September Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the pages and place them here on the blog to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the September Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

___________________________________________

Wed., Sept 1st: Ran 7.6 miles in 58:19.81, a 7:40.50 m/m pace.  93 degrees, sunny. One stop at about the 5.2 or 5.3 mile mark.  Blockage in the road, large truck delivering what looked like a cooling system for the ice rink completely blocked the path, had to wait.  Gave me a short breather and made it easier for me to run the last leg of the run.  It was actually fun out there today.  Calves felt better, right hamstring is still not 100%, but it feels better.  The ankle I noticed, for lack of a better term, but it didn’t bother me offhand.             

Thur., Sep 2nd: Ran 5.7 miles in 43:33.75, a 7:38.55 m/m pace.  92 degrees, sunny, breezy.  I was thinking about going longer today, but after walking over 7 miles between food shopping and going to the bank, and having one cup of coffee and one packet of Lil Debbie’s to eat all day, I am honestly surprised I had as much energy as I did out there today.  11 days in a row running might not sound like much to you, but that is about the longest streak of consecutive days running for me all year.  83 miles in 11 days, nice.  Day off tomorrow if the weather is as windy  and nasty as they say it is supposed to be.  We’ll see.             

Fri., Sep 3rd: Ran 9.5 miles in 1:15:28, a 7:56.63 m/m pace.  85 degrees, cloudy, humid, windy.  Went out today thinking “take it slow”, and ya know, that’s what I did today, except for the last lap, where I pushed pretty hard, and then opened it up with about 200 yards to go.  Hammies, calves, and ankle, all seemed better today, not 100% but better.  Had fun out there, even with the humidity, twas a good run.             

Sat., Sep 4th: Ran 7.6 miles in 57:12.14, a 7:31.59 m/m pace.  78 degrees, partly cloudy, windy.  Pushed pretty hard today, not 100 percent, but I was going pretty quick.  No ankle, knee, or calf issues to speak of.  Nice day for a run, even with the winds blowing as hard as they are out there.  15 mph gusting to 35, and it seemed like a head wind for most of the run, but that could just be me.  I could have gone longer today.             

Sun., Sep 5th: Ran 9.5 miles in 1:12:28, a 7:37.68 m/m pace.  73 degrees, sunny, breezy.  I wasn’t sure how long or how hard a run this was going to be, I drank a few beers yesterday, and that always has a negative impact on my running.  I walked out the door wanting to go 9.5 like I did, but uncertain if I could actually pull it off.  Not only did I pull it off, but I did it relatively quickly.  Hammies seem ok, calves aren’t too bad, ankle is a little sore, but not too bad.  On the fifth lap today, I hit the 1000 mile mark for the year.  Nice!             

Mon.,Sep 6th: Ran 8.08 miles in 1:02:27, a 7:43.73 m/m pace.  72 degrees, sunny.  Hills today, ran the Royal Oak road to Clove road via Rice and Slosson Ave run today, 4 times.  Picked up the pace during each lap, first lap at a 7:53 pace, last lap at 7:35.  Stretched my stride a bit as the run went on, not too much though, didn’t want to go 100% today at any point.  Right hammy felt a twinge, and the right ankle seemed a bit sore, but nothing major.  Left knee  didn’t bother me at all.  Nice.             

Thur., Sep 9th: Ran 5.82 miles n 45:27.15, a 7:48.58 m/m pace.  65 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  First night run since late June.  Run from the apartment to Royal oak and Victory, then run the 2.02 mile hill run from there to Martling  and Clove via rice and slosson twice.   Nice night for a run.  The sidewalks are cracked and jut up in some places, which almost tripped me up once.  Pushed pretty hard out there tonight, feet are sore after standing exhibition all day.  I had pain-free hamstrings almost the whole way, felt a twinge near the end of the run though.  Good run.             

Fri., Sep 10th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 45:13.26, a 7:46.19 m/m pace.  65 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Nother night, nother night run.  Same hill as last time.  Close to the same results, tried to open it up in spots, open my stride up wide on the downhill.  Left knee was sore, felt like it was burning to be honest.  Not good, but it never had me limping, so I never stopped.  I’ve had this knee issue before, it sucks but its never so bad that it really hinders my running, it just makes me question whats left of my sanity.              

