Thirty Minutes


That so many writers have been prepared to accept a kind of martyrdom is the best tribute that flesh can pay to the living spirit of man as expressed in his literature. One cannot doubt that the martyrdom will continue to be gladly embraced. To some of us, the wresting of beauty out of language is the only thing in the world that matters.

Anthony Burgess

______________________________________

I only have a few minutes to write today, I don’t know that I even have thirty minutes to work with before I have to get to the business of prepping for work.  Let me talk about that job for a minute.

That job involves standing on my feet all day.  Nothing I haven’t done a bazillion times before, but if it is slow, that can actually be a very hard job to do.  Standing and not moving around all that much hurts the lower back, the feet, the calves, the knees.  It can be tiring in ways that hard manual labor is not.  It hurts muscles by locking them in position for hours on end.  The one thing that can relieve that misery?

Conversation.

Seriously.  It helps by engaging the mind and (I guess) keeps those muscles from tensing by the tension relieving power of friendly banter.  I have seen it work, and I have to tell you that it has worked on me.   I don’t know about you, but when I talk to someone, I use more than just my mouth.  I move my hands, I move my feet, I move around.  Keeping moving is important, and talking keeps those muscles from staying locked by the simple act of non-verbal communication.  It makes the day pass faster and makes the day go by faster.

Not exactly gripping reading, but hey, it can’t all be Mailer and Thoreau.

_________________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Fun, fun, fun with the guys at Day Job Orchestra on Youtube.  Their latest viddy, another star trek reworking, titled I’M A BIG CHOCOLATE SLUT.

_________________________________________

How can I tell that the past isn’t a fiction designed to account for the discrepancy between my immediate physical sensations and my state of mind?

Douglas Adams, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

_________________________________________

I am done here, except to note that I have my new blog over on Hubpages and it is going pretty well.  Sometimes I don’t get to post here because I take too damn much time posting there.  So much for an earlier statement I made about short posts there.  You can read any of the posts I have written there by clicking here.

I would be pleased if one or two of my three readers would take a run over there and read some of my stuff.  Thanks much, and have a good night America!

Leave a Reply

