More Or Less Average


I think my biggest achievement is that, after going through a rather difficult time, I consider myself comparatively sane.

Jacqueline Onassis

_____________________________________

My wife is currently somewhere in the vicinity of Anaheim, California.  She is on a vacation she and a few friends of hers had planned out a while ago.  One friend is from the area, and the other is from Australia.  So to Dayna, Karen and my wife Sue, I hope you kids have an absolute blast! Don’t sweat too much!  It’s a cool and breezy 69 degrees with drizzle here, great weather, while in Southern Cali, I hear the high today is expected to be around 100 degrees.  Remember to use sunscreen, babe!

While you do that, I’ll be home relaxing in front of my computer, like I do most days.  Listening to music on Pandora, sitting in the dark, feet up, leaning back on the little folding chair with the cushion that is well nigh glued to the chair, due in part to just being attached to the damn thing for so long. 

The muck on my glasses evident through the glare from the computer screen, muck which came from rain during a very rainy commute home, which I simply never wiped off.  Not that I overmuch care about it, so long as I can see the screen when I want to and the keyboard when I occasionally look at it while typing, it isn’t really a big deal.  The one light in the background, shining dimly from the stairway behind me gives just enough additional light to read and work by.  That is all I really need.

The sound of the fan a few feet behind my left shoulder and the sound of the Vince Guaraldi Trio mingle with the monotonous staccato of my fingers as they dance across the keyboard whilst I write these word to you.  The fan just feels good.  The Guaraldi is very soothing, helping me relax after a very long very hard day.  It takes me to a better place, a place where the cares of the world just melt away for a few minutes, and I can focus, not on bills, Not on money, not on any of the stresses that affect everyday life, but on just feeling good about the world around me.

Vince was an amazing musician, style, phrasing, technique, all of it absolutely beautiful.  If I played piano, I would start out by learning whatever he learned.  If it was good enough for him, it sure as shinola is good enough for me.

______________________________________

Viddy of the day: The Vince Guaraldi Trio, and the song he was known for before he became famous for working with Charles Schulz.

______________________________________

Thinking is an experimental dealing with small quantities of energy, just as a general moves miniature figures over a map before setting his troops in action.

Sigmund Freud

______________________________________

I am a little tired right now, I am feeling the effects of too much food, not enough sleep, and the first extended period of time sitting down since my commute started a few minutes later than usual today, at 6:44am.  The smoked sausage and french fries I ate hit the spot, it was just what the doctor didn’t order.  Some high cholesterol food with a side of fat and starch.  Feeling that love right now, and I haven’t run or worked out in days, I’ve just been too busy with work, sleep, travel and work some more for the last week. 

I went to sleep late yesterday, and woke up at 2 am for a little while before falling back to sleep and getting up at 4:45 am, an hour before I normally get up, to make sure my wife got out of bed and to the airport on time.  She got out a few minutes late, but nothing major though, nothing so bad that she was late for her flight.

A more or less average night, missing only one thing.  The most important person in my life.  I miss her mightily, I hope she is doing well, and I can catch her on facebook or text her, but it just isn’t the same as having her here with me.  I’ll have to give the cats an extra few scritches for her before I go snooze tonight, methinks they miss her too.

____________________________________

G’night America.

Leave a Reply

