May Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the pages and place them here on the blog to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is May’s running Commentary.  Enjoy!

______________________________________________

Sat., May 1st:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:15:04, a 7:54.10 m/m pace.  81 degrees, sunny, no wind.  I was initially going to go a little longer, 1 – 1.9 mile lap longer, for an 11.4 mile run, to equal my longest run of the year, but pain and stiffness in my hamstrings cut this run short by that one lap.  I wasn’t really trying to run fast, but I did hit it with as much energy and speed as I had.  Hamstrings are still a bit tight, and my knees are sore, but no big deal really.  I am going to try for another 9.5 miler, or some such similar distance, tomorrow.                                     

End of April/beginning of May week mileage:  30.3 miles   Monthly total: 9.5 miles  No other stats for this week, more stats next week.                                        

Sun., May 2nd:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:14.45, a 7:52.10 m/m pace.  74 degrees, partly cloudy, humid, breezy.  I was slow early, running the first lap at an 8:06 per mile pace, but I got faster as the run went on.  I cut the pace to an 8 m/m pace by the end of the third of five laps.  I saw that and pushed harder for the last two laps, running those laps in 29 minutes, 7 seconds.  I didn’t think I’d be faster today than yesterday, but I was.  Nice!   I think tomorrow night I’m gonna go shorter and slower.  Sounds like a plan.  Good run.                                   

Mon., May 3rd:  Ran 5.2 miles in 41:45:19, an 8:01.76 m/m pace.  73 degrees, partly cloudy, humid.  Sore left anterior compartment.  Headache.  Quads; completely fried.  Hammies are sore.  Calves are like rocks.  Tired.  Ran anyway.  I didn’t push hard today, there was just too much pain and soreness to push hard.  Conditions were pretty damn good out there though, not perfect but good enough to take my mind off of the pain.  Plus, there isn’t going to be a lot of running this week, so I’m enjoying while I can.  Wednesday, Thursday and Friday are all going to be off days run-wise.  Being busy on the job is good for the wallet but bad for the runner in me.  I’ll go long Saturday.  No worries.  Good run.                                 

Tues., May 4th: Ran 5.2 miles in 40:31.49, a 7:47.59 m/m pace.  66 degrees, sunny, windy, humid.  Today’s  5.2 mile run almost didn’t happen. I went out early, thinking of going maybe 6.4 miles, maybe 7.6 miles (having taken the day off from work) and eleven minutes into that run, my left knee went out on me. It hurt like hell, and I tried to run on it just to see if I could after giving it a minute.  I had to stop, I just couldn’t do it.  I walked part of the way home, and it started to feel better, so I jogged on it, just to see if i could go without pain and I did.  So, I made plans for a second attempt at a run.  The second one was just fine.  If anything I took it easy, just to be safe.  I had more in the tank, speed-wise, at my disposal.  Unless something changes, I won’t be back out on the road until Saturday.  I’ve got a lot of OT coming up the next 3 days, so no time for me to run.  Ah, well.  Good run.                          

Sat., May 8th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:14:43, a 7:51:89 m/m pace.  63 degrees, sunny, very windy.  This one was tough for a number of reasons.  My hamstrings were sore pretty much from moment one, and the soreness did not let up at all for the entire run.  To be honest, it increased around the end of the third of five laps at the 1.9 mile route in clove lakes park.  Quads started to burn after the end of 4 laps.  But, soreness after a long run, after a 3 day layoff, is not an unexpected development.  What was surprising was the speed I had, the sub 8 m/m speed, at this distance, after the 3 day layoff, with that soreness, into this wind.  The wind was intense, 50 mph winds made this an uphill slough the whole damn way.  Winds seemed to be in my face the whole time, rare was the moment with wind at my back.  That’s hella training!  Good run!                            

     May week 1 mileage:   29.4 miles  Monthly total: 38.9 Longest this month:  9.5  miles (1st, 2nd, 8th)  Shortest 5.2 miles (3rd,4th)  5 runs in 8 days this month, average length of run:  7.58 miles.                   

Sun., May 9th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:31.63, a 7:24.55 m/m pace.  47 degrees, partly cloudy, windy.  Fastest run of the year!  This one was fun from one end of the run to the other.  I wasn’t all that fast out the gate, but I felt like I had a fair bit in the tank, and wanted to see how fast I could go, so I decided to fartlek.  Had fun with that, busted my ass out there something fierce, running all out.  It was great.  Quads were thrashed before I started, but they feel better now.  Think tomorrow’s run will be a bit slower.                          

