August Random Thoughts


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the pages and place them here on the blog to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This article contains all the content from the “Random Thoughts” page from the month of August.  Enjoy!

___________________________________

I started a blog on hubpages today.  And as you may have guessed, my name there is the same there as it is here.  Mike The Rhino.  I have written two pages worth of stuff already.  It’s fun and easy, and since I write shorter stuff there than I do here, it takes only a few minutes. Nice. (8/2)

___________________________________

FACT: Drug Cartels have not taken over any ranches in Laredo, Texas.  There was some story out on the right about this today.  The people of Laredo, when notified of this, looked around, kinda confused, and said… “Ummm…. no problems here.  Who told you this crap?” or some such.  It seems that the Right wing fear machine is trying to gin up fear of Mexicans and other brown skinned peoples by just making shit up.  Breitbart ran with it.  Malkin ran with it. 

The Right wing assholes think they can say anything and get us to buy it.  The acronym is a well known one: NFL, aka Not Fucking Likely.

AAAAAAAAnd the crime rates are down across the southwest.  Stop trying to bullshit us, ya bunch of douchebags. (8/2)

___________________________________

News on several fronts.  I am about to call NYPIRG back, got a bite from them, we’ll see what happens there.  Hopefully something that pays well enough.  Not sure what that would be, but i’ll worry about that when I get to it.  I’ve set in about 5 or 6 other resumes today as well.

And A-Rod hit his 600th home run today.  Nice!  Got a laugh out of an update from the Onion that said ”Hero Pigeon Shits on A-Rods face as he takes 600th Home run trot.”  Hella funny stuff.    (8/4)

____________________________________

Had a nice B-day party, a few days early, at my brothers house.  Had a great time, burned my bald head in the sun, and enjoyed it.  The party was a boatload of fun.  Got nice stuff, and at least  a buck three eighty in monies!  Nices!  Srsly, I cannot thank them enough for their generosity to the jobless guy.  Brother John still has the arm, just needs to get that ankle healed. (8/8)

____________________________________

Sent in 5 resumes today, called one place, asking about a park police job.  I got the wrong number and never got to them in time last week.  Called the right number today, and told me I needed to register by last Friday.  There will be more opportunities out there.  I will get a good job, and I will do it as soon as they decide to hire me.  I’m there, where are they with the jobs? I can only apply to get them if they offer them… well, I do send unsolicited resumes too. (8/9)

____________________________________

Anagram:  Forty Three Years Old/ Fry lottery sorehead/ Royalty freed others/ Theory; yodelers fart/ Yeast for the orderly (8/9)

____________________________________

Today is my 43rd Birthday!  Yay for me! I’m happy just to have survived to see this day.  Beats hell out of the alternative, tell ya that! I celebrated by sleeping in today.  And that is the lone celebration so far. Gonna run, just like I normally do, gonna write a lot, just like I normally do, gonna take out the garbage, just like I do every Tuesday night.  There will be cake, I helped make it, and a special dinner one presumes.  I need little else to make me happy.  Enough of that though, time to go look for a job.  Until I have one of those, no day can be so special that I can take it off completely.  (8/10)

____________________________________

Anagram: Get a job you bum/ Jumbo yoga tube/ Bayou gumbo jet/ Jog to obey a bum (8/10)

____________________________________

The stock market is down big( -250, after hitting session lows of -280), but volume is light, and it looks like things will even out, at least as far as the people I am hearing from on my end, namely the business pros on bloomberg TV.  A lot of talk about the mid term elections having a big effect going into next year.  I’ve heard the Bush tax cuts expiring will do bad things to the market.  I dunno about that.  Democrats can move the market positively, that much has been proven.  (8/11)

____________________________________

Aw crap.  Seems that wordpress is having issues with videos.  None of the damn things show up, you just get a black box where the video should be.  Bunch of crap, I tell ya.  I’m hoping it’s a server issue, and I hope it’s cleared up by tomorrow, or I’m gonna be PISSED.  There are several hundred videos on The Rhino report, some that date back nearly two years.  I don’t want to lose my viddys! (8/12)

____________________________________

Good News.  I called Sotheby’s today to see if they wanted me to come back and do the second half of my six months stint as a temp there.  They said yes, I start up again September 7th.  Nice.  It’ll actually cost me more early on, bit if there is as much chance for overtime this time as there was last time, I could actually save a few bucks.  (8/12)

____________________________________

Really enjoying the cooler weather.  The running is easier, and I don’t have to use the damned air conditioners all the damned time. (8/13)

____________________________________

3 home runs for A-Rod and the Yankees hit 5 home runs in one game against the royals.  That is not surprising.  The next day they could only manage two hits against that same royals team.  Again, not surprising.  Anyone who has watched baseball for any length of time knows that usually that a team that hits that well one game generally, can’t hit worth a damn the next.  Next time you see one of those 13(to pick a number at random) run barrages by a team, any team, watch their next game.  It’s rare for a team after that kind of performance to score a lot of runs, and they never, EVER, equal the previous nights home run or run total. (8/15) 

