Blessed Them Unaware


Like one that on a lonesome road
Doth walk in fear and dread,
And having once turned round walks on,
And turns no more his head;
Because he knows, a frightful fiend
Doth close behind him tread.

Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Rime of the Ancient Mariner

___________________________________________

Viddy of the day:  A press conference today from the President of the United States.  It highlights the good deeds of this White House this week.  It was held because the spotlight was stolen the day of the most important day this week, the one where he signed the financial reform bill into law.  Stolen by Andrew Breitbart and his underhanded purposefully misleading videotape he put out.  Breitbart is Anti-American in every important way one could imagine.  Good to see the White House go out of it’s way to point out the good it has done after the wrong done to it, and America, by this bigoted bastard Breitbart.

__________________________________________

I’m taking it easy after a long week.  It’s nearly midnight here, I’m sitting alone in my living room, quiet except for the sound of the air conditioner droning on in the background, my wife is working on her laptop in the bedroom.  It’s semi dark here, the light from the bedroom is filtering in weakly to me here, and I have the white glow of the computer screen shining harshly across the keyboard as I type.

The guitar sits on the couch, laying at an odd angle, where I left it when I went to get cleaned up after a long sweaty day.  I didn’t run.  I didn’t work out.   I did do a fair bit today.

I looked for work, the search for work was again fruitless, having sent in something like 15 resumes this week, to all sorts of places. No phone calls, the places I was calling are not calling me back, so it makes no point to make those phone calls to the teamsters, at least not now.  I’ll have to start calling agencies and the like on Monday.  Much as I’d like to work with the teamsters, if they have nothing, I must go elsewhere.

I went food shopping.  1 ½ mile walk to the store in 90 degree heat with the little black cart, and back with the cart, full of groceries, uphill.  Happy workout. And under $80 for everything.  Pretty damn proud of that, seeing how the cat food was $30 of that. 

I played a few games on pogo,  I have been a member there for a few years and frankly I like the relaxed pace of things there. A few games of Risk, some Canasta, a few word games.  Ahhhh relaxation.

_____________________________________

A second viddy: Part one of  The rime of the Ancient Mariner, a reading of the poem by Orson Welles.  Enjoy!

____________________________________

O happy living things! no tongue
Their beauty might declare:
A spring of love gushed from my heart,
And I blessed them unaware:
Sure my kind saint took pity on me,
And I blessed them unaware.

Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Rime of the Ancient Mariner

____________________________________

I did some writing,  on my blogspot blog, nothing spectacular, haven’t written there in about two weeks, I figured “why not”? Words are fun, and if no one will pay me to write, and I like writing, why not do it like I do it here, for the joy of writing? I’ve put in resumes to a few places to write and/or do research, no word back yet. Until I get word, I do it for the love of doing it. 

I played a fair bit of guitar.  Played the exercise in the 12 notes section, and absolutely giggled my ass off as I made a boatload of mistakes doing it, and had to restart several times before I finally got it right.  Futzed around with a new piece, lots of sus4 chords with the occasional dominant and/or add 9ths tossed in for good measure.  Lots of open notes ringing out, lots of A,B, and E’s resounding, along with whatever struck me as sounding good.

My wife gave me her old kindle, which she initially sold, but the person who bought it sent it back, said it doesn’t work, and bought a newer model.  I downloaded a few books onto it today.  I being a cheap bastard, am only getting the free ones. Ya know, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Bertrand Russell, Rudyard Kipling, P.G. Wodehouse, the Economic report of the President by the Council of economic advisers, stuff like that. No glittering vampire bullshit here.

A good day I guess. 

______________________________

That’s all from here, G’night America.

Leave a Reply

