Working Title


“Do you know who is responsible?”

“Why of course, it’s the government!”

“Jill, ‘the government’ is several million people.”

Robert A. Heinlein, Stranger in a strange land

______________________________________

No politics today, even with Rand Paul being a complete asshole.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

I am at the moment listening to  Bach, brandenbrug concerto #2 on pandora.com  I don’t have a lot of time to write or relax tonight, seeing how I have to go get some sleep, because not only do I have work tomorrow, but I also have an interview before work tomorrow at a place called diamond personnel. 

I am hoping that the interview is productive, what I don’t know is what kind of work they do in fact actually have.  From what little I know and can glean from the two minutes worth of conversation I have had with the young woman from that company, the job they wanted me to work last time out would have been doing more along the lines of a paralegal, or at the very least something needing lexis nexis/pre-discovery training. I am hoping they don’t expect me to do paralegal work, seeing how I don’t have that kind of training.

As much as I have worked with lawyers and paralegals for years and really know my stuff, THAT is just a hair out of my league.  If I had that kind of training, I would not now be working as an art handler, and a temporary one at that.  I would be making $50,000+ a year and not worrying about bankruptcy or my finances, and I and my wife would probably be living in a better place than where we are at now.

That said, if I can get these people to get me training in law 5.0 to do the pre-discovery stuff, I would be all over it.  I’ll see what I can do to get them to get me that.  Not holding my breath, but it can’t hurt too much to ask.  Worst they can do is say no.

And let me tell you, having all that dancing through my head makes it inordinately difficult to relax for the few minutes that I am relaxing today, before doing my last minute prep work, picking and ironing clothes, printing resume, and other such things. But Bach, Mozart and Telemann are really helping. 

_______________________________________

I spent a busy day today, but got little done. This is because I am at last becoming perfect in the art of seeming busy, even when very little is going on in my head or under my hands. This is an art which every man learns, if he does not intend to work himself to death.

Robertson Davies,  The table talk of Samuel Marchbanks

________________________________________

Viddy of the day:   The Frieburg Baroque Orchestra playing Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto #2 part i; allegro moderato

_______________________________________

Quote and pic of the day:  Beauty is unbearable, drives us to despair, offering us for a minute the glimpse of an eternity that we should like to stretch out over the whole of time.

Albert Camus

Pic from Katsushika Hokusai from his 36 views of Mt. Fuji.

G’night America.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

