Semi-Newsworthy


A man who knows he’s making money for other people ought to get some of the profits he brings in. Don’t make any difference if it’s baseball or a bank or a vaudeville show. It’s business, I tell you. There ain’t no sentiment to it. Forget that stuff.

Babe Ruth

________________________________

Viddy of the Day.  Today starring America’s Idiot Du Jour, Rand Paul: 

Gotta love Rand Paul.  Little brother tries to get himself out of one mess, talking about disliking portions of the 1964 civil rights legislation, fails to do that with anything evoking grace, or even guile, and what does numb-nuts do now?  Get this, pretty boy Rand here now says the President has been un-American in his criticism of business, saying the President is putting his “boot-heel on the throat of BP” because he has lashed out at BP for their gross mismanagement of the Oil spill disaster happening in the Gulf of Mexico. Rand here comes off in this interview as completely clueless. Boot-heel… please.

________________________________

When life itself seems lunatic, who knows where madness lies? Perhaps to be too practical is madness. To surrender dreams — this may be madness. To seek treasure where there is only trash. Too much sanity may be madness — and maddest of all: to see life as it is, and not as it should be!

Miguel De Cervantes

_________________________________

Personal business.  I have an interview on Monday, and it’s a biggie.  I won’t say the name of the company I have an interview with, but the job would be 8 am to 4 pm, be in a copy center, and pay around $23 an hour.  When I went to the personnel agency yesterday and they told me there would be two job interviews, and the salaries, I made the simple yet utterly incorrect presumption that they would send me to the lower paying job first.   I don’t know why I thought that. 

Maybe it is just the way the job market has been going that had me thinking that.  Maybe its the fact that the lower paying job is second shift and would afford me extra sleep in the morning, so I could blog and run early among other things.  Maybe it is the fact that it was emphasized to me that I had a better shot at the lower paying one.  Maybe it is a bit of job anxiety rearing its head, because the lower paying job would be easier. And while having less financial reward, it would also be more comfortable.  It may have been many or even all of those things, but I tell you this much :  I think I can do this.

The job looks like it is right up my alley.  Everything the man I spoke to at the personnel agency said sounded like stuff that I have done and done well in past.  Lawyer interaction.  Deadlines, dealing with employees, employee evaluations. High volumes of work, and knowing all the machines, though that is less important than the customer and employee interaction, because of my position.

And with all that, with all the money offered, and the familiarity with the atmosphere, I am still willing to give that up, IF the job I am at now cuts me a deal and signs me on.  There is a greater seeming stability to union labor than non-union labor, the protection that the union provides for its employees is stronger than anything a non-union employee could provide himself these days.  Both jobs have stress. Both jobs have the issues that come with people working together in close quarters, the personality conflicts that arise on occasion.  Both jobs have good and bad points.  The union job has a newness to it, for me, that makes it likable and intriguing. And it keeps you strong, physically.  Move walls and statuary all day long and see if you don’t get stronger.  The copy center job has a familiarity to it, a pace that I am used to, and the type of people I have become accustomed to working with and for, for a great many years.

That familiarity has in past bred contempt, but for extra money, and with the perspective given by being out on my ass for a year, I think I can work my way around that. 

_______________________________________

Friday’s top 5 links:

Kentucky Senate candidate Rand Paul in trouble again

After explaining a provocative remark, Paul makes another

Texas schools to get controversial syllabus

Clinton condemns North Korea for sinking warship

Byfuglien’s OT goal puts Hawks 1 win from finals

With a sixth Link thrown in FOR FREE!

WKRG.com live oil spill cam on USTREAM

______________________________________

Pic and quote of the day, George Carlin:    Now if you think you do have rights, one last assignment for you. Next time you’re at the computer, get on the Internet, go to Wikipedia. When you get to Wikipedia, in the search field for Wikipedia, I want you to type in “Japanese Americans 1942” and you’ll find out all about your precious fucking rights, Okay? All right. You know about it. In 1942, there were 110,000 Japanese American citizens in good standing, law-abiding people who were thrown into internment camps simply because their parents were born in the wrong country. That’s all they did wrong. They had no right to a lawyer, no right to a fair trial, no right to a jury of their peers no right to due process of any kind. The only right they had: “Right this way” into the internment camps! Just when these American citizens needed their rights the most, their government took them away! And rights aren’t rights if someone can take them away. They’re privileges. That’s all we’ve ever had in this country, is a bill of temporary privileges. And if you read the news even badly, you know that every year the list gets shorter and shorter. You see all, sooner or later. Sooner or later, the people in this country are gonna realize the government does not give a fuck about them! The government doesn’t care about you, or your children, or your rights, or your welfare or your safety. It simply does not give a fuck about you! It’s interested in its own power. That’s the only thing. Keeping it and expanding it wherever possible.

Leave a Reply

