Job Prospects


Human felicity is produced not so much by great pieces of good fortune that seldom happen, as by little advantages that occur every day.

Benjamin Franklin

______________________________________

Viddy of the day: from the Rachel maddow show.  Watch and learn about Rand Paul, the beating heart of the Tea Party.

_______________________________________

The interview went well today, or so I think.  The people at diamond personnel were nice, I in fact spoke to three of them, about two separate jobs. In the first job where I would be a lead operator, making about $16 an hour, which is the job I will in all likelihood be interviewing for first, and the second job is one where I would be overall supervisor of an entire copy center, and starting salary there would be around $45,000 a year, maybe a little less, maybe a little more. 

Needless to say I am hoping I nail the second one, but If the first one falls in my lap I won’t say no.  But I will try my damnedest to at least get both interviews in.  I want a permanent job. I like where I am working now, but I am a temp.  Temps get no health insurance, or if there are those that do, they are a damned small percentage of us.   Temps are paid less than their permanent counterparts.  They are basically lesser beings in the employment pantheon.  They are the short end of the stick, even if they don’t feel or think they are.

Don’t get me wrong, I love working at Sotheby’s.  The union is great.  The place is great.  The people there are great.  But if all I will ever be there is a temp for 6 months and then out the door I go, then I frankly don’t need them.  I want health care, for me and my wife.  The same for dental coverage and vision care.  I want some stability and being a temp doesn’t provide that, and everything I have heard tells me that Sotheby’s will not hire any temp permanently at this point.  Union – Sotheby’s issues are making that impossible, and I think that is a bunch of bullshit.

Before I go and make the leap, and simply start working at some other place, I have to ask the boss there if He wants to hire me, if he thinks they could use me as a permanent employee.  I love the work enough where I might be willing to take a somewhat smaller amount of money to do a job that I like. 

We’ll see what he says.  I don’t know what he’ll say, I hope he wants to hire me, but if he doesn’t, I can always work somewhere else as a permanent.  His loss, not mine.  Well, a bit of a loss to be honest.  If I have to leave a job I like because it doesn’t want me for some reason,  there is a real sense of loss.   I have some experience with this, more than I want or wanted.

Either way, I end up with a full time job somewhere, and get health care coverage for my wife and I.  Wish me luck!

____________________________________

As we enjoy great advantages from the inventions of others, we should be glad of an opportunity to serve others by any invention of ours; and this we should do freely and generously.

Benjamin Franklin, The Autobiography

____________________________________

A quick blurb here.  Holy crap the market is taking a beating lately isn’t it?   I keep hearing about the effect of the euro and Greece.  But the LEI was down today, and first time unemployment again went up, and those two with the overseas effect made the market absolutely flounder.  Down 3.6% today, 376.36 points today on the DJIA, with the S&P down 3.9 percent on the day.  The Vixx went up some crazy number like 30%.  And the ups have been as volatile as the downs have been the last few weeks. 

This market is pretty damned rocky, and the announcement of the senate passing its financial overhaul bill tonight will probably have some minor effect on things, though I am not entirely sure in what direction exactly.  One hopes things pick up, but futures right now are down, albeit slightly.

I am hoping this is just a short market correction, and it probably is.  I just hope it finishes correcting before it has a negative effect on everything else, like employment, which has already taken a severe beating the last few years. 

___________________________________

Pic and quote of the day.  Since I don’t like the tea party, let’s make this about Coffee:

I like my coffee the way I like my women — in a plastic cup.

I like my coffee the way I like my women — covered in beeeeeeeeeeeees!”

I like my coffee hot and strong, like I like my women; hot and strong…with a spoon in them.”

Eddie Izzard

Leave a Reply

