July Random Thoughts


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the pages and place them here on the blog to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This article contains all the content from the “Random Thoughts” page from the month of July.  Enjoy!

___________________________________

Found an old blog that I haven’t used since I started writing here.  Shouldn’t say found, more like re-discovered.  I’ve posted there twice, It is going to be for all the stuff I am not sure I want to say here. I won’t give the URL here just yet though, I want to make sure I am happy with what I am writing there, make sure it isn’t pure unadulterated crap before I start planting links to it here.  I’ve begun writing fiction there, and I am not sure I like it. (7/1)

___________________________________

Anagram: June Random Thoughts / John mugs donut hater. 

I like my anagrams, and any anagram that involves a mugging is alright by me.  🙂  (7/1)

___________________________________

I am pushing back, for a few hours, my job hunting so I can get some food shopping done.  Cats need food, and the wife and I need a few things.  Seeing how the only calls I get are from debt collectors, I don’t think waiting at the phone for a call that will not come makes much sense.  And I can send resumes whenever, it being Friday, and the calls I have to make, I have to make before 5 pm, so I have a few hours to play with, it being quarter after eleven in the morning now.  (7/2)

____________________________________

Happy Independence day!  Show some Independent thought today dammit, that’s what freedom is all about!  And also…don’t go blow your arm off celebrating, that would suck.  Don’t go blowing shit up unless you have a degree in blowshitupology or sumthin!!      (7/4)

____________________________________

Anagram: Patriotic American/ Top Maniac Criteria (7/4)

____________________________________

It’s 98 degrees On Staten Island right now, at 2 pm, and it’s expected to go up to 100 tomorrow.  Both numbers either tie or exceed record temperatures.  Both are 15 degrees above normal, and those kind of numbers were around yesterday and the day before and the heat wave is expected to last until at least Wednesday.  Ooof.  I wonder how much the people who were laughing at global warming because it snowed in winter, not because it was actually colder than normal (it wasn’t), are laughing now.  Just curious.  (7/5)

_____________________________________

Ron Paul and Barney Frank are calling for cuts in Military spending!  YAY!   We are the world’s policeman, and we have been since before I was born.  The military industrial complex runs the Pentagon, and has it’s claws deep in the White House and the rest of the civilian government.  With all the talk of cutting wasteful government spending. it makes sense to cut the pentagon’s budget, the military’s budget, especially if we want to fight terrorism and not break the bank.  How many nuclear subs do we need to fight terrorists? How many nuclear armed carriers? (7/6)

_____________________________________

For those who pay attention to these things, I added a widget to the sidebar here on The Rhino Report, it’s for a thing called socialvibe, and it helps raise money for a variety of different charities, and the one I chose is the leukemia and lymphoma society.  I know all you rhino heads out there are more than willing to click and help people in need, and if you could find it in your heart to donate, well, that would be about the best thing you could do for these kind people.  Any help is greatly appreciated. (7/7)

_____________________________________

I really don’t care where Lebron James and his really annoying pre-game show are going to go….

That said (this subject being on everyone lips today, I have to write a lil bit about it), why the hell would he go to a shit organization like the Knicks?  He wants to WIN, and the Knicks haven’t had a winning season since 2000-2001.  Hell, even I, Mister Optimistic sports fan, who roots for the New York Rangers, and has hope they’ll go deep into the Playoffs, EVERY YEAR, despite the fact that that douchebag Dolan and that shithead Sather keep scuttling the teams chances by simple Being attached to the organization, gave up on the New York Bricks, years ago.  No way Lebron goes to the Knicks.

He’s sticking with the Cavs.  That’s my bullshit story and I’m sticking to it.  (7/8)

______________________________________

Anagram:  LeBron James/ Men Jab Loser (7/8)

______________________________________

Ya, know, the more I read about Sharron Angle, the more I think she is Bozo the Clown.  A slush fund, Mrs. Angle, are you serious? I especially like when she says “the caller and I should not have used the term slush fund, that was incorrect”.  Like the caller made her use the term.  He used it, yes, she could have used a different one, but she didn’t. 

She thinks money put aside for those hurt by the disaster in the gulf is a slush fund. We all know what a slush fund is, right? The textbook definition of a slush fund is:  A fund raised by a group for corrupt practices, such as bribery or graft. So, Mrs Angle, the $20,000,000,000 put aside to pay for the damage done by biggest environmental disaster in human history is a slush fund?  Paying for what you have done is corrupt, Mrs Angle? Is that Bribery, Mrs. Angle?, or Graft, Mrs. Angle?  Really?

