Future Perfect


For we are old, and on our quick’st decrees
The inaudible and noiseless foot of time
Steals, ere we can effect them.

Shakespeare, All’s well that End well, King of France, Act v, scene iii

________________________________________________

There is a change happening in America’s nuclear strategy.  It is in some ways novel for America, including committing to not using nukes against countries that are in compliance with the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, that attack us.  Those on the left are bound to be unhappy, seeing how it doesn’t give the simple blanket statement that we will never use nukes first, and is also bound to make those on the right unhappy, seeing how they will see the changes as a weakening of America by weakening our most lethal weaponry.

This is, from everything I hear, a move to stay with the times, and deal with more contemporary enemies, like Al-qaeda.  Some things won’t change, like the way we deal with Iran and North Korea, because they are potentially major threats, even if not to us, then to our allies in those areas.

I for one am happy to see a change in our nuclear strategy, but I want to actually read the Nuclear posture review, which is due out tomorrow.  I like the fact that changes are taking place, but until I know a bit more about the particular change I will simply reserve judgment on the actual changes taking place.

More on this as I learn about it.

______________________________________________

If you have it in your heart, say a prayer tonight for the dead and the survivors of the coal mine explosion in Whitesville, West Virginia.

______________________________________________

Do not, as some ungracious pastors do,
Show me the steep and thorny way to heaven,
Whiles, like a puff’d and reckless libertine,
Himself the primrose path of dalliance treads.
And recks not his own rede.

Shakespeare, Hamlet, Ophelia, Act i, scene iii

______________________________________________

Work was busy as hell today.  They had me jumping like crazy most of the day, me and everyone else, but that’s just how that goes.  Working moving walls, hundreds of chairs, phone banks.  T’was complicated by the fact that one of the freight elevators broke down today. 

No worries though.  I actually like doing what I do, maybe because it is so different than what I was doing previously.  Such is the hate that I hold in my heart for my previous occupation that anything else, even with not much money, and temporary at that, seems a better thing to do than to go back to that which I was doing. 

Happily do I forget what I have done for years, and work hard to make a new future so that I can forget it permanently.

_____________________________________________

In time we hate that which we often fear.

William Shakespeare, Antony and Cleopatra, Act I scene iii

Leave a Reply