Mon., May 10th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:14.17, a 7:32.72 m/m pace.  54 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Busted it out there, but not quite as hard as yesterday.  Felt good out the door, felt faster today overall than yesterday, and had I fartleked (for lack of a better term) I probably would have actually been faster.  Slightly better weather today, no screaming winds, and a few degrees warmer today than yesterday.  No soreness to speak of at this point.  Joy!  Good run.                        

Fri., May 14th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:21.66, a 7:34.16 m/m pace.  73 degrees, cloudy, foggy, humid.  After 3 days off from running, 2 of them unscheduled (felt like crap Tuesday, extra overtime yesterday), it felt good just to be out and about on the run paths again.  Hamstrings are a hair sore, and were like that, surprisingly, almost from the outset.  As a consequence, this was about as fast as I could go today.  Longer tomorrow.  Good run.                       

Sat., May 15th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 56:41.56, a 7:27.57 m/m pace.  68 degrees, partly sunny, breezy.  Today was a tough run.  There were spots I wanted to give up, just cut the run short and walk home. Tired, sore, aching feet hurt like hell and didn’t want to run.  Legs barked at me to at least slow down.  Couldn’t.  My heart asked for more, and when my heart asks, it receives.  It overrode the soreness of my feet and the tiredness of my legs and made what could have been a bad run great.  It helped that it was a beautiful day, and the paths were nearly clear.  Nice.                     

    May week 2 mileage:   23.2 miles  Monthly total: 62.1 Longest this month:  9.5  miles (1st, 2nd, 8th)  Shortest 5.2 miles (3rd,4th)  9 runs in 15 days this month, average length of run:  6.9 miles.                   

Sun., May 16th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 59:24.79, a 7:49.05 m/m pace.  60 degrees, sunny, breezy.  This is a tale of two runs. I started slow today, first lap I ran in 15:48, an 8:18 pace, then made the next lap faster, and cut the m/m pace to about an 8:03.  I saw that I had more in the tank so I started to push harder and took another 5 seconds off my pace.  Last lap I gave everything.  Ran that last lap at a 7:21 pace, and really hauled ass that last 2 minutes, went full speed.  It was great.  That 7:49 looks slow next to yesterdays overall time, but this was a great effort on a great day for a run.                   

Mon., May 17th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 40:27.35, a 7:46.79 m/m pace.  65 degrees, cloudy, no wind.  Front of my left ankle is very sore.  Hurt like hell, and slowed me down.  It should be fine in a day or two, but tonight it almost stopped me in my tracks.  It hurt walking around and standing, but seems ok when I sit still.  I just need to relax and sit around for a bit, and it’ll heal just fine.  If I’m OK tomorrow I’ll run, if not, then not.  We’ll see.                 

Wed., May 19th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:34.87, a 7:25.16 m/m pace.  62 degrees, cloudy, no wind.  No soreness to speak of; one day off and all is right with the world as far as that goes.  I pushed hard today, I had extra in the tank and just went for it.  I am pretty happy with today’s pace.  Twas a hard, yet even pace.  I was about 6 seconds faster during the second half of this run than the first, not a big increase in speed, but a surprising one, seeing how I was busting my ass during the first half.  Good run.               

Thur., May 20th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:53.12, a 7:40.21 m/m pace.  79 degrees, sunny, no wind.  Didn’t look at my watch, didn’t try to push as hard as possible like I did yesterday, I just ran.  Felt a little off early on, like something wasn’t quite right, that went away after about a mile and a half or so, and I was fine after that.  Stretched my stride a bit after that as well.   A lot of pedestrian traffic in the park, including a race, which meant a bigger hassle running in the park, but no real effect on my time.  Beautiful evening for a run.            

Sat., May 22nd:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:28:38, a 7:46.49 m/m pace.  65 degrees, partly sunny, breezy.  Perhaps one of the best days weather wise for running of the year.  Low 60’s, just a bit of cloudiness, just a bit of wind, nearly perfect.  I didn’t try to be fast today, and took my time early on, then sped up a bit at the end of the run.  Ran the last 1.9 miles at a 7:30 pace, after going around 7:55 for most of the run.  Feet and knees are OK, hammies at this point are fine, expecting soreness later on though.  Great day for a run.  Good run.            

    May week 3 mileage:   34.6 miles  Monthly total: 96.7 miles Longest this month:  11.4  miles (22nd)  Shortest 5.2 miles (3rd,4th)  14 runs in 22 days this month, average length of run:  6.907 miles.          

