July Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the pages and place them here on the blog to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the July Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

____________________________________________

Thur., July 1st:  Ran 9.2 miles in 1:12:41, a 7:54:02 m/m pace.  72 degrees, mostly sunny, breezy, nice.  Today I ran part of the pepper martin race route, in part to see how it would feel to run it, and partly to see how my body would react to the hills in question.  The hills were actually relatively easy, even if they are larger than anything that I normally run, even with me living on a hill.  I am not 100% sure that I’ll be running the pepper this year though.  My left ankle is sore and my right hamstring is a mess. We’ll see.  I am healthy, I’m just sore and stiff, in part because I am starting to run longer.  Slower as well, but longer average run distance.  Might take tomorrow off to heal up, we’ll see about that.                                     

Sat., July 3rd: Ran 7.6  miles in 58:58.98, a 7:45.65 m/m  pace.  84 degrees,  sunny, warm.  One stop at 22:43, my knee loosened up on me, and I had to stop for a minute.  Otherwise it was a good run.  I wanted to go longer, but the knee getting loose made me re-think that.  If I don’t run the Pepper Martin tomorrow, I am still not sure I want to run it, for numerous reasons, I’ll go longer tomorrow.  Calves feel somewhat better, right hamstring is still not 100%, but it feels better.                                    

Monday., July 5th: Ran 5.7 miles in 44:31.15, a 7:48.62 m/m pace.  94 degrees, sunny, hot.  No stops, though I was sorely tempted to.  The heat wave that hit yesterday, and is due to stick around for a few more days, made this a tough one to run, even at this relatively short distance. My calves are fine, my ankle seems OK, I felt the hamstring tug a hair in one or two spots, but no pain, which is great news.  I didn’t push at all in this heat, and won’t, that is madness.                                    

Tues., July 6th: Ran 5.6 miles in 44:11.12, a 7:53.41 m/m pace.  98 degrees, sunny, hot.  This was actually 2 runs, one was 2 laps in the park,  the 1.9 mile loop, and a second short 2 lap run, around Rice/Royal Oak ave to victory to Slosson and back down to rice, which is a 9/10 Th’s of a mile loop, and a smallish hill.    Ran them both at around the same pace, more or less, No issues with the hamstring or anything else. Joy!  This is, I believe, a personal record for me, highest temperature I’ve ever run in.  Nice!                                  

Wed., July 7th: Ran 5.7 miles in 44:34.90, a 7:49.28 m/m pace.  94 degrees, sunny, hot.  Both hamstrings were tight today before I got started, so when I walked to the park today, I pushed hard walking up the hill and used the longest strides I could.  It stretched them out well, and the run was pain and discomfort free.  My right ankle was a bit stiff, but that happens, I’m not really concerned at the moment about it.  I actually had enough in the tank to push hard towards the end of the final park lap and end strong in the blistering sunshine.  Nice.                                 

Thur., July 8th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 59:16:96, a 7:48.02 m/m pace.  81 degrees, sunny, hazy, humid.  No hamstring soreness pre or post run today, which is about the best news I could report on that subject! Nice! No push no stress, just run today.  Nice and relaxed …There was a hurdle today though, one I should have seen coming.  Kids.  Seemingly thousands of them.   Young people’s day camp kids were everywhere.  Couldn’t get away from them.  It was a hassle, albeit a minor one (no pun intended).  Nice to not run when it’s in the mid 90′s.                                

Fri., July 9th: Ran 5.7 miles in 43:20.74, a 7:36.27 m/m pace.  80 degrees, sunny, humid.  After a short but hard workout yesterday, both of my hamstrings cramped up on me, and have been sore since then.  Oddly enough, it didn’t affect the run, at all.  They are still sore, and walking up and down the hills to the park was kinda difficult, but the actual running was fine though.  Weird.   If the hamstrings, which even if they don’t affect the run are still in pain, aren’t too bad tomorrow, I’m going to go long, methinks.                             

Sat., July 10th: Ran 9.5 miles in 1:14:27, a 7:50.21 m/m pace.  80 degrees, cloudy, humid, drizzle.  Started this run in drizzle, which turned to rain for a minute, which stopped after about 30 minutes of running.  Not a bad day’s running, five laps felt good, especially with the fast last lap I ran, after running on autopilot the first 4 laps.   I was 16 seconds per mile faster on the last lap than I was on the other 4 laps.  Nice.  One final thing, if anyone out there has an extra left 4th distal phalanx on them, drop me a line and I’ll come over to pick it up later.                             