____________________________________

Just spoke to the people at the NYSDOL (New York State Department of Labor)  They had withheld last weeks payment.  I called to find out why.  Told them they had sent a letter to me stating an issue with Sotheby’s claiming they had never even heard of me, and that I had sent them copies of pay stubs as proof of work.  They released the payments to my account, should be there in a few days.  Nice. (8/16)

___________________________________

Thursday I was travelling, yesterday I was relaxing, slept in, watched tv and such, today I am doing more of the same, Tomorrow travelling again.  Vacations are nice. (8/21)

___________________________________

Anagram: Take the long way home/ Weak Theology Anthem/ The Whole Magnet, Okay? (8/22)

___________________________________

Stock market fell like a stone this morning on horribly bad home sales numbers.  Sales fell 27%, twice as much as forecasters were predicting, and sales are expected to be soft for at least the next two months. Dammit. (8/24)

___________________________________

It’s official, I begin the second part of my gig at Sotheby’s starting September 7th.  It’s only 13.25 an hour, but it’s work.  Seeing how there isn’t a whole helluva lot out there job wise, a crappy paying temp job is better than no job at all.  And there is still the ultra slim possibility that I can land their permanent. 

Oh who am I kidding, they claimed they couldn’t keep me on due to the economy before, they sure as hell won’t bring me in permanent now, when the economy looks worse than it did a scant few months ago.  Dammit.  (8/24)

(note: I had written of this two weeks earlier, but this is here because I actually spoke to the people at sotheby’s this day and got the OK, whereas on the 12th, I had gotten a message from them saying come back, but call us first. Took this long, 12 days, playing phone tag with them just to get it straightened out.  Bad timing on my part I guess.)

___________________________________

Sometimes I do funny things. One of them is to take how many miles I’ve run for the year, and see where in the world I would end up if I ran it all at once.  Curious but fun, at least to boring ol’ Mikey.  So far this year i’ve run 920.46 miles.  Now, using google maps I have, by guessing and moving the little plot points around, figured out what town, state and or country is that many miles from my home, where I’d end up. 

If I ran due west, I’d be in the heart of Peoria, Illinois.  If I ran south, I’d be just north of Jacksonville international airport, in a place called Pecan park. If I went northeast, I’d be in a place called Auld’s Cove, at Port Hawkesbury in Nova Scotia, Canada.  I’ll be in Cape Breton tomorrow.  All while running in circles in a park.  Nice!  (8/25)

___________________________________

Ya know, I thought, when it first popped up here on wordpress, that if I voted for myself at the top of the page, that like button, that it would do something for me, get me more hits, give me more of a chance at being more widely read. But it really had no effect at all.  So if you look around this blog and see posts where there is one like, and then go to the bottom of the page, and it’s me, that’s just me trying, vainly, to drive more traffic here.  (8/26)

___________________________________

Didn’t do nearly enough job search stuff this week.  Bad Mikey.  (8/27)

___________________________________

Anagram: Let’s Go Giants/ Egotist Slang/ Setting Goals/ Goats Glisten/ Go Ingest Salt/ Nag Ogles Tits  (8/28)

___________________________________

ARGH!  The Giants SUCKED yesterday.  They were absolutely horrible, but then again it is pre-season, and I turned to watch the Cowboys on CBS, and they got their asses handed to them as well.  So I don’t feel so bad now.  (8/29)

___________________________________

I love reading politically slanted news, especially when they get it wrong.  Just read a story on Bloomberg about how the Obama administration is blowing off 3 billion potential billionaires by not immediately naming an ASEAN Ambassador.  ASEAN, for those not in the know, is a business/political partnership between the Philippines, Indonesia, and 8 smaller southeast Asian countries.  The disingenuousness here comes from claiming not immediately naming an ASEAN ambassador cuts us off from 3,000,000,000 potential billionaires.

I’m sure all the rice farmers and muay thai fighters in the area are happy that this guy has confidence that ALL of them can someday become billionaires.  5 TIMES OVER.  The total population of the area in question is less than 1/5th the number he speaks of.  

Wonder if he has as much confidence in EVERY AMERICAN becoming a billionaire 5 times over.  Wonder when he’s going to write about the 1.6 billion potential billionaires the AMERICAN BUSINESS COMMUNITY is bypassing by not hiring anyone, the lazy bastards. (8/30)

__________________________________

The President nailed it during his speech tonight, absolutely nailed it.  The right amount of solemnity for such an occasion.  The proper focus on not just why the war in Iraq happened, but on how America fixed things after Bush was out of the White House.  A tip of the hat to former President Bush, and a look at what this war hath wrought because of Bush’s gross incompetence in getting us in that useless war in the first place.   (8/31)

Leave a Reply

