November 2010 Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the November Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

______________________________________

Mon., November 1st:  Ran 5.82 miles in 44:33.44, a 7:39.35 m/m pace.  36 degrees, windy, clear.  First real cool weather run of the season, and I was faster than I thought I would be.  I didn’t try to run fast out of the gate, but I pushed harder as the run went on, and by the end of the run I was going as close to all out as I could.  No pain anywhere.  Wind was an issue early, but became less of one as I warmed up.  Good run.

Tues., November 2nd:  Ran 5.82 miles in 43:41.12, a 7:30.36 m/m pace.  36 degrees, windy, clear.  Pushed hard today, and it felt good to see that I was able to run this fast in the cool autumn weather, on hills no less.  I was kinda slow out of the gate, but got faster as I went, and really hit my stride on the first downhill, and tried to keep that pace throughout.  I think I did pretty damn well.  No soreness, no pain to speak of, nice. 

Wed., November 3rd:  Ran 5.82 miles in 43:57.17, a 7:33.12 m/m pace.  36 degrees, breezy, partly cloudy.  I have what feels like a cold coming on, sore throat, runny nose and the like.  It didn’t affect the run though.  I pushed pretty damn hard out there.  No soreness or pain, no issues with calves or hamstrings.  Nice.  Next run will be Saturday, I’ll be busy until then.  Good run. 

Sat., November 6th: Ran 11.4 miles in 1:25:41, a 7:30.96 m/m pace.  48 degrees, mostly sunny, windy.  I in fact have the aforementioned cold.  I ran early, what I thought was a relatively slow run, and hit the first lap in the park at a 7:27 pace, and I wasn’t even trying.  I did slow down a bit after that, and hit the 9.5 miles marker at around a 7:35 pace overall.  I busted my ass on the last of the 6 park laps, ran that last lap(13:38) at a 7:10.5 pace.  Not bad, seeing how I had difficulty breathing last night before I went to sleep. Excellent run in the noonday sun.

Sun., November 7th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 54:13.98, a 7:38.30 m/m pace.  37 degrees, sunny, windy.  The cold I have made today’s run more difficult than it did yesterday.  I was more sore than yesterday.  I didn’t really try to push today, and it still felt like I was running uphill when I was on level ground.  I never went for it, but I feel like I just went max distance at top speed. Happy that I was able to run a 7:38 at this distance though. Happy I could run at all.  Might run tomorrow, if I feel better. If not, then not.

Mon., November 8th:  Ran 6 miles in 45:52.07, a 7:38.67 m/m pace.  39 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Altered distance due to change in run, just for today.  Ran home after hitting the turnaround point, because I was unsure if I’d locked the door or not.  That’s 1.78 miles.  Then I ran back to the turnaround point, did the regular hill, and then added on an extra section.  that extra section was .22 miles long.  Back to turnaround point and back home. Did the math 3 times to make sure that number was right.  1.78 + 2.44  = 4.22 miles. Add the other 1.78 to that and you get a flat 6 miles.  Mikey.  Math whiz.  YAY! lulz.  Winds gusting to 30 mph made this one difficult, but not so difficult that I thought about shortening the run an inch.  Good Run.

Tues., November 9th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 46:36.13, an 8:00.43 m/m pace.  39 degrees, cloudy, windy.   Took my time today, the cold I have is just too bad to push hard while running.  I probably should have taken the day off, but I ran because I wanted to get a run in.  I don’t mind taking it slow in circumstances like this, the sore throat, coughing, sneezing, runny nose, all of it, made just getting out there to run a chore, but the run was worth it.  Any run is a good run, and this was a good run.

Thur., November 11th:  Ran 5.18 miles in 41:43.14, an 8:03.23 m/m pace.  40 degrees, clear, breezy. This cold is still beating my ass, and now I’m getting nosebleeds because I’m blowing my nose so damn much, but I still managed to get my ill butt out of bed early and run a few miles.  Slow? Clearly, but at this point, a slow run is better than no run.  Altered course like monday, just went further, to the lake club entrance and back.  Monday’s extra section was .22 miles, today’s was .69 miles.  Looking forward to being healthy again and running like I normally do.

Mon., November 15th:  Ran 8.08 miles in 1:01:22, a 7:35.69 m/m pace.  56 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Still sniffling from the final existing remnants of the cold, but I’m ok to run.  After three days off to rest and catch up on my sleep, I’d better be.  This was 2 separate runs, each with identical distances, and nearly identical times.  I ran 4 laps on the rice to clove via martling and slosson hill, and stopped after the second 2.02 mile down and back.  Ran the first bit in 30:40.21, and the other bit 1.79 seconds slower.  Not happy about the slowdown, but it is so minor as to be easily overlooked.  Gonna start going longer (no more dinky lil 5 milers) until the weather makes that too difficult to do, methinks.