Mon., July 12th: Ran 5.7 miles in 43:41.28, a 7:39.87 m/m pace.  88 degrees, sunny.  Pretty good start to the running week.  Ran the first lap on autopilot, a 14:49, then picked up the pace a bit for the next two laps, which I ran in 14:27 and 14:25 respectively.  I actually went out of my way to run inside, for lack of a better term, today.  Meaning I ran as close to the inside lip of the path I run on to minimize distance on the paths, just to see if it had an effect. So what effect did it have? Unknown.  Probably helped shave a second or two off at best, can’t see it being that big a deal.  No soreness.  Nice!                         

Tues., July 13th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 45:13.26, a 7:56.01 m/m pace.  81 degrees, cloudy, hazy, humid.  I took my time early, but didn’t realize how slow I was going til I hit the end of the first lap and saw I was running slower than an 8 minute mile.  Ended up doing the same thing for the second lap, and for a fair bit of the third.  I didn’t feel like running fast, it didn’t matter to me for some reason, which is very, very, odd.  I don’t offhand recall thinking “go faster” or anything like that, I just started to push about a minute after I got to the half way point of the third lap, and by the time I finished I was running all out, seeing if I could make the run a sub 8 m/m run.  Nailed it.  Nice.                       

Wed., July 14th: Ran 13.3 miles in 1:48:15,  an 8:08.34 m/m pace.  80 degrees, cloudy, hazy, humid.  Longest run of the year so far.  Wore me the hell out.  I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to do it, but I toughed it out.  Feet are sore, as are my calves.  Hamstrings aren’t too bad, surprisingly.  My quads are feeling it a bit, and for some odd reason my right shoulder is sore.  Go fig.  I got a blister on my left big toe, which means I have now done something  to every toe on my left foot. No worries though.  Actually felt good just wearing out the run paths today. Might go  regular middle distance tomorrow,  a 5.7 or 6.4 or 7.1 miler, might not go at all, depending on how I feel in the morning.  We’ll see.                     

Thur., July 15th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 43:20.94, a 7:36.30 m/m pace.  82 degrees, sunny.  I didn’t think I’d be able to go this quick today, after the run I did yesterday.  My ankles, quads, calves and hamstrings were all sore, before I put one foot on the paths today.  But as I started I found my stride was pretty quick, which surprised me, but I went with it after I found myself capable of some speed.   I happily got faster as I went on.  ran the first 1.9 mile lap in 14:40, the second in 14:26 and the third in 14:15.  I think I’ll be taking tomorrow off, we’ll see.  Good run.                     

Sat., July 17th: Ran 7.6 miles in 59:18.41, a 7:48.21 m/m pace.  85 degrees, sunny, warm. Not all that bad of a run.  I didn’t push super hard today, not sure I could have if I wanted to. Right hamstring tightened up on me a hair out there, and my right ankle was stiff from moment one out there today.  Nothing that could stop me, mind you, just enough to make me feel like my ass wanted to fall the hell off.  Though I ran a slow pace, I got progressively faster as the run went on.  Nice.                    

Mon., July 19th: Ran 5.7 miles in 45:36.26, an 8:00.04 m/m pace.  83 degrees, sunny, humid, breezy.  I don’t like the fact that I slowed down as this run went on, this is the first time in a long long time where my first lap was my fastest lap.  My right ankle is still stiff, though it is better than it has been.  I felt a twinge in my right hamstring after the end of lap one.  That is still no reason for the slowdown.  Kind of disappointing, but still, any day when you can run is a good day.                 

Tues., July 20th: Ran 11.4 miles in 1:31:18, an 8:00.52 m/m pace.  85 degrees, cloudy, humid, breezy.  Not too shabby. The ankle was still stiff, but I just ran until I didn’t notice it being stiff anymore.  Did the same thing with my right hamstring.  Almost sub 8.  Pushed like crazy on the last lap, and almost made up for a few slow laps where it felt like there was nothing left in the tank.   Busted it at the end, felt good to do that after yesterday’s three lap slowdown.  Good run.              

