The Wizard of Zzzzz


“Money! Money in Oz!” cried the Tin Woodman. “What a queer idea! Did you suppose we are so vulgar as to use money here?”
“Why not?” asked the shaggy man.
“If we used money to buy things with, instead of love and kindness and the desire to please one another, then we should be no better than the rest of the world,” declared the Tin Woodman. “Fortunately money is not known in the Land of Oz at all. We have no rich, and no poor; for what one wishes the others all try to give him, in order to make him happy, and no one in all Oz cares to have more than he can use.”

L. Frank Baum, The Road to Oz

__________________________________________

Friday’s top 5 links:

Senators OK debit regulation in bank reform

Euro, stocks, oil slump on debt concern; treasuries, bonds gain

Exclusive: Waddell is mystery trader in market plunge

Obama slams oil companies for spill blame game

Van Riemsdyk’s goal sparks flyers game 7 comeback

___________________________________________

Been watching the market a little more closely than I have in a while.  Not very closely, like I would if I had money in the market myself,  but closer than I have in a while, at least a year. This mess in Greece makes me giggle, because it seems to be causing an a least once a week freak-out in the markets, creating much in the way of large fluctuations in the market.  The VIXX has been all over the place the last two weeks, alternatively having huge gains and falls, signaling major instability in the S&P.  11 of the past 14 sessions have seen 100+ point market fluctuations in the DJIA.

I know that much of the issue seems to be from the European market and the issues stemming from that.  But with the amount of money coming back into the market the last 15 months or so, one wonders whether a drop, and a major one, is in the near future, regardless of the outcome of the issues with Greece and the euro.  The reason I wonder that is fairly simple.  The market, even with these aberrations, has added that massive amount of money, without fixing any of the issues that created the backdrop for the initial crisis over two years ago.  It is clear from the actions of investors over the last few weeks that much of the money that has come back to the market is skittish.  Unnecessarily skittish.   

I am sure that it won’t get as bad as the great debacle of 2008, caused by too many people doing too much stupid crap for too long with not enough supervision.  That doesn’t mean it won’t be hairy, and won’t, in the end, get worse before it gets better. 

That’s my 2 cents.  Toss your 2 cents in, you probably know more about this than I do.  Show me what you got.

_____________________________________

In fact, Mr. Watson, it’s a queer world, and the longer I live in it the queerer I find it. Once I thought it would be a good idea to regulate things myself and run the world as it ought to be run; but I gave it up long ago. The world’s a stage, they say; but the show ain’t always amusing, by a long chalk, and sometimes I wish I didn’t have a reserved seat.

L. Frank Baum(as Edith Van Dyne), Aunt Jane’s nieces 

_____________________________________

Viddy of the day: The President talking about the oil spill and it’s effects.

____________________________________

Holy crap I am tired.  Haven’t gotten regular sleep in a while, been working hard, uber hard, for a while.  Feels good really busting my ass, can never ever complain about that.  I love the fact that I sweat for a living, even if I am only temping.  I’ve had both good and bad moments there, like any other workplace. 

There is almost always a ton of work to do, being an art handler, and being a rookie at it, at 42 no less makes it fun, because there is learning to do, and it has to be done on the job.  Tests my nerve, my patience, and the limits of my physical strength.  I recommend, if at all possible, this kind of a work change of pace at least once in life.  It feels so good doing something that is the complete polar opposite from my previous job working in a copy center.  And I love moving very large very heavy crap, especially where I work, with such a good crew.

Just thought I’d throw that out there. 

_____________________________________

Quote and picture of the day:

His father thought he had a wond’rous wise look when he was born, and so he named him Solomon, thinking that if indeed he turned out to be wise the name would fit him nicely, whereas, should he be mistaken, and the boy grow up stupid, his name could be easily changed to Simon.

L. Frank Baum

Leave a Reply

