A Viddy Or Two Before Bed


We are not an endangered species ourselves yet, but this is not for lack of trying.

Douglas Adams, Last Chance to See

_____________________________________

A few words before the viddies.

I am not really going to write very much tonight, or for the next few nights to be honest.  These next few days are the last days of work at my temp assignment at Sotheby’s as an art handler.  The job has been good to me, demanding in ways I had not expected, and I fully expect that these last few days will be hard work from one end to another.  The fact that on our final weekend here they made sure to get all the temps working Saturday and Sunday stands as mute testimony to the fact that they want to get as much work out of us as possible before letting us go.  And it looks good for them because they look like they are trying to get us a few extra hours of overtime before we leave.

Not Bitchin, just saying.  I like the work. 

Word is that we temps may get together on Tuesday, our last day, and head out for a few beers, kind of a going away party.  Call the guys who have left already and get everyone together, those who can make it, anyway.

I don’t drink anymore, at least I normally don’t, but I think I can make an exception for a few beers for one night.  And it can only be a few beers, more because of money than anything else.  Saving money, now that I will be out of work, will be even more than it has been in past, the most important thing I have to do in my life.

_____________________________________

Onto the Viddies!

I just finished re-reading one of my favorite books, Last chance to see, and here is Stephen Fry, with Mark Carwardine, with a Kakapo.  There were when this viddy was shot, only 90 of that rare bird on the planet.  There are over 120 now.  When “Last Chance” was written 20 years ago, there were only about 25 or so of them.  One hopes the progress being made in helping save the Kakapo keeps up.  But still, there are only 120.  They still need help.  There is still work to do.

_____________________________________

Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.

Douglas Adams, Last Chance to See

_____________________________________

Second viddy, from the same “Last Chance” redux with Stephen Fry.  This time in an enclosure with an Aye-Aye. An ugly little bastard to be sure, but rare, once thought to be extinct, as I recall, but was found a few years before Douglas Adams went out with Mark Carwardine to work on what was to become Last Chance.

_____________________________________

G’night America!

Leave a Reply