Sat., Sep 11th:  Ran 11.52 miles in 1:29:58, a 7:48.57 m/m pace. 73 degrees, sunny.  Nice afternoon run around the park, added a section onto the hill run, run the royal oak to clove via rice and slosson route, and keep going on clove til I hit victory boulevard.  It’s 3.84 miles for a complete out and back, and I did it 3 times today.  This one really kicked my butt today, put everything I had into it, and it felt good.  Good run.             

Mon., Sep 13th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 45:07.74, a 7:45.24 m/m pace.  62 degrees, cloudy.  It had finished raining only a few minutes before the run began, and there was scree all over the road. Rocks, branches, mud, and puddles were all over the place.  No real issues, but it was a pain in the ass nonetheless.  I didn’t take my time anywhere on this run, but I did try to push faster on the second uphill, and cut 20 seconds off of the time I ran on my first pass up the hill.  Not too bad.           

Wed., Sep 15th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 43:00.72, a 7:23.48 m/m pace.  65 degrees, nice.  Great evening for a run, and having cut down my mileage over the last few days, I had extra in the tank, and I used it tonight.  Pushed for all I had most of the way.  Really pushed hard today, and it felt good.  No soreness or pain to speak of.  Nice.  Perhaps the best weather i’ve run in all year.  Good run.          

Sat., Sep 18th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:13:19, a 7:43.05 m/m pace.  67 degrees, mostly sunny, nice. First short run week in a long time, only three runs this week.  So when I went to run today I was expecting to a) feel better than normal, and b) not be able to go quite as far.  Not really the case though. My ankle still barked at me all run, as did my left knee.  I did want to push for 9.5 today, and after 2 slow laps of 5 park laps total to start with, I was able to pick up the pace and end the run with 2 laps at a 7:30 pace.  Not too bad.  Think tomorrow I run earlier, and go longer and slower.        

Sun., Sep 19th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:11:22, a 7:30.73 m/m pace.  68 degrees, sunny, nice.  Ran harder than I thought I was going to be able to today.  Hammies are sore, as is my right achilles and left knee.  I’ve had worse, I’ve had better.  Ran fast today because I could, never hit top speed, but I kept my feet very fast the entire run, and stretched my stride when and where I could.  Great day for a run.       

Tues., Sep 21st:  Ran 5.82 miles in 45:24.52, a 7:48.13 m/m pace.  67 degrees, clear.  First night run and first hill run since Wednesday.  Felt pretty good out there, probably because I had no interest whatsoever in trying to run fast, I just went with what was comfortable for this one.  I did push a bit towards the end, but not for long and not 100%.  After having to take yesterday off with strained hamstrings, I felt no need to push and aggravate the issue.  It was a nice night for a run.     

Wed., Sep 22nd:  Ran 5.82 miles in 44:40.43, a 7:40.55 m/m pace.  79 degrees, cloudy, humid.  Rain on the way, and heavy rain at that.  Lucky that I missed the heavy stuff, but it’s hot enough where I was kinda hoping that it would rain a little on me out there.  That would have felt good.  Minor soreness in my right achilles and hamstring, otherwise no issues.  Pushed in spots, especially at the end of the run, tried for some serious speed there.     

Wed. Sep 29th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 58:53.91, a 7:44.98 m/m pace.  75 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  I cannot believe it has been a week since I ran.  I was busy working my ass off the whole time, had little to no time to run.  I wasn’t hurt hurt, but the sore ankle and hamstrings got a well deserved rest.  I am happy with the time I ran today, and the shape I am in, though I am surprised I didn’t need to stop at all.  Felt a twinge in my ankle and hamstring, but they are overall in much better shape then they were a week ago.  

This month:   115.2 miles.  Longest run: 11.52 miles (September 11th), shortest run 5.7miles (September 2nd) 16 runs in 30 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 7.2 miles

Year to date:  1075.92 miles  Longest so far 15.2 miles (August 24th), Shortest 2.6 miles (March 12th). 169 runs in 273 days so far this year.  Average run distance:  6.366 miles 

Since I am back working as a temp, that has cut down the amount of time I have to actually run, which you can tell by the distance I ran before I started on September 8th, and the amount I ran after that date.  Still I am pretty happy with running over 110 miles on the month despite all the time I took off.  Mileage will continute to drop for a while, but I will still try to run every mile I can. 

I do dislike running at night despite what I at times tell myself, but I guess I’m just going to have to get used to it, seeing how the days are getting shorter and all the daylight hours available are spent working.  Not giving up running because I dislike running in the dark.  That would be stupid.

Leave a Reply

