Life Is Good


It is a tribute to the humanity of ordinary people that horrible acts must be camouflaged in a thicket of deceptive words like “security,” “peace,” “freedom,” “democracy,” the “national interest” in order to justify them.

Howard Zinn, On War

__________________________________________

Life is Good. 

I was watching television, changing channels, trying to figure out what I wanted to watch.  It was about 10 minutes to 7. 

I turn on the Yankees Pre-game show for a minute.  

Commercial. 

I turn that off, and hit C-Span.  Joe Biden is eulogizing The Late Sen. Stevens of Alaska, watched that for a minute.  He was finishing his portion of the eulogy, getting ready to introduce Sen. Inouye. 

I flipped the channel, turn on MSNBC. 

I hear and see Keith Olbermann, surprising, he isn’t due on for an hour.  My interest is piqued.    I see the picture on the left side of the screen, a truck moving in the night, shot from behind the truck.  I see the “Breaking News” lower third on screen. It brings a big smile to my face, one which I knew was coming , but wasn’t expecting quite like this. It reads like this.

“Breaking News;  NBC News: Last Combat Troops leaving Iraq”

Live.  I was expecting…. I… to be honest I am not sure what I was expecting, but I can tell you I was not expecting it to be aired live on Nationwide television.  Start flipping channels.  CNN is talking about it, but no live coverage.  Fox News mentions it, but they start news coverage with news about Arizona, a picture of a person holding a sign  “We are all Arizonans Now”.

I’m not an “Arizonan”, I am not a Mexican hating white man living in a desert, trying to scare the locals with images of evil Mexicans, giving birth at us.  They don’t speak for me. 

I flip back on MSNBC. And smile.  Before Katrina, before the economy took center stage back in 2008, this was the first issue that brought Democrats, Independents, and most rational people together against the Bush administration.  The words resonated from one end of the land to the other.

End The War. 

I stand astonished as I watch the last combat brigade leave Iraq, live, in Prime Time. The day has come, thanks the lord it is finally here.

_________________________________________

Viddy of the Day:  Watch a  few minutes of the Iraq war.

________________________________________

I have seen war. I have seen war on land and sea. I have seen blood running from the wounded. I have seen the dead in the mud. I have seen cities destroyed. I have seen children starving. I have seen the agony of mothers and wives. I hate war.

Franklin Delano Roosevelt

________________________________________

Well, today we finally get what we asked for, what we wanted.  What America needed.   The Last combat brigade is out of Iraq. This is one of the main reasons many people voted Democratic in 2008, voted for Obama. 

Well done, Mr. President.  Well done.  Thank you.

The end is near.  There are 50,000 troops still in Iraq. And we will have some remnant there until December 2011, advisers and the like.  But the Last combat brigade is out of Iraq.  There are still people who will have to leave Iraq. But let me say it again. 

But, the Last combat brigade is out of Iraq.

This feels good.  The End is Near.  Life is good.

God Bless America.  Have a good night, America.

Leave a Reply