Wed., July 21st:  Ran 5.2 miles in 40:08.94, a 7:43.25 m/m pace. 82 degrees, sunny, humid.  Short, early run today, I have things going on this afternoon, so it was run early or not at all.  Despite soreness and lack of sleep, this was a pretty good run.  The hamstring didn’t bother me at all today, which surprised the hell out of me, and neither did the ankle.  Nice!  I pushed hard in spots today, but not too many.  Might take tomorrow off, we’ll see.            

Mon., July 26th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 44:36.69, a 7:49.59 m/m pace.  85 degrees, sunny.  First run after four days off the heal sore hamstrings and a sore right ankle.  After two steps running both were bothering me, but I kept going.  The issues I had with both went away, and both seem fine now, but it was a hassle early on in the run.  After four days off it felt good to get out and break a sweat.  I wasn’t sure how long I was going to be able to go today, thought, 2 maybe 3 laps.  Finished the second and found I had enough energy to knock out the third lap.            

Tues., July 27th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 43:25.99, a 7:37.19 m/m pace.  87 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Hammy isn’t 100%, but it’s close. Left ankle was fine during the run, but is now sore.  Pushed my stride length throughout this one, took spots slow, and pushed hard in spots.  Really opened it up on the backstretch near the end of the run, and I gotta tell ya, it felt good.   After a morning of job hunting adversity, I felt a need to sweat off the crap, and it really did the trick.  Sometimes a bad day is an inspiration for a good run.          

Wed., July 28th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 43:13.92, a 7:35.07 m/m pace.  87 degrees, cloudy, humid, windy.  For the first time in several weeks I felt neither discomfort nor pain at any point before during or after a run.  Nice!  I actually pushed pretty hard out there today, getting faster with each successive 1.9 mile lap in the park, running them at a  7:40, 7:35.8, and 7:29.5 m/m pace each respective lap.  Nice.  Pain free is a happy thing.       

Thur., July 29th: Ran 7.6 miles in 1:00:27, a 7:57.23 m/m pace.  variable conditions.  Started out 87 degrees partly sunny and humid, by the end of the run it was under 80 degrees and pouring rain.  Seriously, the sun was out when I left to go run, and by the beginning of lap 3 there was a monsoon. Cut the run short because I my shoes were as heavy as hell from all the rain.  Had fun running in the rain tho, it was great!  The last lap, the rain soaked lap, was also my fastest.  Nice!     

Fri., July 30th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 57:41.44, a 7:35.45 m/m pace.  81 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Pushed fairly hard today, as evidenced by the time I ran. Not my fastest by any stretch of the imagination, but somewhere around 7:35m/m  seems to be around my speed limit when the weather  hits the 80′s, and I’ll take that.   Not bad for a fat old man in bad shape.  I felt my hamstring and my right ankle  just a little out there, they seem fine now.  Hopefully it stays that way. Good run.   

Sat., July 31st:  Ran 8.08 miles in 1:02:44, a 7:45.84 m/m pace.  80 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Hit the hills today for the final run of the month. Started at royal oak road, ran downhill to rice avenue, then to slosson, to martling, touch clove road, and turn back the way I came, four times.  Started out kinda slow, I think I hit the mile 2 marker at around an 8 minute mile pace, and got faster as I went along, which is the way it’s supposed to be.  Busted my ass out there.  Good run.

   This month:   157.28 miles.  Longest run: 13.3 miles (July 14th), shortest run 5.2 miles (july 21st) 22 runs in 31 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 7.149 miles

   Year to date:  781.7 miles  Longest so far 13.3 miles (July 14th), Shortest 2.6 miles (March 12th). 129 runs in 212 days so far this year.  Average run distance:  6.059 miles 

I’ve had 83 days off so far this year.  That is an awful lot of days off, but I like the fact that I am averaging over 6 miles per run, even if it is only just over 6.  The year is over half over, and it still looks like I will fall short of my goal of 1500 miles for the year, but I am getting closer to that number.  Calculations last month had me, if I kept the average number of days, and average number of miles up, running a total of 1254 miles for the year, that number has jumped nearly 100 miles.  Keeping at the pace of days off and miles per day run, I’ll hit 1350 miles for the year before all is said and done.

Leave a Reply

