Eighty Six Percent


The mark of a moderate man
is freedom from his own ideas.
Tolerant like the sky,
all-pervading like sunlight,
firm like a mountain,
supple like a tree in the wind,
he has no destination in view
and makes use of anything
life happens to bring his way.

Lao Tzu, Tao Te Ching, as translated by Stephen Mitchell

_________________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Paul Krugman and George Will talking about the economy, the GDP, the Stimulus and unemployment.

_________________________________________

Sunday’s links:

Alan Greenspan warns that US could be heading for double dip recession

Greenspan says home price drop may spur new recession

As spending by wealthy weakens, so does economy

_________________________________________

Even though the other stories are very good journalism, I like that last link best … kinda.  It gives me lulz.  But not haha funny lulz, more like the  “these idiots have got to be kidding me” lulz.  70% of the spending in this economy is done by the middle class, and as that class goes, so goes the economy, and yet the final article makes the point that because the richest 5% of the nation make up 14% of the spending, and they aren’t spending as much as before, that is the reason the economy is sputtering, and they were the only reason the economy got off of it’s back, after the crippling effects of  the recession that started several years ago.

Would it not make more sense to say that they are having a negative impact in certain niche markets within the vast American economy?  The article says that we should think of the rich as the engine that drives the economy.  Bullshit.  It also says that because  the DJIA has fallen 10% over the last few months, that the rich are spending less.  Perhaps, maybe not.  I don’t know enough rich people to ask them myself. But, notice though that they don’t say how much the other 95% of the spenders(who make up 86% of the total spent in this economy) in this economy spent, what effect they had on the economy. 

And a side note, would not that 86% number make EVERYONE ELSE BUT THE RICH the engine that drives the economy, spending $86 out of every $100 spent in America?

Think of that Associated press piece as propaganda written by someone with an agenda, rather than an actual news story.  Because it isn’t news when you make commentary like that.  I am surprised and unhappy with the AP here. That “story”is commentary, not journalism.  Besides giving facts, it hands you an opinion and expects you to stand by that opinion as if it is truth, and that is the definition of commentary.

News should be about getting facts out there alone, not devoid of context, but not leading the reader by the nose to a point you want them to read.  News is about investigating and showing the facts and letting the reader judge for themselves what those facts represent, not leading them down the garden path and handing ideas to readers like they are the only truth, as if the only reasonable context is the one provided. 

I do commentary, many others do as well, the AP should leave us to do commentary, and they, being a news agency, should report the news.  It’d be nice, wouldn’t it?

_______________________________________

A man of true science… uses but few hard words, and those only when none other will answer his purpose; whereas the smatterer in science… thinks, that by mouthing hard words, he proves that he understands hard things.

Herman Melville, White Jacket

 

___________________________________

I am flat broke and I don’t care… Well, I do.  As a matter of fact I care so much that it hurts to think how much I cannot do.  But it is all my fault.  I’m the one who got fired all those months ago, March of last year…. good lord, has it been that long? 

Regardless of why, and everyone I tell the story to tells me I got screwed, it’s still my fault.  I put myself in a position to get what I got. Suck though that does it is the truth.  I have spent a great deal of resources, capital of both mind and body, all kinds, to try to get back on my feet.

So far that effort has failed.  But I have recently come to the conclusion that I have failed in other ways as well.  I have not given enough in trying to  retrain myself, to find new horizons to expand to, not taken advantage of all the resources at my disposal.  Methinks that must change or I may be stuck here, unemployed, longer than I should be. 

Wait. 

Let me rephrase that.  Longer than anyone should have to tolerate.  That does not guarantee that I will succeed, but I must put myself in as good a position as I can, and if I leave resources unattended, (and I will remain vague about those “resources”, such is my prerogative) than who do I damage but myself?

My wife.

My parents.

My family extended.

Every person I have ever known, and everyone else.

My failure weakens the world, and the world is full of weaklings as it is, it has no need of another.

It’s time for me to get to work.

__________________________________

Go to sleep America, May the morning bring you success.  Watch a viddy before you go.  Moby Dick.

One thought on “Eighty Six Percent

Leave a Reply

