeing what I’ve got.  Seeing how strong I am, testing the upper limits of my physical endurance.  Gonna run again tomorrow. 

Now, part of the reason is that I am trying to get as many miles in as possible to get to 1500 miles on the year, as soon as possible. 

But there is also a secondary reason.  It is in fact a distraction.  A distraction from poverty.  A distraction from joblessness.  A distraction from unhappiness with the world.  A distraction from all the things that are wrong with my life.  Not an escape from any of it, but a distraction.  I work on solving those problems every day, but if I concentrated on them alone, without some form of distraction, life would be much more difficult. 

Life is difficult enough without adding to it by making the mistake of not giving myself a break from the crap life dishes out.  It just happens to be that one of my particular favorite distractions beats my ass.  So, tonight I rest, take my time doing everything, i’ll be running my ass off again tomorrow.

______________________________________

That’s it from here, America.  Have a g’night.

Leave a Reply

