A Series Of Unrelated Statements


It is man’s intelligence that makes him so often behave more stupidly than the beasts. … Man is impelled to invent theories to account for what happens in the world. Unfortunately, he is not quite intelligent enough, in most cases, to find correct explanations. So that when he acts on his theories, he behaves very often like a lunatic.

Aldous Huxley, Texts and Pretexts

__________________________________________

I’m tired, thoroughly beat.  I feel like I’ve been run through a ringer.  But that has more to do with the simple stress of being out of work than anything, I haven’t done the manual labor that would cause the tiredness that I am feeling right now. 

Shit happens.

_________________________________________

It’s too damned bright in here. I put in fresh lightbulbs in the wall sconces, 40 watters where there were 25’s before.  It’s like noon in here in the living room, and it’s damn near midnight.  That truly sucks, but the wife is here, and she, unlike me, needs light to write. I love her too much to bother her. Easier to be bothered myself. I’ll be happier tomorrow (11/15) when the Christmas tree is up and the more low level and diffuse light is what will be lighting the room.

_________________________________________

The end of yesterday’s article made it look like I had a major bone to pick with the nation.  I do, but right now I simply could not be bothered.  A great many of my American brothers and sisters are a bunch of raving assholes, but that won’t change anytime soon, so I can take my time talking to them about their idiotic, right wing, anti-social behavior.  It’ll keep for a few days while I get my life in order, and catch up on my sleep, and try to find regular work yet again, which is really one helluva lot more important on a personal level than ranting at Glenn Beck and his butt pirate bitches.

_________________________________________

The Walsh family Christmas party seems to be taking shape pretty well… despite my efforts.  It seems to be running more on the efforts of others.  My mother.  My Aunt Barbara.  My Cousin Bill and his wife.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t begrudge the help, but it seems that my “running” the Christmas party is more an  “in name only” thing.  But I can’t really run it myself either.  Not enough money to handle the real expenses of all the little stuff that has to be taken care of, and other people out there actually have access to the resources to get this thing rolling to a much greater extent than I do.  No worries, so long as it gets done, life is good.

I’ll try to get a stronger grip on this thing  over the next week. 

________________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Big Grey Ribbon, day job orchestra.  “Why is this thing so slow?  Ask Christ.”  Great stuff. 

________________________________________

Well, I’d rather be unhappy than have the sort of false, lying happiness you were having here.

Aldous Huxley, Brave New World

_______________________________________

I hear tell there is some sort of issue surrounding Social Security.  Something about it being under existential threat from the proposal by Simpson and Bowles.  I don’t know too much about that, but when I look and see at least one voice I trust, Peter Orszag, backing the plan at least to the extent that he says it will fix future deficit issues it would face (note I say “it would face”, it really has no effect on the actual deficit, i’ll explain that bit later, if I find it necessary), I feel a bit better about it.  It does seem that the plan depends on cutting future benefits rather than raising revenue.  One hopes the drop in benefits isn’t too severe. 

More on this as I read the necessary documents to find the truth.  They’re out there, I’ve just been too damn busy to read them.  I’ll get to it this week.

_______________________________________

I am done America. Go to sleep, you have work and I have a job to look for tomorrow.  Later.

Leave a Reply

