This Article Is Made Of Milk Chocolate


For a while, I thought of myself as an atheist until I realized it was a belief, too. It’s a shame everything has to have a label. I feel that if I was figuratively dropped on the Earth and there was a political line, I would be just left of center. The difference for me is that conservatives are more interested in property values and rights and free markets, and liberals are more interested in human rights. In the end, there are people who don’t fit into the marketplace and are not equipped. I believe the government should step in where the free market fails.

George Carlin, from an interview done on August 9th 2007

____________________________________________

Today, July 28th is national Milk Chocolate day.  It is also the 142nd anniversary of the certification of the 14th Amendment (it was ratified three weeks earlier, July 9th 1868), and the 96th anniversary of the day that Serbia declared war on Austria-Hungary, one month to the day after the assassination of Archduke Ferdinand by a 19 year old Bosnian by the name of Gavrilo Princip.

Don’t off hand know why I even felt the need to mention that.  Maybe because it’s milk chocolate day and I don’t have any milk chocolate around to nosh upon.  Maybe it’s because I am uncertain how exactly to commemorate the passing of one of the most important Amendments to the constitution.  Maybe it’s because the little Bosnian bastard has a really odd name. 

And maybe because I just don’t give a damn today.

One of those things.  Not sure which.

______________________________________

Viddy of the day:  Joltin Joe DiMaggio

______________________________________

Wednesday’s links:

A narrow rebuke of Arizona’s immigration law

Ten key indicators show global warming undeniable <— Better name for the effect “Holy Shit, We Broke The Sky!”

For some city fitness buffs, Intense heat is no deterrent 

MikeRoweWorks <— looking for work? Look here

______________________________________

Tragedy is when I cut my finger. Comedy is when you fall into an open sewer and die.

Mel Brooks

______________________________________

Well, it’s not that I don’t give a damn.  I do, I’m not one of those people who just habitually doesn’t give a shit.  I’ve met assholes like that before and they make me want to do evil things to good people for no readily apparent reason.  When I say don’t give a damn I mean there is simply nothing out there that’s really grabbed my attention on either a news or a political level that has me pissed off enough to yell at the world about stuff.

I have been focused all week, though you would be hard pressed to tell from reading here, on the job search.  I’ve sent in 13 resumes this week, including one to a place I used to work at, Xerox, and sent one to an agency online, Kelly services.  Even though most agencies have really been of no help, I won’t let that stop them from trying to help me now. 

Usually what happens with agencies is this.  They see me, they see my resume.  They say “Kid your great, we’ve got just the place for you.”  I go do the interview, they tell me it went well… and then I don’t get the job.  Then I never hear from them again, even after repeated e-mails. Guess most of them are one and done.  We’ll see how it works with Kelly.

Now I know what you are saying, couldn’t you call them instead of just e-mailing?  Yes I could, but let me explain something real simple to you.  If I send an e-mail to someone before an interview, and they get back to me in 10 minutes, and I send them one right after the interview, and they get back to me in ten minutes, but when I don’t get the job and then send them several e-mails which don’t get answered, I take that as a message to me.  That message being  “No thanks, we don’t need you.”

Now, with the amount of agencies in New York City I can go to, If a few are going to be like that, fine.  There are more where they came from, it’s not like there are only 3 or 4 of these places around. 

And just on a lark, I sent in a resume to Raytheon.  Maybe they need a copy operator at Bagram AFB.  lulz. 

I also have been putting stuff together for the new 12 notes guitar lesson that I am going to, in all likelihood, put out tomorrow, so that has kept me somewhat busy.  Not sure if I am going to go with a somewhat unusual alternate picking chromatic exercise, a string skipping exercise, or a hammer on exercise, but I have each of those in my head and ready to go, and a few chord exercises to boot. 

You’ll get that tomorrow. Have a good night America!

Leave a Reply