Sun., May 23rd:  Ran 7.6 miles in 57:54.06, a 7:37.11 m/m pace.  62 degrees, cloudy breezy, humid.  My left knee gave me problems during the run today, had to stop twice early, at the 17 and 21 minute marks of the run.  Almost gave up, but I decided to try to at least finish up the second of four scheduled laps and see how it went.  Got better, in part I think because I altered my stride to take weight off of the inside of my left knee, pushing off of the outside of my left foot while adding torque to my upper body to minimize the amount of weight on the inside of my left knee.  It worked, or the knee got better on its own, one of the two.  Dunno which.  Other than that, this was actually a quick happy run.  I didn’t think, after going 11 ½ miles yesterday that this speed would be there for me.  I’ve had better and worse runs.           

Mon., May 24th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 56:12.57, a 7:23.76 m/m pace.  67 degrees, hazy, humid, breezy.  102 seconds faster than yesterday.  Nice.  Pushed hard from moment one, and got faster as the run went on.  First lap in 14:32, a 7:38 pace, second lap I got faster, finishing that lap in 28:42,  a 7:33 pace overall.  The third lap I ended at 42:32, a 7:27 pace overall, and the last lap I pushed with everything I had left, and ran the last lap at a 7:11 pace.  Fun, fun, fun!        

Tues., May 25th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:23.58. a 7:34.53 m/m pace.  72 degrees, partly cloudy, almost no wind.  Took it a little easier today than yesterday, but I pushed the stride length a bit out there, and tried to keep the feet as fast as possible.  Even pace today, I hit the halfway point at 19:40, meaning I ran the second half 3 seconds slower than the first half.  I don’t like going slower to end any run, but the last 7/10ths of a mile are uphill, where the first 7/10th are downhill.  No soreness, no pain.  Nice. Good run.       

Sat., May 29th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 41:59.76, a 7:22.06 m/m pace.  75 degrees, sunny, humid.  It annoyed me that I took the last 3 days off, so I think today’s hard push was in part me trying to make up for the lack of running the last few days.  It was also the last chance for me to get a really hard effort in before the race.  I’m not gonna bust my ass tomorrow, not the day before the memorial day four miler.  I want as much in the tank as is possible.  Feet are sore, hamstrings felt a hair sore out there, but they seem to be fine now.  Good run.    

   May week 4 mileage:   26.1  miles  Monthly total: 122.8  miles Longest this month:  11.4  miles (22nd)  Shortest 5.2 miles (many days)  18 runs in 29 days this month, average length of run:  6.822 miles.   

Sun., May 30th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 44:06.66, a 7:44.32 m/m pace.  75 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Took my time on this one, this being the last training run before tomorrow’s 4 mile race.  Still felt like I was stretching my stride in spots, but it wasn’t a 100% effort.  Feet are sore, but that’s not a big deal, there almost always sore nowadays.  Everything else is OK though, and that is great news with the race coming up tomorrow.  Good run.  

Mon., May 31st:  Ran the Staten Island Memorial day 4 mile race in 27:48, a 6:57 m/m pace. 80 degrees, sunny, hot.  All I can say is WOOOOOHOOOOO!  Even with a very slow start due to being too far back, I ended up with a hella good time.  The first mile was a bitch because I started too far back.  It took me 25 seconds to reach the start position, and almost a full minute before I could actually run, but I motored after that.  Hit the first mile marker at 8:30, and ran the last 3 miles in a 6:26 m/m pace!  It was rippin hot out there, which made it doubly tough, but damn, I enjoyed it!  This was not a good run, this was a GREAT run.  

  May totals:  132.5miles  Longest this month:  11.4  miles (22nd)  Shortest 5.2 miles (many days)  20 runs in 31 days this month, average length of run: 6.625 miles. 

Year to date:  498.92  miles  Longest so far 11.4 miles (March 8th, May 22nd), Shortest 2.6 miles (March 12th). 88 runs in 151 days so far this year.  Average run distance:  5.669 miles 

More days off than I wanted, but I ran as much as was possible, given my schedule.  My speed training, or what passes for speed training from me, seems to be going fairly smoothly.   I am behind schedule for the amount of distance I want to run this year.  I am going for 1500 miles run, and at this point I am on pace for only 1200, but what running I am doing is better than it has been for a few years, and there is a legitimate excuse for not running as much as I want.  Work.  If there is one concession I will make in my running it is for work.

Good month for running.

Leave a Reply

