Two Days Gone


It is observed at sea that men are never so much disposed to grumble and mutiny as when least employed. Hence an old captain, when there was nothing else to do, would issue the order to “scour the anchor”.

Samuel Smiles

______________________________________________

I haven’t posted in two days.  Haven’t written a damn thing really.  Haven’t run in over a week.  Haven’t been 100%, but the main reason is I simply haven’t had the time.  Been busy working and commuting to and from work, and that doesn’t look like that is going to change anytime soon.  I am going to try to fit more running in, since my sinuses seem to be doing better now than they have in the last week, methinks there was enough pollen in the air to affect even normally unaffectable me.  Happy about that. But things are very busy at work.

Worked 11+ hours Wednesday, moving tons of stuff around.  That Wednesday work was unscheduled, I was expecting my usual 7.75 hours and got more than I bargained for, working several hours late.   Worked 11+ hours Thursday, moving tons more stuff around, and working just as late as Wednesday, and working though lunch.  Friday was supposed to be a regular day.  It wasn’t.  Worked through lunch for the second day in a row, worked moving stuff late for the third day in a row, and found out I am working Sunday.  Full day.  And that isn’t even the best part.  There is a working trip happening around memorial day.  It is a ten day trip, with work every day, time and a half on weekends and anything over 40 hours, holiday pay for a few of the days.  There are still vacancies for the trip open, but I am not sure I want to miss the race here on memorial day.  But that money for that time is a big pull for me. If there are any spots open on Sunday when I get in, I think I’m gonna go for it.

Money is a happy thing.  So if they offer me time, I’ll take it.  And when I say tons of stuff I mean tons of stuff, literally and the upshot of that is that the job is keeping me in shape at this point.  I haven’t changed my eating habits much, and I haven’t been running for over a week.  Normally that would put about a pound a day on me.  I would be getting fat and being a miserable shithead about it.  I just weighed myself, for laughs, after eating til I was stuffed, and I weighed less after stuffing my face than I did the last time I weighed myself after running and before eating last…Wednesday? Something like that.

It keeps me moving. But the one bad thing is I have been missing out on things happening in the world. 

________________________________________________

Greed is a bottomless pit which exhausts the person in an endless effort to satisfy the need without ever reaching satisfaction.

Erich Fromm

________________________________________________

Goldman Sachs. Busted, for selling crap and calling it gold, and bilking investors out of a billion dollars.  All I can say is HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. I knew these bastards were dirty.  It’s been awhile since I lit these bums up, but it feels good that they were caught with their hands in the cookie jar.  Which is a good thing.   Investors need to be protected from bums like this, and they need to hold accountable everyone for their part in this destruction of wealth.

Goldman, for its part says they lost $90,000,000 on CDO bets like the ones claimed to be fraudulent in this suit.  The problem with that statement is a rather simple one.  Goldman is talking about ALL of their CDOs, and the suit does not, to my knowledge, claim that ALL CDO’s were the problem, just the ones sold to Paulson & Co. A very misleading statement from  Goldman which is nothing more than a hollow attempt at spinning a story they can’t win.

The effect on bank reform legislation could be potentially enormous.  Anyone seen talking about filtering in any way the legislation in front of congress on this front will pay for it dearly, because they will be seen as protecting the people who did this, who bilked investors while making money themselves, which would be potentially dangerous for anyone trying to water down or fight it.

Nice, even though the news did hurt the market.

_______________________________________________

One murder made a villain,
Millions a hero. Princes were privileged
To kill, and numbers sanctified the crime.

Beilby Porteus

G’night America.  Sleep tight.

Leave a Reply

