In The Mire


What has become of the Golden Rule? It exists, it continues to sparkle, and is well taken care of. It is Exhibit A in the Church’s assets, and we pull it out every Sunday and give it an airing…It is strictly religious furniture, like an acolyte, or a contribution-plate, or any of those things.

Mark Twain

_________________________________

What to write about today….

Hmmmm…..  My wife is watching some inane horse shit on television with cops hassling some people or some television cops being idiots, or regular people being idiots with cops who need television exposure to make a few extra bucks acting like idiots.  Some crap like that.   I heard the thing start up, and I reached for the headphones to drown out the horsecrap so I didn’t have to listen to it like a drunk reaching for a bottle.  I can’t listen to it, “reality television”, or more accurately “unscripted drama”  aka BULLSHIT and the crap it is related to, annoys the hell out of me. 

I have plenty of friggin reality in my life, I don’t need that weak ass no good useless horsecrap on my television, a place I go for a respite from the drag of the real world.  Politics is as close to that “unscripted drama” crap as I get, and even that limited exposure gets to me sometimes. 

Sports is nice, I can pretend for a few hours that a puck is more important than bills, or money woes, or the lack of a job. I can watch my Rangers and root like mad (under a very calm exterior) or, in politics,  root like mad for the America’s strong left wing (with a far less calm exterior) and it puts me at ease. 

That puck affects Henrik a helluva lot more than me.  That Start treaty affects Dmitri Medvedev and Sen. John Kyl (that fkucing idiot) a helluva lot more than it does me. I still watch though.

Can’t watch the idiot cops though.  Or the dancers, or the singers, or the racers who are somewhat amazing, or who ever else does that crap.  It just doesn’t do anything for me.  I have enough unscripted drama in my life, I don’t need any more. If you want more, that’s on you.  I can’t help it if you suck.

__________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Screw the TSA.  The invasiveness of the TSA here, in this manner, is more of a threat to our nation, and the one nerve these self-serving bureaucrats seem to be intent on getting on, than the terrorism it hopes to quash.  Remember America, freedom first, security, and everything else, after.  That’s the right order, don’t fcuking forget it.

__________________________________

I am convinced that the world is not a mere bog in which men and women trample themselves in the mire and die. Something magnificent is taking place here amid the cruelties and tragedies, and the supreme challenge to intelligence is that of making the noblest and best in our curious heritage prevail.

Charles Beard

____________________________________

A bit of fun (or something) before I finish things up here….

I’ve heard it said that opinions are like assholes, everyone has one. The problem with the analogy is that most people don’t try to share their assholes with the rest of the world, at least not without large quantities of spicy food being involved.  Also, most people are aware that their asses stink funny at least some of the time…

…Opinions are worse than assholes, they stink worse and have a nasty tendency to end up right under your friggin nose.  I could go on, but I digress…

Share the stench.  🙂

___________________________________

Mister and Misses America and all ships at sea, I must away. Catch ya tomorrow.  Going to go read some Lippmann, some professor Sandel, and maybe Dan Ariely.   In which order I am uncertain,  Let’s see if I can do it listening to Slayer.  Sounds like fun.  Have a good night.

Leave a Reply