This is the same clown who called for the privatization of Social Security and Medicare. And she backtracked on that, too. 

Honk your nose for us, Bozo! (7/9)

_______________________________________

Anagram: Responsible Thinking / Bleeping Rhino Stinks (7/10)

______________________________________

After a few days writing articles here, and roaming the wild green yonder, and looking for work, I am a wee bit tired.  The job thing still is not working out, but I am only just beginning to send in applications for writing jobs.  I’ve sent in one for a sports writing job, one for a blogging gig on Examiner, and one for a temporary research assistant over at media matters.  The Media matters job looks pretty good, but it might be tough, because they would want me in office there once a week, and their offices are in Washington D.C.  I think I can handle it though. (7/16)

______________________________________

Bosradio.com.  Hang with Das Rhino.  Tis  a good place with good people and good music.  (7/19)

_____________________________________

My wife just won a contest from XM/Sirius.  We have been invited to the Hard rock Cafe on Wednesday at noon to hang out with, among other people, Maurice Jones-Drew and Jeremy Roenick.  Nice!  Gonna go call Roenick a shithead.  ROFL!  (7/19)

_____________________________________

Never went to the thing at the hard rock.  Ah well.  I was looking forward to annoying Jeremy Roenick.    (7/20)

_____________________________________

Anagram:  Andrew Breitbart/ write barbed rant / A bent drab writer/ retard want bribe/ ten rabbit reward (7/21)

_____________________________________

It is only a matter of time before I get a job.  I have been sending in, on average 3 resumes a day, and making phone calls when the opportunity avails itself.  I am using the department of labor resources available to me, and every other source I can get my mits on.  The only real problem is that there really isn’t all that damned much out there that I am qualified for.  My old job, copy machine operator, seems as a class, to have almost completely dried up.  There just isn’t any more copy work out there.  I still put in for it when and where I can.  I’m pushing hard, and I am optimistic, long term, but there just isn’t a lot out there right now. (7/22)

_____________________________________

There is a lyric in the song  Territorial pissings : “Just because you’re paranoid, don’t mean they’re not after you“   Odd lyric, but it feels at least somewhat fitting today.  I just got a letter from the department of labor in New york saying that my former employer Sotheby’s was challenging my claim for unemployment, due to the fact that I never worked there. 

Curious… I have vivid memories of being at Sotheby’s, at 1334 York Avenue, filing out paperwork, including a w-4, working for several months, and getting paid for it.  I have the pay stubs to prove it.  The NYSDOL asked for copies of pay stubs, so I sent them 4 of the nine I could immediately find, (the other 4 are around here somewhere) one from each month I worked there.  Let them argue with the paystubs. (7/24)

_____________________________________

Been going through my old baseball card collection, to see what I can sell and just what the going price on some of the cards I have is.  I was pleasantly surprised by a few, and saw price drops from the prices I paid 20 years ago on others.  Best?  My 1959 Ernie Banks has more than doubled in value, and I paid $60 when I got it.  I have a fair number of cards that are worth over $50, some as high as $125 -$150.   The Jerry Rice rookie cards are worth a fair bit, as is the 1964 Hank Aaron.  Nice. 

Selling them all.  Want something? Drop me a line! (7/25)

____________________________________

Sent in 9 resumes so far today.  That is pretty damn good!  I haven’t found that many potential job openings, that many job opportunities in one day in a very long time.  Been sending resumes for 3 solid hours.  Lately the trail for job leads goes cold after about 3 sends, which takes about an hour to dig up and find.  Not finished yet either.  Will run when done.  Nice.  I love feeling like I’m doing something to move myself forward.  Feels good.  (7/26)

___________________________________

I’ve sent in 3 or four resumes since i wrote that last bit on Monday.  Not because i haven’t been trying to find work though, I just haven’t seen all that much out there since Monday. But I have contacted xerox, a place I used to work at, and dropped a resume on Kelly services.  Maybe getting a staffing agency involved will help.  It hasn’t before, but that doesn’t mean it won’t this time. (7/28)

___________________________________

Anagram: Tea Party Patriots/Tasty Ape Portrait (7/28)

___________________________________

Anagram:  Copy Operator/ Or A Poetry Cop/ YO Trap Cooper/Poor Actor? Yep. / Coy Rapper, Too/ A rectory poop  (7/29)

Leave a Reply

