Wind And Noise


The problem with ideology is, if you’ve got an ideology, you’ve already got your mind made up. You know all the answers and that makes evidence irrelevant and arguments a waste of time. You tend to govern by assertion and attacks.

President Bill Clinton

_____________________________________

Ideologues are people who have theories about how the world works, about politics, economics, whatever.   By nature, spectators on at least some level.  Nothing wrong with that, I like being a spectator at times, the view from the sidelines is sometimes better than that on the field.  It must be a different world to actually be on the field though, actually playing doing something important instead of watching someone else do it, or just talking about other people who are out there, doing.

Most people are in some fashion ideologues, simply because there is so little room to be a doer in the world of politics in a representative  republic.  One person representing thousands, millions, tens of millions. Must be fun, and at the same time a little exasperating to be one of the rare breed who isn’t simply on the sideline.  I don’t think I’d mind being a politician.

I must be crazy, just to say that. 

____________________________________

Viddy of the day: an ABC news story covering Glenn Becks Restoring honor rally.

____________________________________

I think I am going to watch, or try to catch at least some of the “Restoring Honor” rally.  Now, don’t get all crazy on me, I haven’t fallen for Beck’s rhetoric, if he even really has any that isn’t just wind and noise.  I want, with my own eyes, to see the people, to see what they have to say. I know there is a lot of anger in this nation.  I know there is a lot of bad feelings going around between people these days.  I want to see how Beck handles that, whether he whips it to a frenzy or tries to make things actually better. Knowing what I know about the man I expect the former, but I will be open minded and simply observe.

I want to see the comic turned pundit turn preacher for a few minutes.  I want to see how non-political this rally is really going to be.  I want to see how many of the old conservative platitudes and lies he lets fly with. 

I want to see the counter demonstrations, and how fox covers them. I expect there will be some fun, but i also expect that despite the  “intent” this thing will be very political.  With Palin, Beck and the tea party being bussed in from all over the country by Koch industries, one wonders how they can avoid having it be anything but political.

Sounds like a big anti-tax rally to me, but hey, I could be wrong, which is why I want to watch. 

_____________________________________

Let us not wallow in the valley of despair. I say to you today, my friends, that in spite of the difficulties and frustrations of the moment, I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream. I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.” I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slaveowners will be able to sit down together at a table of brotherhood.

Martin Luther King, Jr., I Have  A Dream (1963)

_____________________________________

Just read a weird story about the rally in D.C.   Some guy, from the D.C. area, did a little article on line on what places have the best food, free WIFI, what subway lines to avoid because they are unsafe, that D.C. is populated by the world’s refugees, that taxi drivers are often Black or Arab, and that generally visitors should be wary.

Ummm….

OK, that last bit, BE WARY, that goes well in ANY city, but refugees?  Arab cabbies are bad or something?  I just don’t know….

OK I do.  YES safety first.  YES be careful walking around strange places.  Common sense there, but the rest? Sounds like some unresolved issues bubbling inadvertently to the surface there.

OOPS, and other such statements come to mind.

lulz.

_____________________________________

I’m going to sleep America, you go snooze to, I’ll write to you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

