June Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the pages and place them here on the blog to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is June’s running Commentary.  Enjoy!

________________________________________

Thur., Jun 3rd:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:14.55, a 7:32.79 m/m pace.  82 degrees, partly cloudy, no wind.  Two days off to start the month, due to overtime at work.  Pushed pretty hard out there today.  Not 100%, not race pace, but pretty quick.  Right hamstring cramped up on me just as the run ended, but it seems fine now.  No soreness to speak of.  A fine evening run.                                

Fri., Jun 4th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 40:27.38, a 7:46.80 m/m pace.  82 degrees, partly cloudy, humid.  Took the foot off of the gas on this one, for a few reasons.  It’s warm and humid. I’m tired from lack of sleep.  It’s been a long hard week at work, and my body is beat.  But most of all, my right hamstring is sore as hell.  It cramped up on me during the memorial day race, and tightened up on me yesterday, and again today.  Think I’m going to start going longer and slower on my non work days, it’s easier on my legs.  Still, this was a good run.                           

Sat., Jun 5th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:30:55, a 7:58.51 m/m pace.  85 degrees, partly sunny, hazy, humid. Fried my ass out there today, big time.  Hamstring was sore before I started, but I kept it slow enough where I didn’t do anything to it.  Feet are sore as  hell right now.  Felt good to get a solid hour and a half under my feet out there.  Paths weren’t too loaded with people today, kinda surprised me.                  

   June week 1 mileage:   21.8 miles  Monthly total: 21.8 miles Longest this month:  11.4  miles (5th)  Shortest 5.2 miles (3rd,4th)  3 runs in 5 days this month, average length of run:  7.26 miles.  

Sun., Jun 6th: Ran 9.5 miles in 1:15:21, a 7:55.89 m/m pace.  84 degrees, sunny, humid.  Park was crowded early today, a bunch of walkers doing a weight watchers health walk.  Tons of people in the way, making the first 3 laps of today’s run a pain in the ass, dodging people who are barely ambulatory.  At least they were slow moving and easily outmaneuvered.  I was going to go 11.4 again, but decided against relatively early, and not because of the people.  I am tired, and there aren’t enough hours in the day for me to run the way I want to.   Still, twas a good run.                        

Tues., Jun 8th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:27.87, a 7:23.82 m/m pace.  68 degrees, partly sunny, nice.  Day off yesterday to relax, so I decided to push after the day off, and ran pretty quick. Kept my feet moving fast and my stride long, not as fast as possible or striding as long as possible, but fairly close to it.  I have an extra gear that I didn’t use today, at least it felt that way anyway.  Nothing is sore, Yay!  It’s supposed to rain tomorrow, so I’ll probably be slower.  We’ll see.  Good run.                       

Thurs., Jun 10th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:01.55, a 7:18.76 m/m pace.  67 degrees, partly sunny, humid.  I didn’t think I had this effort in me.  I did not think I would be at all fast today.  I had the speed from moment one, and pushed as hard as I could for as long as I could.  There were a lot of people out there, and I had to dodge several slow people, and caught a few surprised “OH!” ‘s as I passed by.  No hamstring soreness, feet feel better, toes aren’t sore.  Nice.                       

Fri., Jun 11th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 54:46.04, a 7:42.82 m/m pace.  64 degrees, partly cloudy, nice.  Went a little longer than normal for a work night.  Just felt like it, said why the hell not.  Didn’t push hard,  put it on autopilot and went with what felt right.  Never left my comfort zone once.  Felt good to go longer than 5.2 during a work night, and felt pretty damn good to just relax and enjoy a run instead of treating it as training.  Had fun just breaking a sweat.  Good Run.                     

Sat., Jun 12th: Ran 10.9 miles in 1:25:13, a 7:49.08 m/m pace.  76 degrees, sunny, a bit humid.  I would have gone longer today but I didn’t run until late and I have work tomorrow.  I did want to push for at least some distance today though, because this is going to be my last long run for at least ten days due to work, no days off from now until my temp assignment ends.  Feet are sore, but all else is fine.  Took it relatively easy today, speed wise, just went out and enjoyed the run.          

         June week 2 mileage:   37.9 miles  Monthly total: 59.7 miles Longest this month:  11.4  miles (5th)  Shortest 5.2 miles (several days)  8 runs in 12 days this month, average length of run:  7.46 miles.  

Mon., Jun 14th:  Ran 5.2 miles in  39:39.62, a 7:37.61 m/m pace.  77 degrees, sunny, humid.  I busted my ass today, but just wasn’t as fast as I usually am when I do that.  Not a bad run by any stretch of the imagination, just slower than expected.  Nothing is sore, there is good news there, at least.                 

Tues., Jun 15th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:10.80, a 7:09.00 m/m pace.  70 degrees, sunny, nice.  Holy crap I was quick today.  I decided early on I was going to open up my stride as wide as possible, make it as long as possible, and just push.  I was flying out there.  Felt good to hit the extra gear out there today.  Feet are OK, as are my hamstrings.  Only issue I had today was eating bugs.  Damned gnats were everywhere, and they aren’t tasty.  They didn’t slow me down though.  Good run.               

Wed., Jun 16th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:38.59, a 7:25.88 m/m pace.  75 degrees, cloudy, humid.  Not too shabby.  I didn’t try to run fast but I felt like I had extra energy, so I gave a decent push pretty much from the get-go.  Nothing out of control.  No trying to push the envelope like yesterday.  Had a minor issue today with a dog walker, they didn’t pay attention to the dog, I couldn’t see the leash.I almost crushed the dog, and nearly fell over trying to avoid him.  It happens sometimes.  Good run otherwise.              