Tues., November 16th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:08:17, a 7:35.22 m/m pace.  52 degrees, cloudy, breezy, drizzle.  This was a good hard effort today, felt pretty fast out there, even if I was only incrementally faster than yesterday’s hill run.  I told myself yesterday I was going to start going longer and slower.  9 miles is definitely longer than the usual Tuesday run, got one of them right.  No worries, if my legs won’t slow down now, they will when it gets colder out… and thinking about it, a 7:35 for a non hill run in 52 degree weather IS kinda slow…

Thur., November 18th:  Ran 9.14 miles in 1:09:09, a 7:33.93 m/m pace. 52 degrees, cloudy, windy. New route: Victory & Royal Oak ,to Rice, to Slosson, to Martling, to Manor, to Forest, to Bard, to Richmond Terrace, to Lafayette, to Fillmore, to Franklin, to Pendleton, and back. This was a lungbuster of a run, even with the stops I had to make for lights and traffic.  Hardest hill run I’ve done in a long time, pushed hard, left it all out there.  No soreness, no pain.  Nice.  Good Run.  

Fri., November 19th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:15:38, a 7:57.68 m/m pace.  44 Degrees, partly cloudy, windy.  Fourth run day in a row over 8 miles, it was time to take the foot off of the gas.   I really did not push hard here, except for the last half of the fifth and final park lap.  I was severely underdressed for this run.  I felt the wind through my clothes, and that doesn’t often happen, there were times during the run where I actually felt a little chilled, and that NEVER happens. No worries, that kinda thing happens once, never twice.  For that reason, among several, this run felt like it took forever.  It was still a good run though.

Sun., November 21st:  Ran 9 miles in 1:10:58, a 7:53.11 m/m pace.  38 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Didn’t push hard, but I didn’t slack either out there.  I was kind of expecting to move a little faster than 7:53 today, though.  7:53 isn’t all that slow… oh hell, yes it is.  Winter is on the way though, and this is probably just the beginning of the winter slowdown.  Although, this is my fifth day in a row running over 8 miles.  Even with days off in between, that may have something to do with it as well.  No worries.  I had fun out there.

Mon., November 22nd:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:27:56, a 7:42.80 m/m pace.  63 degrees, sunny, windy.  Despite 25 mph wind gusts, the weather for this was almost perfect, without the wind this may have been the best run day, weather wise, of the entire year.  Kept the pace as even as I could, though I did put in a final push at the end of the last lap.  First time in a long time that I’m feeling the aftereffects of a lot of running.  My hamstrings, left knee, and right Achilles were all sore at some point in the run today.   Calves are kind sore now.  Epsom salt – cold water soak time, methinks. Good run.

Tues., November 23rd:  Ran 7.1 miles in 56:30.36, a 7:57.51 m/m pace.  51 degrees, sunny, nice.  Sore all over today, Both hamstrings and my right achilles were sore from beginning to end of this run, and my left anterior compartment got sore during the run as well.  I never got to that cold water soak yesterday, and I should have.  They help with soreness like this.  Still a good run, kept a strong even pace for over 7 miles(despite the pain) and actually ended pushing hard on an absolutely beautiful day.  Nice.

Sun., November 28th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:12:37, an 8:04.11 m/m pace.  45 degrees, sunny, breezy.  After four days not running, this run really felt good.  I told myself to run slow, and for once it worked.  I didn’t want to hurt myself after all those days off, knowing that I am going to start going as long as possible each run now, just to do what I can to get to the 1500 mile threshold I’ve been gunning for all year…well most of the year anyway.  186 miles worth of running in 33 days.  Should be fun!  No pain, no issues, no worries!

Mon., November 29th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:12:35, an 8:03.88 m/m pace.  45 degrees, sunny, breezy.  I had sore hammies walking out the door, and they were stiff for a bit, but loosened up during the run.  My right Achilles was sore the entire run.  Not bad enough where I thought about cutting the run short or anything, but bad enough where it slowed me down.  I don’t mind being slow though, not too much anyway.  Cold water – epsom salt soak later to deal with soreness.  Good run.

Tues., November 30th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:12:37, an 8:04.11 m/m pace.  53 degrees, rain, windy.  I wasn’t as sore as I was yesterday, and felt better today than I did as well.  Only minor soreness in the right Achilles, and the hamstrings seem OK.  Rain was a non-factor, wind wasn’t either.  Did the minimum 3 step per second stride rate, and didn’t even think about stretching my stride length.  After 3 consecutive 9 miles, with more on the horizon, there’s no way in hell I’m pushing for speed. 

_____________________________________

This month: 143.18  miles.  Longest run: 11.4 miles(Nov. 6th & 22nd)    Shortest run: 5.18 miles(Nov. 11th)  18 runs in 30 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 7.954 miles

Year to date:  1331.54 miles  Longest so far 15.2 miles (August 24th), Shortest 2.6 miles (March 12th). 204 runs in 334 days so far this year.  Average run distance:  6.527 miles 

______________________________________

Lots of long runs this month, but lots of days off as well.  Work kept me busy and off the road for several days, the cold and nosebleeds didn’t help, and I needed time off and took a few days around thanksgiving.  I helped myself by running over 8 miles in 9 out of my last ten runs.  Average run distance this month was outstanding, and that kind of makes up for the dearth of actual runs.  168.46 miles from my stated goal of 1500 miles for the year.  That’s going to be rough, with winter weather coming this way, but it’s definitely doable. 

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

