April Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the pages and place them here on the blog to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is April’s running Commentary.  Enjoy!

______________________________________

Thur., April 1st:  No run .  I haven’t run much lately, with only 7 run days in the last 19 days, but I’ve been busting my ass at work, lots of hard manual labor, so hopefully I’m not THAT out of shape.  I was going to run today, but I said fcuk it, I’m a little tired. A break to rest from work is acceptable.                   

Fri., April 2nd:  Ran 5.7 miles in 43:26.54, a 7:37.28 m/m pace.  61 degrees, sunny, no wind.  I stopped twice to check how my knee was doing, it felt a hair loose during the first lap, so I decided to be extra careful with it.  This speed is a surprise even with the run essentially being 3 – 1.9 mile runs with 30 – 60 second breaks in between.  Even with those stops I wasn’t expecting to be quite this fast.  I didn’t feel that fast, so I’m very happy with the time.  No stops tomorrow if possible. Good return to the road, good run.                   

Sat., April 3rd:  Ran 5.7 miles in 43:07.68, a 7:33.98 m/m pace.  53 degrees, sunny, windy.  No stops. I pushed a LOT harder today than yesterday,  and I am surprised at my time, in the negative. I am happy with the time, 7:34 is fast, but not so happy about the fact that after busting my ass on the path today, I was only slightly faster than yesterday, a day when I didn’t think I pushed all that hard.  Go fig.  Hammies are a bit sore, no pain otherwise.  Nice.  Longer, slower, and start earlier tomorrow, methinks.                    

April week 1 mileage:    11.4 miles   Monthly total: 11.4 miles.  2 runs in 3 days this month, average length of run:  5.7 miles. (felt the need to toss this in, even with only three days in the week, and only two runs)                

Sun., April 4th: Ran 7.1 miles in 55:07.14, a 7:45.79 m/m pace.  55 degrees, sunny, no wind.  I didn’t push nearly as hard as I did yesterday, only giving a serious push on the 7/10ths of a  mile uphill home.  My hamstrings were a tad tight today, but there were no other concerns to speak of.  Probably would have gone longer if my hammies weren’t acting up.  Happy Easter!                 

Mon., April 5th:  Ran 5.2 miles in  39:04.94, a 7:30.95 m/m pace.  69 degrees, breezy.  Happy, happy, joy, joy!  After a hard day at work I still had enough left in the tank to run my fastest run of the year so far.  That is beautiful.  Yesterday’s soreness is gone today, and I am feeling fine.  I had a headache before the run, when I was coming home.  It disappeared.  Nices!  Good run.              

Tues., April 6th:  Ran 4.78 miles in 37:36.56, a 7:52.08 m/m pace.  61 degrees, nice.  Hills at dusk are fun, and I decided that was the the kind of fun I wanted to have tonight. I didn’t push too hard, especially after yesterday’s hard push, I just took it easy today.  Relatively easy I should say, I had the long stride going tonight.  Felt quick and effortless, and that is always nice.            

Wed., April 7th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 40:11.58, a 7: 43.76 m/m pace.  81 degrees, nice.  20 degrees warmer than yesterday, and it shows in my time.  This was as hard an effort as I was capable of tonight, I gave it my all out there, left it all out on the road, and other sports type cliches.  No soreness to speak of now, I had a sore point on the bottom of my right foot early on, but it disappeared fairly quickly.   No run tomorrow, methinks.  It’s supposed to be nearly as hot tomorrow as it was today.  Good run.          

From Thursday April 7th to Friday April 23rd I did not run. There were several reasons.  The first is work, there were many days when I simply didn’t have the time, between commute and work itself I had a number of 16 hour days, and a number of 13+ hour days as well.  Second was my sinuses, for a while I had real issues breathing, and headaches.  Third, my hip hurt for a number of days, and it made walking difficult, and running impossible.        

I am expecting the work portion of these issues to continue for a while.  But I am happy to report that I am back on the road after a 16 day hiatus.        

Sat., April 24th:  Ran 4.5 miles in 36:16.19, an 8:03.59 m/m pace.  57 Degrees, sunny, no wind.  After over 2 weeks off, It felt good to simply be back out on the road.  I didn’t care about time.  I didn’t care about anything else but simply starting over again.  I am happy to report that I didn’t have to stop, which I usually have to do after long layoffs like this.  And an 8:03 is a pretty good pace after all the off time I’ve had recently.  I’m sure the hamstrings will be sore tomorrow.  I’m running tomorrow regardless.  Good Run.        

Sun., April 25th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 40:39.96, a 7:49.22 m/m pace.  45 degrees, rain, breezy.  Second day back and it’s like I never took a day off.  Sub 8 Mile for over 5 miles, without a break on my second day back after a 2+week hiatus is pretty damned amazing as I see it.  I am feeling pretty good as well.  Quads are a hair sore, as are the calves, but 2 runs in like this I have been much worse, so I ain’t bitching.  Rain and cool temps made this a fun one, “Sploosh!” and other such statements.  Uncertain at this point whether I’m going to run tomorrow morning before work or tomorrow night after work.  We’ll see.  Good Run.       

Mon., April 26th: Ran 5.2 miles in 40:07.73, a 7:43.02 m/m pace.  48 degrees, heavy rain, windy.  I pushed hard in the dark and the wind and the rain, ran around the puddles that I saw, ran through the ones I didn’t, and generally tried to run as fast as I could.  Man I had fun out there! Came back home soaked from the rain, covered in mud, sweating my ass off, and grinning from ear to ear.  Like a 5 year old splashing around in the mud was I! ‘Twas truly beautiful!  Hamstrings are sore, but I don’t care, I had a blast.  Due to overtime the next two days, The next scheduled run is not until Thursday.      

Thur., April 29th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:02.67, a 7:30.51 m/m pace.  65 degrees, cloudy, windy.  I busted it out there today.  I haven’t run since Monday, so I had a bit extra in the tank.  It didn’t hurt that conditions were nearly ideal, a little less wind and a little more time  and I would have tacked on 5 more miles just to do it.  My hammies are a bit tight, but that’s not a surprise, seeing how I haven’t run all that much lately.  Might go longer tomorrow, depending on how hard work is tomorrow.  Good run.    

Fri., April 30th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:56.76, a 7:40.91 m/m pace.  76 degrees, cloudy, nice.  I didn’t try to run as fast as I did yesterday.  What I did do was try to run as fast as I could today.  I’ve had sore quads since I woke up, so I knew I wasn’t going to be able to go quite as fast today as yesterday, so I didn’t try.  But I didn’t lay off by any stretch.  Tired after a long week at work, and I’m happy to say that it didn’t show in this run. Longer and slower tomorrow, methinks. 

April totals:  58.98 miles  Longest this month:  7.1  miles (4th)  Shortest 4.5 miles (24th)  11 runs in 30 days this month, average length of run:  5.36 miles. 

Year to date:  366.42  miles  Longest so far 11.4 miles (March 8th), Shortest 2.6 miles (March 12th). 68 runs in 120 days so far this year.  Average run distance:  5.388 miles 

Nothing short of disappointing this month.  Perhaps the best running weather of the year and I lost much of it, due to minor injuries and work.  May can only be better…I hope. If there was any good news in April it was that my job kept me in shape, and it didn’t take much to get back into the swing of things once I got back on track.  In fact despite the least amount of miles run in any month in over a year, I actually lost weight and was able to run fast at will.

Leave a Reply