Thurs., Jun 17th: Ran 5.2 miles in 38:04.06, a 7:19.24 m/m pace.  70 degrees, partly sunny, nice.  Faster than expected, but not my top speed.  Pushed very hard in spots, and kept the stride long the entire time.  Feeling good, no muscular soreness.  Beautiful evening for a run, this was a top ten best run day this year, weather wise.  Nice.            

    June week 3 mileage:   20.8 miles  Monthly total: 80.5 miles Longest this month:  11.4  miles (5th)  Shortest 5.2 miles (several days)  12 runs in 19 days this month, average length of run:  6.70 miles.  

Thurs., Jun 24th:  Ran 3.8 miles in 28:06.98, a 7:23.94 m/m pace.  88 degrees, sunny, windy, humid. First run in a week, and it showed.  The speed was there, but it was an illusion, insofar as I had to stop twice.  It may have had something to do with the heat and humidity,  and the fact that I haven’t run in a week and went out drinking on Tuesday.  Stopped at 10:14, for a piss break, and at 19:42 because I was fairly well spent.  No soreness or anything like that.  Thinking about a second short run later today, not sure, we’ll see.          

Thurs., Jun 24th:  Ran 3 miles in 22:38.66, a 7:32.88 m/m pace.  92 degrees, cloudy, windy, drizzle.  First time in a dog’s age I’ve run 2 a days, and the first time in a few months I hit the hill on slosson/ rice ave.  After taking a week off for work, I decided to hit it twice, just to do it.  The rust showed today, but this run was a bit easier than the first one.  Not feeling 100%, tired as hell, but a 7:32 on the hill the first time out I am liking a lot.  In a few days, regardless of conditions I’ll be able to go both longer and faster on the hill.  No worries.         

Fri., Jun 25th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 58:21.44, a 7:40.71 m/m pace.  84 degrees, mostly sunny, breezy.  Much better run day despite muscular soreness just about everywhere.  I did want to quit  after 2 laps, but I pushed through that, and ran faster the second two laps than I did the first two.  My right hamstring cramped up on me a bit after the run, but seems better now. I also have a few sore toes on my left foot, and I have a pretty bad case of black toe, but there’s nothing wrong with that.  I wear my black toe like a badge of honor.          

Sat., Jun 26th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 54:07.00, a 7:37.32 m/m pace.  83 degrees, mostly sunny, breezy.  One stop. Pushed as hard as I was able to for as long as I could, before and after the stop at the 42 minute mark.  I didn’t really stretch my stride length, seeing how I started this run with some serious soreness in my right hamstring.  It cramped up on me yesterday, post run, and I thought it was better until I took that first step today, and hobbled a bit out of the gate.  Good run otherwise.       

   June week 4 mileage:   21.5 miles  Monthly total: 102 miles Longest this month:  11.4  miles (5th)  Shortest 3 miles (24th)  16 runs in 26 days this month, average length of run:  6.375 miles. 

Sun., Jun 27th: Ran 6.4 miles in 49:55.86, a 7:48.10 m/m pace.  80 degrees, cloudy, hazy, humid.  Not a bad run, considering.  Right hamstring is not close to 100%,  and it gave me a hard time from the moment I started til the moment I finished.  Calves are sore, as are the toes on my left foot.  I took it easy out there today, felt no need for speed.  Well, I did open up my stride during the last 1/2, maybe 3/4 of a mile, but beyond that I was just out there on autopilot.  Might take tomorrow off, unsure right now, depends on how much rest I get tonight, and how I’m feeling tomorrow.      

Mon., Jun 28th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 43:55.62, a 7:42.38 m/m pace.  90 degrees, sunny, humid.  My right hamstring is sore as hell right now.   No other issues than the hamstring, though.  Toes are feeling OK, as are the calves.  There is that much good news.  I kept a smooth even pace, not wanting to cramp up in the heat and humidity, which would have made the bad hamstring worse.  I’m gonna need a day off soon, if not tomorrow than Wednesday. We’ll see.   

Wed., Jun 30th: Ran 11.4 miles in 1:30:56, a 7:58.59 m/m pace.  73 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Best weather in a while, and took advantage of it with a longer run today after yesterday’s planned day off with a longer run.  The right hamstring is stiff and not 100%, which made the decision to not even try to run fast a very easy one to make. Took it easy out there, on a very nice day for taking it easy.  One short stop at the 53 minute mark, bathroom break, without that I wouldn’t have had to stop at all.   

   June week 5 mileage:   23.5 miles  Monthly total: 125.5 miles Longest this month:  11.4  miles (5th, 30th)  Shortest 3 miles (24th)  19 runs in 30 days this month, average length of run:  6.605 miles. 

   Year to date:  624.42 miles  Longest so far 11.4 miles (March 8th, May 22nd, June 6th and 30th), Shortest 2.6 miles (March 12th). 107 runs in 181 days so far this year.  Average run distance:  5.835 miles 

With all the days off I have had this year, due to working, It’s nice to see that I have run as many miles as I have over the course of the year. Over two full months off so far, if you add all those days together, and I’m on pace to run over 1250 miles, and that is with me calculating an additional two months worth of running days off for the rest of the year.  Meaning if I knuckle up and push, I can still make the goal distance of 1500 miles for the year that I set in January.  Not too shabby, if I can pull it off.  It’d be nice if I could pull it off and get a full time job too.  I’m gonna nail down both!

Leave a Reply

